We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”

Riverside Brasserie
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riverside Brasserie is an outstanding restaurant tucked away beside the Thames in Bray Marina. The waterside-decked terrace is perfect for alfresco dining, or if you prefer to stay inside the restaurant, with full-length glass doors you can still enjoy the river views. Open everyday from 12pm - 10pm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Tucked away in at the back of Bray Marina is this little gem of a restaurant. Why had I never heard of this place, I am after all a self confessed foodie! An intimate Brasserie style eatery, slap bang on the river (perfect for summer alfresco dinning). At the helm in the kitchen, Ben Spatharakis a total master of the understated. My rabbit started was probably one of the best things I have ever tasted, it makes me smile every time I think about it. Front of house is driven by the self proclaimed "midlife crisis man with Hoxton hair" (I hope I got that right), and he couldn't have made the evening any more friendly, relaxed and enjoyable. They don't have two sittings, so you can really enjoy your time, food, wine and the ambiance.....a rarity in a restaurant of this calibre.
In short, Ben is a genius in the kitchen, I can not wait to go back. Front of house is not annoying and in your face, the wine list has some real gems, and the man I shall not name at the helm was terrific, (thanks for the photography lesson).
Go, but don't tell too many people.......in a purely selfish way, because really you should tell everyone!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Hphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    324
    172
    84
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
windsor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a unique destination, an experience, give it a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have visited the Riverside previously,indeed we held my mothers 80th birthday there,it has never failed to please. On our recent visit things were to the usual high standard,the welcome has always been warm but not starchy, the venue is so unusual, as you drive through the marina you have no idea what to expect and then of course the star of the show, the food, which I think is just about perfect !
As an added bonus this time we also met the charming owner and his wife, what a team, if every restaurant had this sort of driving force with such desire to make a memorable dining experience for customers, it would be much easier to eat out well, alas!
Sometimes a real mix comes together and makes a really great whole, to me this sums up the
Riverside, you have this truly quirky venue,which sits on the riverside the boats and birds passing you by, then your greeted with warmth by a great host and then the wonderful food begins !
We wish Alfie well with his plans for the future,and look forward to visiting this little star of a destination, whether for dining or a drink on the riverside over the coming months. If your reading this now, then stop, and book yourself a treat !!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elisabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

having booked this at the last minute as I could not be bothered to cook dinner last night at the Riverside Brasserie was a complete surprise and pleasure. We received such a warm welcome and the setting is beautiful (can't wait to return on a sunny day for lunch). The food was delicious, beautiful al dente pasta, stuffed with pumpkin, the filling was sublime. Skate cooked to perfection, served simply with capers and lemon with the most delicious peas I have tasted. Great menu, really hard to choose!

If they carry on like this I can see it will be impossible to get a table by the summer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bray's best kept (restaurant) secret - A Hidden Gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Exceptional food, stunning location - this is probably Bray's best kept secret.

Don't be put off by is isolated location, celebrate that you are free of the masses and able to be entertained by a guys that are passionate about great food and service.

Highly recommend going by taxi, life's too short to worry about not being able to enjoy a drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience to repeat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Excellent service.
Loved my fish dishes.
Fab atmosphere, relaxed outside dining looking at the river, what more could you want.
Loved it all.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Brasserie also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Riverside Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing