We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, friendly staff, average to OK food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Brasserie

Riverside Brasserie
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riverside Brasserie is an outstanding restaurant tucked away beside the Thames in Bray Marina. The waterside-decked terrace is perfect for alfresco dining, or if you prefer to stay inside the restaurant, with full-length glass doors you can still enjoy the river views. Open everyday from 12pm - 10pm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, friendly staff, average to OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

On a warm September afternoon the terrace of the Riverside Brasserie is a lovely place to be - the river a few feet away, pleasure boats putt-putting gently by, well-spaced tables and attentive smiling service. The food is average to OK - and variable: a starter of grilled squid with chili and lime was pretty good, a bowl of gazpacho, however, was too creamy, and lacked zing. Filter coffee was fine but the espresso was dreadful. The house Chilean sauvignon blanc was fine, although at nearly £18 it should have been. It's all quite expensive - you pay for the location - and main courses rapidly run up to £25 or so, and a side order of (good) chips is nearly £5. Nevertheless we spent a very pleasant afternoon there and the final bill of about £38 a head seemed reasonable value.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    321
    170
    83
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Ignore all previous reviews, even the foul weather couldn't dampen our experience of the Riverside.

Attentive, friendly staff who took time to talk us through the menu. We were disappointed by the torrential downpour that meant we had to sit inside for two courses of our meal. However the ever optimistic waiting staff ensured us that the minute it brightened up we could transfer to table on the decking over looking the Thames.

The menu and choice of drinks was simple, making selection and ordering simple. I had the pumpkin and sage butter tortellini, which was delicious, followed by rump of lamb, cooked to perfection - pink how it should be. Finished with delicately perfumed lavender pannacotta and passion fruit. All washed down with a glass of Tatt.

A lovely afternoon, thank you to Karen who looked after us well. A great ambassador for the Riverside Brasserie. Do not be put off by other reviews, this was great food and great service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Table by the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have been going to this restaurant every summer for a number of years now. We would go more often except the menu rarely varies.

The last two visits have started wonderfully with an attentive front of house, bringing out warm home made breads and menus. However as the evening has progressed on two occasions we have found that the service starts to falter after main course, plates not cleared, long gaps with no service and trying to attract attention for another round of drinks. The fine line between chatty and efficient host seems to drift into just chatty either inside the resataurant with other staff, or spending long periods of time with one customer to the detriment of all other diners.

Like the previous reviewer I also had a thin overcooked steak, which was disappointing. Somehow it feels this summer as if things are drifting, and for the prices charged, I expect more attention to detail and higher levels of customer service.

I will give the benefit of doubt and go for third time lucky, just as soon as we get a hot evening forecast, so that I can enjoy sitting outside by the river. As I do love their Chablis and Triple Cooked Chips....please don't disappoint.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I could not agree more with the previous writer. We ordered the rib-eye, it was tiny and incredibly thin, not what you expect for £24.00. Our pet hate is overcooked meat, and it was definitely not rare. my husband told the waitress and she went to talk to the chef. She came back and said it was the light!! The steak went back and came back blue, as we feared. Nice setting but totally overpriced for what it is.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank charlotte006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed.... again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Pre-Henley meal at the Riverside Brasserie for the third year running and we were unfortunately disappointed again.

Will start with the 'cons' accordingly:
It was surprisingly empty, we were a table of six and there were only two tables of two in addition. Given the number of Henley visitors staying in the area and the seemingly heaving marina we expected it to be more popular (could be a recession thing.....)
The white wine was room temperature.... we have experienced this issue on previous visits too!
The sparce menu, apart from the desserts, appears to have been the same since at least june 2009...
The rib eye, at about £24 was on the small side and, in our opinion, overcooked.
The triple cooked chips had left the menu! Wrong season of potatoes apparently but the alternative was frozen fries....

I won't dispute the pros though:
Gorgeous setting, love the idea of having a table both inside and outside though we have always been lucky enough to have had good enough weather to stay by the river.
The red wine benefited from the apparent lack of drink refrigeration.... very good Fleurie.
Interesting dessert selection (sticky toffee pudding with caramel sauce, lavender panacotta with passion fruit...) with high praise from all our party
Their pumpkin tortellini with sage butter is gorgeous
Very attentive and friendly waitress however we wouldn't have given the full 12.5% 'optional service charge' which was very much expected when we paid

Would visit again for the setting if a new menu was available and the drink refrigerators have had a service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sausagelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Brasserie also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Riverside Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing