We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of Monkey Island - CLOSED

Monkey Island
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

4 ladies meeting for lunch on Sunday, we decided to go to the Pavillion at Monkey Island, Bray where they do a Sunday Carvery. What a good choice, staff where great and the food was good too. Hot Soup available, plus selection of cold starter, Beef, Turkey, Pork plus all the trimmings and a good selection of desserts. All for approximately £25 per head.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NANASMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jeangaf
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Venue for a special treat”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Monkey Island is just beautiful - an island in the Thames, peaceful gardens complete with two inquisitive peacocks and graceful old buildings. We had tea and it was what every afternoon tea should off - a range of sandwiches, good scones with jam and cakes. It is the setting that makes this such a great experience - plus staff helpful and tolerant of a messy two year old.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeangaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Management were more important than us”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I booked to have afternoon tea here as a treat for my wife's birthday.
The hotel is privileged to be in a beautiful location on the Thames and as you walk over the bridge you can feel a sense of calm descending.
Unfortunately, when we got there and we're shown in to the restaurant area there were a couple of disappointments. Firstly, it's a very dark room, which doesn't have any views of the water- a shame considering the riverside location is the main feature of the place.
Secondly, there is one nice (much lighter) window table in the restaurant. Despite the face we'd booked a long time in advance (for a Wednesday afternoon- we were the only paying customers in the restaurant) this table was taken up by hotel management, having their lunch from the kitchen and talking incessantly and loudly about how they can get more money out of guests who book weddings there. To my mind, this was inconsiderate and selfish. If we were walk-ins I would understand, but we'd booked and they knew we were coming.
These downsides were a real shame because the afternoon tea itself was lovely!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ma0nps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch on 6 September for 7 people”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having received a response to my complaints re lunch on 30th June 2013, I made another visit to Monkey Island Hotel for lunch on 6th September 2013. On this occasion I have nothing but praise for either the food or the service.

I would be more than happy to go back for lunch in the future.

Mrs J Agius

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r_agius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing everything...”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I attended a Wedding and reception at Monkey Island... There is literally nothing about this location that won't take your breath away, and leave you in awe and wanting more. The bridge that connects the car-park to the venue has some kind of mystical power as, by the time you've crossed it, all the frustrations of the drive to the venue and battling with traffic have been completely forgotten.

The venue is nestled on the banks of the Thames, and is sublimely peaceful as river traffic idles by at a leisurely pace. The grounds and buildings are immaculately kept.

The food was absolutely delicious, and I would encourage anyone looking for the quintessential wedding or event venue to definitely shortlist Monkey Island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Island also viewed

 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing