We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely long weekend!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a very relaxed feel. We upgraded to a Q Star room and very good it was, too; very spacious, spotlessly clean, super comfy bed and all the usual Q Star extras. We had 2 dinners in the Brasserie - food was great and the service was excellent. Although the hotel was very busy with weddings and a tribute night, you wouldn't have known any of this was going on! All the staff were welcoming, friendly and very efficient. A good idea was the notice left in our bedroom on Saturday, advising us that the breakfast room would be very busy between certain times on Sunday morning due to the volume of guests. All in all, a wonderful stay and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Q Star room - well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your long weekend and I hope we will see you again soon for the next one.

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    492
    300
    143
    99
See reviews for
290
588
33
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights to recharge our batteries. The experience was brilliant arrived early to just have a look receptionist was lovely checked whether our room was ready and as it was she let us check in. We had booked a suite which did not disappoint. Spacious and well equipped. We spent a hour in the spa which was lovely and then had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The staff were al brilliant nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great and we would definitely go back. My only really small criticism is that there was no where to play any music. An iPod / phone dock would gave been perfect. Oh and for me the bed was a little too soft. We have already looked to book another qhotel. Would recommend a visit Sheffield is a very lovely city

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which there are only two of
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J20WAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and took full advantage of all the facilities on offer at Tankersley Manor Hotel. All of our Q hotels are unique and individual and on your next visit please take advantage of our breakaway club membership so that you can be the first to hear of our many offers throughout the year.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We attended wedding on the 17.5.14. Everything was going well until we noticed that the wedding cake that my mum made was damaged. There were fingerprints all over it and it was slightly squashed on the side. But the worst part was the bouquet on the top. It was made out of sugar and it was all deformed, clearly left somewhere hot, even though we were told the cake will be put straight into the fridge the day before. When we asked the member of staff (Kaye Speed) about what happened, her first reaction was ignorance and later she said that it doesn't look that bad and its not their fault. No apology even though she was the one responsible for the cake! My mum was absolutely distraught about what happened. She tried to speak to the same member of staff and was very upset about the way she was spoken to and subsequently she left. I spoke to few other members of staff since the wedding but seems like I'm being ignored this time again. Nobody is doing anything about it! I was just told that somebody will get back to me and that was over a month ago! Overall very disappointed, rude staff that is not doing their job properly and poor customer service. Definitively won't be recommending Tankersley Manor to any friends, family or future clients.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback where I was sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with wedding cake. The instuctions given to the hotel team were followed and the cake was refrigerated until the day of the wedding. Throughout the day of the reception the cake began to melt and this was rectified the best that we could with the limited time that we had.

The feedback that we have received from the bridal party and their guests attending has been nothing but positive both for the food and service received and I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case.

Warm regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friends and I stayed here over the weekend and absolutely loved the whole experience. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel so welcome, all of the staff from reception to the restaurant were amazing. We stayed in the old wing of the hotel by reception and fell in love with our room, it was filled with character and the old wooden beams made it feel homely and warm. The room was exceptionally clean and staff even came into clean the room on the second day of our stay.
On the first evening we ate in the restaurant, if you stay here you HAVE to try their new menu. The food was fresh, presented immaculately and tasted amazing. To start I had the chicken with peanut sauce and for main I had the duck. The service was great, the staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel. And the chefs are unbelievable, If I could cook like this I'd be a very popular lady!!
On our second day we went for a trip into Leeds which was only a 15minute car journey, was lovely to go out and explore the local area and even managed to do a bit of shopping too!
The whole weekend was amazing, I loved every minute of it. My friends and I had a fantastic time and we would all recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezie893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

What a fantastic review and thank you for taking the time to post this with our tripadvisor followers. As this is a new menu it is great to receive your feedback and I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed all the food on offer.

The team pride themselves on our Yorkshire hosiptality and I will be sure to pass on all of your comments to them about your stay wth us.

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Tankersley manor for a one night spa break and upgraded to a q star room. The entire experience was fantastic with the spa and hotel staff being friendly, helpful and professional. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good and the buffet lunch was of a good quality. I would struggle to find fault and even slightly irritating issues like running out of various buffet items, was resolved quickly by the staff. We are very picky and we were very pleased with the entire break.

Room Tip: Would recommend an upgrade to a q star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review following on from your Spa break with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all the facilities of the Spa, Brasserie and Rooms and hope that we can welcome you back very soon at the hotel.

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in a lovely setting. Rooms spacious and very clean, although the bathroom was tired. The staff extremely friendly and courteous, nothing was too much trouble. The food excellent and generous portions! Spa facilities good and therapist lovely too. Would recommend a visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

What a fantastic review and thank you for taking the time to share with our Tripadvisor readers your experience of Tankersley Manor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your Spa break and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I came here for a weekend spa break. As with all these places now, they get really busy at weekends with hen parties and such so if you want a relaxing couples weekend, you will have to accept that the poll may be packed and there will be no loungers free!
That being said, the spa and treatments were nice although they made a mistake with the appointment times which meant we had to come back later in the day for the second treatment. I was told by the girls in the spa that this happened often due to the central reservation booking system, so maybe something to improve there!
Food was food, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner service was slow but the staff were incredibly friendly. I had a wet aged steak (never heard of that before) and it was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Overall some ups and downs but I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayleigh p, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following on from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay but sorry that there was some confusion of your treatment time. Unfortunately this was entirely our fault and no fault of our central reservations department, actions have been put in place to prevent this occurring in the future.

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
994 reviews
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
531 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Property: Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing