We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food at atmosphere - especially... ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctum on the Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Cookham Dean B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food at atmosphere - especially... ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

... for what we paid

My friends and I like to treat ourselves to occasional classy feasts and usually feel the sting of the bill at the end.

The food, wine selection and service were all first rate but better still the bill (relative to amazing everything) was surprisingly reasonable.

So much so that we decided to add a couple of rounds of cocktails as a second pudding.

They were rammed the night we went so kind of hoping they don't get any more popular :-)

Super impressed - definitely on the favourites list now.






Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MDA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    77
    56
    32
    25
See reviews for
38
150
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have dined at this hotel last year in August a few times and the service then was excellent and polite, seems the Senior management have left and is now left with unexperienced untidy staff attire, as for the Menu!! well seen better bar food served up in London city, looks like Mr. Luke thomas needs to go to Catering college!!! still wet behind the ears!! the restaurant has no attention to detail and looks and is messy. We will for sure not be recommending this hotel to our clients.

Room Tip: eat in the village pubs for sure..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cookham Dean hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had dinner here the other night and was SO disappointed, it was just dreadful. The venue is lovely but not sure what was/is going on in the kitchen or front of house, friendly, but service erratic and disorganised. Sent my main course back to the kitchen and my partners was so salty he couldn't eat it. Go for a drink but avoid the restaurant at all costs, what a shame; stick to The Bell & Dragon or White Oak in Cookham for good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here last night, having booked a deluxe room - quite disappointed that it didn't look like the one on the website! The room could do with a repaint, and the blinds didn't quite reach the bottom of the window so the light was streaming in this morning. The door also had a gap of about 5cms underneath it, which we had to fill with the extra cushions from the bed. But, having said that, the bath is huge and fills quickly, the bed is also huge and unbelievably comfortable. Just a pity we didn't get to enjoy it that much as we were woken up at 7.20 by the staff vacuuming the restaurant which was right underneath us. The breakfast was great, although quite slow to come out. We would give it another go if we were in the area, but would be making sure not to have the same room.

Room Tip: Don't get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieBBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Absolute bargain, beautiful rooms and the bath is to die for!!! The Bath is HUGE and the best I have ever seen!!Gorgeous location and the bed was amazingly comfy.Will definately return and have started recommending already!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed one night as this was originally the Hare and Hare public House where my grandmother lived in 1901. Whilst I did not expect it to be the same as then the new décor is completely out of character for a very charming quintessentially English village. The room we were allocated did not live up to the room advertised and was rather small and the shower did not work as the water was too hot and with low pressure the cold water could not cope.
The breakfast was very average - only one jam offered and one cup of coffee. Minimal butter and not very hygienic with it smeared on a slate. No atmosphere and poor service.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room with four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LInda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night, as a relaxing getaway following a stressful week at work. Whilst the hotel and the room were nice enough, clean, well decorated, and with friendly staff, the restaurant was a massive let down. Also, having booked a deluxe room, we were expecting the four poster bed (as in the pictures) but this isn't available in all of them. The air con in the room was also broken, so we had a very hot nights sleep, given the window opened onto a very loud extractor fan.

For our evening meal, at almost £100 for two of us, we expected something special. Before we had even had a chance to think about what we wanted to order, we were told that seven of the dishes on the menu were not available - relatively early on a Saturday night, we were both dumbstruck as to how a restaurant could be so under prepared! Management of suppliers and ensuring you have enough food to serve your customers is a pretty basic part of running a kitchen. The food itself was okay, but not great, starters were very average with the tempura'd vegetables extremely greasy, and the main course burger, ordered because anything else we wanted had run out, was a real disappointment - crumbly, dry mince, with squeezey cheese and a "brioche bun" that in reality turned out to be a dried, stale sesame roll (had the brioche buns run out as well?!). Desserts were equally underwhelming, with a treacle tart that tasted like it had been made several days before, given the pastry had completely lost it's usual flakey short texture. This coupled with slightly haphazard service; salt that never arrived and water that had to be asked for several times, left us pretty disappointed!

Venturing down for breakfast the next day, we certainly didn't expect to find the same issues that had plagued dinner the night before. From a breakfast menu of 4 dishes, I ordered the salmon and scrambled eggs, only to be told there was no salmon, as it hadn't yet been delivered (really?!) As an alternative, the Salmon was replaced by two miserly pieces of streaky bacon (not the same back bacon served with the full English breakfast) and served on two burnt pieces of anemic white supermarket bread.

By this point we couldn't wait to leave Sanctum on the Green, and loving our food, we will definitely not be returning for a second visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmsp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham Dean
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
3.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum on the Green

Property: Sanctum on the Green
Address: The Old Cricket Common, Cookham Dean SL6 9NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Cookham Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham Dean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctum on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The opulent Sanctum on the Green Hotel is located just 45 minutes from Central London, yet is deep in the Berkshire Countryside. Being so close to London, Sanctum on the Green is perfect for that romantic weekend away, or quick overnight get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sanctum on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum On The Green Hotel Cookham Dean
Sanctum On The Green Cookham Dean, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing