We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Fron trhe time we arrived to the time we left (four days) the staff were first class.
Room spotless leisure club very well equipted
Meals a little expensive, and restaurant not open on the Sunday evening so had to eat in the bar - very nice meal, but not the same as the lovely restaurant with its clean white tablecloths.
We look forward to making further visits, one small point which we thought was very thoughtful was- we took our small dog with us, he was made fell at home like us, and they even provided a room sign stating there was a dog in the room, instead of using the do not disturb notice

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddydi-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    495
    303
    145
    104
See reviews for
295
593
33
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The bedroom and public rooms were very good. Biggest drawback the number of stairs which had to be navigated with a suitcase. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHamiltonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future, we can always make sure that a more accessible room is allocated during your next stay.



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My daughter and I spent a very pleasant 2 day + 1 night spa break at Tankersley Manor over the Bank Holiday week-end. The price was execllent value and included full board and 2 spa treatments. The room was very nice. However, what made the stay excellent was the very attentive service of each and every member of staff we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and my daughter and I felt like queens for a day or so, it was lovely. Wouldn't it be nice if every hotel had the same level of customer service? If we had to single one member of staff out [which is a hard call], it would be the restaurant manager who spent time with us and other guests going through the evening menu and recommending wine to us. It was as if the staff really cared, rather than were just being paid to work there. Thank you so much for a lovely break - it was just what my daughter and I needed after a stressful few months recently.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Had an amazing friday night stay here, upon arrival we were asked the purpose of our visit and as it was our wedding anniversary we were upgraded to a junior suite without any extra charge. Room was very large and extremely clean. We used the leisure facilities and found these to be really clean too. In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was a little pricey but the food was amazing. Every member of staff was very polite and seemed to be genuine and interested. There was a large choice at breakfast and food was regularly replenished. On the whole I would recommend tankersley manor as an excellent place to saty and given we only spent £59 on the room from lastminute.com it was a bargain too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellpinkbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.


Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

An average hotel, it was fairly clean and well kept. The rooms are a bit smaller than usual and don't have air conditioning, this is a bit of a drawback on one side of the hotel as it is very close to the M1, if you have the windows open the road noise is quite bad. The fitness room and pool are ok, if a little small, the equipment is fairly modern and all serviceable.

As with much of the hotel the breakfast was average, plenty of it but just.... average.

Wireless access is a bit of a rip off, 20 minutes free, but this maust be used in one go!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. I would be grateful if you could email me at customer-relations@qhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I booked this hotel because they offered rooms with adapted bathrooms which offered full wheel - in shower facilties which my husband who is Paraplegic requires. I was not told when booking that this meant being in an annex which does not have level or ramped access within the hotel to the bar or restaurant. This means a fairly lengthy outdoor journey [not too bad if its not raining but you will be drenched if it is!] To make matters worse this journey is across a patio of flagstones , many of which are loose, which have large gaps for your wheelchair castors to jam in, have not all been laid level so you have to have your wits about you to negotiate so that you dont suddenly come to a dead stop and fly out of your wheelchair and at the entrance to the annex they have put a raised platform which stands 3" higher than the flags so I had to press myself up against the building, where it was slightly shallower, and pull my hubby backwards up onto it by which time I was jammed between his wheelchair and a glass barrier! The ramp up from the car park is fairly steep and uneven again and after I had pushed him to the top I found the flagstone at the top was about 2" higher than the ramp, plus the gap was barely a wheelchair width with a sharp drop if I didnt manage to control the chair - this width was created by the inconsiderate placing of planters!
The response I got from "Helen" on reception when I complained about this was fairly disdainful and cool and involved a comment that they would have to see if the hotel budget would allow for improvements! The point is that they offer highly accessible rooms with a very poorly accessible hotel. Also even if you are walking from the annex you could easily fall on the loose flagstones, especially in the rain or at night.
Apart from that the room was fine. The wheel-in shower chair was not there as promised but they rescued it from the pool, and overall at £70 a night B&B it was good value. The restaurant was closed on our first night [a Monday] which should have been pointed out when I booked. The bar serves Little Chef style food at higher prices. I counted 6 spot lights shining in my eyes, there were no pictures on the wall and no candles or flowers on the table so the ambience was somewhat lacking! The wooden tables were greasy and service at table was a little rustic [plates passed across you at face height and dirty plates not cleared at breakfast] - but nothing that a bit of training wouldnt put right and in the context of the hotel not too much of a problem. The wine list was though - unbelieveably over priced - cheapest wine "Pinot Grigio" at £19.95!
However apart from Helen on reception the staff were all, without exception, extremely helpful and caring. If we did not have the wheelchair issues and needed somewhere to stay for anight or two this is far superior to a travel motel and not really any more expensive and it has the added bonus of a pool and spa treatments at extra cost if you want them. It is conveniently placed for the motorway and an easy journey down the A61 to Sheffield takes only 20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. I would be grateful if you could email me at customer-relations@qhotels.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Booked as an easy option as was handy for a wedding and wasn't expecting too much because of a good price. Went for the room upgrade and was delighted with a romantic 4 poster bed. Really freindly staff, great big full English breakfast and a lovely old stone building setting. Will definately stay here again and try the spa next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCoachEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleurg, Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.



Yours Sincerely



Christophe Gitton

General Manager

Tankersley Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
546 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Property: Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing