We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is without doubt the real thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is without doubt the real thing”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have to say this was an exceptional experience and without doubt the real thing. Everything about The Waterside was sheer quality, from the warmth of the welcome from the manager when we first arrived to the friendliness of all the staff throughout our stay. The food and wines were all that we hoped for and the choice of both was extensive.

To be frank, the whole experience exceeded our expectations. It's not cheap but worth every penny and we'd certainly return if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    40
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
255
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Bray. We enjoyed the experience, for that was what it was, very much. On arrival we were shown to our room, which I did find somewhat disappointing. Ours was a late booking and we had the Boat Room. This bedroom is so small, each of us had to use a different door to get into bed. There is no room for bedside tables, and breakfast had either to be eaten in bed or at a folding table in the passage way. The bed, however was very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and very well appointed. The architectural feature (joke?) is that there are four portholes in the walls and it is possible to look from one in the corridor through to the lavatory in the bathroom.
But, the main main reason for going to the Waterside is the fabulous food, and it was about the best food and service we have ever experienced, comparable though, with Le Manoir aux Quatre Saisons at Oxford. Really good experience, but be wary of the Boat Room.

Room Tip: Avoid the Boat Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annathamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A suite and dinner was booked for me by my chosen life partner as a birthday surprise. The suite was cosy, warm(!) with nice views across the thames. It is located just a short walk from the restaurant. From the moment we arrived, we were treated to polite and excellent service.
We had the Menu Exceptionnel,which although very expensive,was good value(!) compared to going a la carte. We enjoyed nearly all the courses,but two in particular we had issues with. Firstly,Foie Gras...Yes,i know it tastes wonderful, but between us we decided never to eat it again and would ask for the dish to be changed if we came across it on a menu. Secondly, the Pan-fried lobster with a port sauce...I personally found the sauce too rich and overpowering for the dish.But all in all excellent cooking. Service wise was slightly disappointing,we were offered only two types of bread,which were not described.Napkins were not re-folded and placed in the diners lap,these points may seem trivial,but at these prices and three Michelin stars, things should be top notch. On the subject of stars,i think three here is not deserved, as with the Fat Duck just around the corner. After our meal we decided to have our coffee in the lounge next to reception,which was nice and quiet...Well, for a while anyway. We were then subjected to a 'hard sell' of the house Xmas Pudding which was politely brushed off...A shame to end our meal in such a manner. Things are much better on the Hotel side,after a good nights sleep we had breakfast in our room which although described as continental was anything but. A wonderful selection of dishes all served in an impeccable manner. All in all, the hotel staff were the stars here (apart from the xmas pud!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was booked as a special treat and it was a truly memorable experience. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The food was incredible and the service superb. We stayed overnight and their standard room was better than any 5* hotel. Everyone should experience this at least once in their lifetime. Will never forget it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamPhil739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a birthday lunch here with friends, and I must admit that a visit to the Waterside is always looked forward to when the days shorten and there is game on the menu.

As ever the food is outstanding, the service is impeccable, the setting and ambiance all that could be wished for a fine dining experience, and the bill is huge.

When perusing the a la carte menu I was slightly shocked that some main courses now have a price approaching £60, and although its only a couple of years since our last visit, inflation does seem to be running at a rate more applicable to a 'bix six' energy supplier.

Putting that aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, mostly choosing from the 3 course Gastronomic lunch menu (£79.50 a pop on a Sunday), with one or two substitutions from the a la carte, including for 3 of us a swop from desert to their fabulous cheese trolley.

As we were eating a little late we had our cheese service from the maitre'd, and I must say he was very generous both with his servings and suggestions.

I gave up when choosing the white wine and went for a very reasonable house Sancerre, but eventually managed to find a good, sort of reasonably priced Rhone from Cornas, only to be told that it was the last bottle. Never mind it was very good and we managed to get help from the sommelier to find something similar, if somewhat younger. The wine list is extensive and made for those with deep pockets. It helps to have an idea of what you might like and not to be ashamed to discuss pricing with the sommeliers.

All in all a lovely relaxed afternoon, and thankfully for me, a non drinker drove us home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked this for my husbands birthday suprise and was not dissapointed! The service is second to none and you are made to feel like a king and queen whatever your background! The food is divine, we both had the Le Menu Exceptionnel which was 7 courses plus coffee. You do not leve hungry believe me! I was stuffed! There is constant bread and little nibbles inbetween and even chocolates presented on a cake stand with your coffee! I loved the service, the Maitre De was a lovely man and asked us if it was a special occasion, he then produced a little cake, candle and happy birthday on a plate, the attention to detail was superb! If my husband went to the toilet, the waiters came and stood by tabke and talked to me so that I was not left alone, it was all these little things that made this the best dining experience ever, and I cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our son and daughter with their respective partners booked the signature experience for us to celebrate milestone birthdays and they could not have chosen anything more memorable for us. From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome and the staff were all so helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
Dinner was something beyond our expectations and we tasted food that was absolutely delicious. The staff in the restaurant all knew about the food and wines they served which helped to make it such a wonderful experience , one that we will never forget.
Seeing two of the Roux brothers there was the icing on the cake.

One of those experiences you have to do.

Room Tip: Only a few and they are all of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.0 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
3.5 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Inn

Property: The Waterside Inn
Address: Ferry Road | Maidenhead, Bray-on-Thames SL6 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bray-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bray-on-Thames
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3* Michelin Restaurant with Rooms run by Chef Patron Alain Roux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bray On Thames
The Waterside Inn Bray-On-Thames, Berkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing