We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country pub/restaurant”
Review of Crooked Billet Pub

Crooked Billet Pub
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Crowthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Countryside pub serving excellent quality pub food and beer with warm and friendly service
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice country pub/restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is obviously a very popular pub, because despite being well off the beaten track it was almost full on a Tuesday lunchtime.

The lunchtime menu offers a good variety of starters and light meals, although the mains are a bit thin on the ground. Nothing too adventurous, but cooked well, and generous portions - the sandwiches in particular are massive, the bread more like thick wedges than slices! The burger got rave reviews, thick and juicy with again a very generous topping of bacon. Chips come with (just about) everything, but were nothing to write home about in an age of crispy triple cooked chips in most aspiring pub restaurants.

And herein lies my only real reservation about the Crooked Billet - the prices are pitched at the high end for a pub, but it doesn't really deliver food at quite the same level, which makes the experience a little disappointing.

Full marks for service, very helpful and friendly, and the decor is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafford34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    26
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came with friends to try this pub restaurant which was well recommended on TA but I am afraid to say that we had a very bad meal. The food was nothing special as some people say and it was very bland. The service was slow and the people serving were moody. Meat was tough....at this time we had enough and we did not order any desserts. The beer was good. Sorry but for us never again...I see now on TA that I am not the only un-happy customer...

Helpful?
1 Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Embarassingly Bad tonight!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Shockingly poor for vegetarians today in 2014 - only one choice available (told run out of the other option) and couldn't get that right- ended up with just salad only (! - it was like going back to the eighties).

Worse still staff were not competent and didn't seem to care about the poor service and unavailability of so many menu choices.

Would not feel able to return again despite a few previous good visits - only as good as the last experience and this one was really bad. Must be worth trying elsewhere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WiddyandIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A cheese board crime!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My expectations for this place were high but sadly not met. The food is ok, but just not great (which I would expect for a pub main course at £16). Firstly, half the menu was not available on the day. There is a balance of availably and using fresh produce and they haven't quite got it right. The size of the bread serving at £3 was shameful. My starter of potted pork was lovely but my main course of wild mushroom cobbler and stilton dumplings was poor. It just didn't work with the mushrooms overpowering any taste in the dumplings. My husband's pie had great flavours but the pastry was over-cooked. There was an amazing cheese board selection which was sadly served straight from the fridge and far too cold (an unforgivable crime by any chef). On the plus side, the service is great and the pub has one of the best atmospheres.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“High expectations but disappointing”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had heard great things about this place, but it did not live up to expectations when I went for a late Sunday lunch.

The setting and decor of the pub is lovely, and the inside is both bright and cosy. However, service was slow (waited over 20 min to order starter, repeatedly asked for drinks) and sometimes poor (one meal came out 10 min after others, had no broccoli and burnt sauce). One staff member was dressed for a night out, in jeans and trainers, and repeatedly interrupted the meal asking if we wanted drinks, quite intrusive. They do have a good beer selection though.

The food was disappointing - the roast potatoes and gravy were lovely, but the beef was very tough (maybe my knife as just blunt, I gave up cutting it in the end as my fingers were sore). Yorkshire was very burnt.

Didn't bother with pudding due to poor service and pretty average food. Everyone else seems to like this place, perhaps we just caught them on an off day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crooked Billet Pub also viewed

 
Finchampstead, Wokingham
Crowthorne, Berkshire
 
Crowthorne, Berkshire
Sandhurst, Berkshire
 

Been to Crooked Billet Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing