We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctum suite, what a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Cookham Dean B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We won a gift voucher to stay in this hotel which is actually just down the road from us. We stayed in the Sanctum Suite, which is a wonderful luxury treat. The decor is divine, the bed is possibly the largest and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and the 6 foot square bath is amazing.

Colin, the general manager and Perry the assistant manager were fantastic and really made our stay even more special. I would definitely recommend a stay here and a meal in the restaurant to anyone.

There are two reasons that I didn't give it the full 5. Firstly, I had real difficulty in phoning up and booking. Although the girl who I spoke to was lovely to talk to and very polite, it took me four phone calls to get a confirmed booking. And secondly, the hotel is small, which is part of its charm, and as such cannot have a large reception that is permanently manned, but it needs some sort of bell or pager system otherwise you can be left waiting at reception without any way of alerting staff.

These are only small issues which can be easily rectified, despite these I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sanctum Suite, if you can afford it, go for it, it's a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently travelled from Adelaide to England for a trip and ended up having a night at Sanctum on the Green. Wow ....

We had Luke Cook for us, I was a bit skeptical about his age and all the media hype around him but he definitely knows his stuff. Lamb and goats curd was amazing, to finish it off peanut butter, chocolate and banana, I can still taste it now.
I'd like to thank Luke and all of his staff for such a fantastic evening with mouth watering food in a beautiful setting.

We stayed in room 7. A beautiful 4 poster room with a shower big enough for a football team, I personally preferred the massive bath. The room was clean, well equipped and nicely laid out, large without being too overpowering.

The following morning we were offered breakfast but I was happy with coffee and lots of it.

I would highly recommend Sanctum on the green. I'm sure we will travel to England again within the next few years and will definitely be booking in here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a trip to Marlow where we ate at Luke's dining room. It was an amazing restaurant and would highly recommend it. The food was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and couldn't do nothing more for you. They were very polite and helpful. Great day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

An truly excellent hotel - room was great and the service received during our stay was outstanding. A real little gem in the Berkshire country side offering great food and opportunity to gain some much needed relaxation. We already looking forward to heading back for another stay once the sun comes out so that we can enjoy the outdoor pool

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked 3 rooms at the Sanctum on the Green for a friend's 50th Birthday celebration in the area. Turned out we had the hotel to ourselves! Our deluxe room was great. Individual, unique touches, and a big comfy bed. Plus points - friendly, helpful staff - not too corporate and stuffy. A bar that feels like it could be a place for a few 'lost nights', full of rock & roll framed artwork and platinum discs. Hotel staff also were kind enough to extend breakfast for us on the Sunday morning, as we rolled down at 10.30. If i was being ultra-picky, I might suggest that a breakfast until 11 a.m. on the weekend might be a good idea for a hotel with 'rock & roll credentials'?!

On the negative - food for breakfast was not great. Only other thing to mention is that the huge shower room in our room (7) looked enticing, but the shower head just spurted out water in the wrong direction, and didn't work at all. I mentioned this on check-out, so hopefully it will be rectified asap. One couple of our friends also had a shower that wasn't great. The 'birthday boy' was in the suite, which was spacious and luxurious. The bath was massive. The hotel staff helped set out balloons etc. A really nice team.

Room Tip: Check the showers work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Sanctum boasts a 19 year old Chef ! Well today being the 25th of December proves the point that experience comes with age.... The much vaunted £75 per head lunch had a number of interesting inclusions.... The alternative to the traditional Turkey was Beef Wellington. This was served looking like it had been run over in the car park by a customers car. The pastry tasted reminiscent of wet cardboard and the " Smoked Mash " was tasteless . The accompanying vegetable selection was sprouts and carrots also served in the style " a la Scrooge" Overall the presentation of the meal looked abysmal. The now developing trend of serving food on cold plates was continued with the Christmas Pudding .This was a very modest sized affair that tasted as though it could have done with another 20 secs in the microwave in order that it would warm the plate up.This was served with a yellow stain on the plate that purported to be custard...

Having read all the puffery about the place , one could be forgiven for thinking you were in the wrong location, we were not. How half of this meal got passed by the "Chef" to be served to customers escapes me.....if indeed "Luke " was in the kitchen then that would explain why he has had so many jobs before. If he wasn't then what came out of your kitchen today any self respecting chef would have been appalled...... A bit like I was.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
3  Thank Onetravelsdoesntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Manager at Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Christmas Day lunch we take all our reviews seriously especially when they are disappointing. On behalf of Luke and the team at Sanctum on the Green we are extremely sorry you had this experience on Christmas Day as we know how important Christmas Day lunch is. We had great feedback from other guests so I will be investigating your complaint and why the overall presentation and experience you had was lacking.
If you would like to email events@sanctumonthegreen.com I would very much like to discuss this with you further and invite you back at your leisure.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at Sanctum recently for a short break before our baby arrives and we were really impressed - lovely rooms, excellent food at Luke's dining room and a very relaxed environment where no one bothered us unless we needed anything. Its small enough that you feel relaxed very quickly and we slept so well as the surroundings are so tranquil. The restaurant is a must so make sure you go there for dinner at least once when you are staying over.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel

Address: The Old Cricket Common, Cookham Dean SL6 9NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Cookham Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham Dean
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Group , Sanctum Hotels and the Godiva Leisure Group bring opulence to the centre of England's poshest country address with Karma Sanctum on the Green - one of, if not the best, hotel near Windsor. Karma Sanctum on the Green offers guests an exclusive, luxurious stay in the English countryside. The beautifully appointed property's nine guests rooms, traditional British bar and dining room, outdoor heated pool, enclosed spa, and a range of luxury ‘glamping’ tents make Karma Sanctum on the Green perfect for weekend escapes, midweek romantic getaways, or extended country sojourns year round. The heart and soul of our hotel, the Godiva House Dining Room & Bar presents the very best in traditional British cuisine, served with a modern twist. Karma Sanctum on the Green is ideally located in the picturesque village of Cookham Dean. One of the most easily accessible hotels near Windsor and Maidenhead, we’re a short 25-minute drive from Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum On The Green Hotel Cookham Dean
Karma Sanctum On The Green Hotel Cookham Dean, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing