We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for lunch, a short break anything!”
Review of The Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inkpen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Inkpen B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch, a short break anything!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We dropped in here for lunch on the way to Devizes. It's in a lovely spot with access to hills where para-gliders go. The Pub/restaurant area is what a pub should be. They have their own organic ale from Butts which my husband said was very good. The staff were helpful especially the young lady from Valencia. We had a prawn sandwich and a ham and mustard sandwich. The sandwiches were of a good size with a side salad and gorgeous coleslaw.
They serve organic beef, have 10 luxury ensuite bedrooms, free wifi and an organic farm shop - so if you are around that area it's well worth dropping in.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here so I'm only rating the restaurant and bar -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    42
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
23
58
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When we arrived, the two staff members on duty could not find our booking. I gave them both surnames and yet they still could't find my email booking from two months previously. Nor could they find receipt of my deposit for £25. I was left standing at the bar on crutches with a broken foot, while they looked and decided we could have a room anyway, as they weren't full. I then mentioned my first name, so they searched under that and eventually found it.... Neither spoke very good English, which seems to have added to the confusion but surely bookings should be under surnames or first and surname?
However, after that they were very good, ordering a taxi for us and making sure everything was ok.
Upstairs was very warm and smelt musty and in need of some ventilation. Our room was lovely though and once we'd opened a window and let some air in, we felt better.
We didn't eat here as we went to a wedding but did have a very good full English breakfast the next morning after a good night's sleep, but again, the breakfast room was stifling hot and no ventilation.
We felt it's a little overpriced but its location is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Sorry to see the confusion on the arrival but your email correspondence in March 3 months before your arrival was all in the name of Naomi. If you had used this name on booking-in then it would have tallied immediately with the registration form. Nevertheless, I am glad to see that our staff were very good helping you with taxes and making sure everything was OK. Our English breakfast is mainly organic and uses organic free range eggs which people are delighted with. I am pleased to see that you say breakfast was very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Fathers Day - and an empty restaurant! We should have thought more carefully about why his might becthe case before we ordered our food - we should have left but we kept a positive mind! Never eaten here before and never will again. We ordered roast beef, Sunday lunch (no other option). It turned up quite quickly - beef looked nicely cooked - medium rare - veg arrived separately, sometime later. The meat here in this 'Gourmet Restaurant' is said to be organic - it was inedible - texture of leather. The roast potatoes were soggy. The food was all luke warm. We did mention this to the waitress who didn't really understand English - "warm up in microwave?" No thanks. So a disastrous experience. We paid and left within 45 minutes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
This review is nonsense.

We were very busy lunch time with our full menu and Roast beef lunch offered in addition.
We served 60 main meals of which 14 were Roast beef.

"Sara" did not travel with friends, they were 2 and a teenager. They ordered a child's portion for the teenager and then asked for extra Yorkshire Puddings, Potatoes and Parsnips.

The food was served on very hot plates and the gravy in a hot dish on the side.

When they left having paid £30 against their tap for £50.25 they were rude to our Staff. Other customers thought their behaviour appalling and made a point of sympathising with staff and leaving tips having enjoyed their meals.

This was the only complaint on the day and totally unjustified by the meal served.

We are happy for them to use other restaurants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived as refugees from the Dundas Arms, which was obliged to close for the night. Mixed feelings, on the positive side the local beef and beer was most enjoyable and the service was most attentive. Unfortunately the bar was frequented by a "pub bore" with a loud voice and inane conversation, so everyone vacated the bar asap.
The rooms were OK, if somewhat uninspiring, and the place could do with a lick of paint as it looks rather tired from the outside.
A shade too expensive for what is on offer. Seems to trade on its reputation, and could do with a refresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Arrived early evening with my wife at The Swan after a 13 mile walk, it is not in our direct home area and we had not visited for several years so we are not known.

We felt very welcome and engaged in conversation on our arrival, information about the beers provided and guidance on the menus, seating and serving times for dinner provided.

I had what must rate as one of the finest ever steaks ever eaten, it was so tender and a good portion size which was well received after my long walk.

The beer was good too - next time I visit in July having just booked a table for 8 with a walk group I hope for a 2nd pint!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdd150407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visted here on strength of some of the reviews. It is a lovely looking pub, in very pleasant countryside. We dined in the 'restaurant' which has a pleasant ambience due to old beams etc. The food was served reasonably quickly, but there were some communication problems with the foreign waitress when we enquired about some of the menu options. The first thing to say about the food is that it isnt cheap. The second is that is was ok but not memorable, or worthy of a second visit. No doubt someone wants specifics - the roast came plated with three wafer thin and fairly bland slices of beef swimming in gravy (with extra gravy provided), and three slightly leathery roast potatoes: the carrots were undercooked (but the cabbage was very nice). A steak was ok came with a disappointingly economical coating of blue cheese sauce. The lemon cheesecake desert had to be reordered as it had been overlooked - but not suprising when you see the tiny size of it, and was very runny when it appeared - possibly having been enjoying the afternoon sunshine somewhere. Coffee was difficult, as the cafetierre had a very stiff plunger that eventually released and sent coffee everywhere: possibly not an exceptional occurrence as our waitress had to lean on the replacement with two hands to get it to work. This is not a bad place to go, but the high prices arent fully justified by the food. Not many locals to be seen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHappyEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Very disappointing to see a poor review but it contrasts with a much better review of people lunching the same day ( Mother's day). The Roast beef was cut a little thin as the chef was worried we would run out due to the large number of people eating. We normally do not serve a lot of gravy on the plate as we provide extra on the side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After a wonderful country walk with friends we had a late lunch at the Swan. What a fantastic place. Children were welcome and they loved the crayfish in the tank.
The food was delicious. I had a mince and onion pie which was out of this world. Lovely to know where your beef comes from.

We bought a joint of beef from the shop and ate it last Sunday. It's not often you can really taste the difference between organic and non organic but this joint was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inkpen
3.9 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
305 reviews
3.0 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,788 reviews
6.8 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Crown & Garter
The Crown & Garter
#1 of 2 in Inkpen
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: Lower Green Craven Road, Inkpen, Hungerford RG17 9DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford > Inkpen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Inkpen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Inn hotel & organic food restaurant at Inkpen is a perfect venue for an evening meal, a conference, a weekend exploring the Berkshire countryside, or a longer stay.The tastefully extended 17th-century village inn has 10 en suite bedrooms, and is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the North Wessex Downs.The Swan is owned by local organic beef farmers Mary and Bernard Harris. The menus for the hotel restaurant and bar food feature organic produce as well as beef from the farm. Our famous range of sausages are on sale in the farm shop attached to the Swan Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Inkpen, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing