We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of The Malt Shovel

The Malt Shovel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malt Shovel
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambourn B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Lovely quiet location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Frosty reception when we arrived on our bikes. Delicious food, but disappointed that chef packed up and went home before we had chance to order desserts - despite sitting down to eat at a pre-booked table at 8.00. Staff desperate to leave by 9.30 so table needed to be cleared quite rapidly. Tense atmosphere at times. Felt like our presence was a slight imposition despite booking everything weeks in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What a great first impression, the young lady on Saturday couldn't have been more welcoming, and when we said we'd be coming back rather late as attending wedding reception that night , she couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are small but adequate, the bed was sensational , the right side of firmness, and we slept brilliantly. Only niggle was noisy plumbing in Aldaniti, and no hot water on Sunday morning for showers. Breakfast was a huge fry up, my husband loved it - however, it would have been nice to be asked what we wanted , rather than just plonked in front of us! I wanted scrambled eggs (!) so Mr F thoroughly enjoyed his 2 breakfasts!!! Very friendly, good service and great bed, go and try!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Malt Shovel for two nights we were very disappointed, Our room was not up to the standard I expected i.e cigarette end in toilet, lime scale encrusted shower head no chest of drawers in room just a wardrobe and bedside tables,

The cooked breakfast was good and plenty but there was very little choice if you did not want a cooked breakfast only orange juice and cereals.

We came back after being out all day on Saturday to find that our room had not been made up and after walking all day we had to make the bed wash the cups etc. according to the management the reason for this was they had lost some keys and apparently we should have left our key as they only possessed the one however we were not told to do so.

On Saturday night we could hear music playing downstairs until the early hours.

We were compensated for the unmade bed but this should not have happened my impression is that the accomodation is a side line to the pub because there seemed to be no love and care for that side of the business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaltShovel_UL, General Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Good Afternoon Mrs Henry,

Firstly I would like to apologise that your stay with us has fallen below standards. Whilst we are predominantly a public house as stated on Laterooms and Tripadvisor, we also work hard to keep our accommodation to the same high standard. I understand on this occasion this has not been the case. The member of staff who met you at check in should have advised that there was only one key as the previous resident had misplaced it. As a knock on effect from this, the housekeeping staff waited back for your arrival and offered to do a full clean on your return; I have been advised that you opted against this which led to you having to make your own bed. This I can only apologise for along with other failures in the general cleanliness in your room which you have mentioned, I have raised these points with housekeeping and front of house and they all agreed that this is totally unacceptable.
Unfortunately with regards to the music this was an event at a neighbouring house and was not an event we knew of in advance. I have checked our shift closure and we were closed by 11.30pm, if we are holding an event we make a point of notifying our bookings to avoid this kind of disturbance to our residents.
Lastly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, it is always great to get feedback and be advised of where could be improved. Your comments have been noted we will endeavour to work harder to maintain our usual standards which unfortunately fell below what is expected of us on your recent visit.

Regards,

Kayleigh O’Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Set in the heart of Newbury racing country The Malt Shovel is part of the racing community. Rooms are clean and tidy and named after racehorses. My han, eggs and chips was nice but one egg was quite hard. They have two draft ales, but one was not on the night we stayed. Breakfast was good, large portions and well cooked. Have nothing really bad or good to say about the pub. Was nice for one night but wouldn't make a special trip to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Malt shovel as my Son was getting Married in Lambourn and was having his reception here.

What a little gem it is. We were made welcome as soon as we set foot in the door. Great service, Great room, Great food.

The staff and locals alike are very friendly. My Sons reception was fantastic and the Staff on the day couldn't have been any more helpful and hardworking.

I would recommend any one to stay at the Malt shovel.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are suitable for disabled travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johno4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaltShovel_UL, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Malt Shovel. Chris & Helens big day was beautiful and we were honoured to be so involved in it. Thank you for uploading an image of our Horse & Carriage outside of the building. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will make a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO.KERRY IRELAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at the Malt Shovel for 3ngts one of them been good friday, I was sorry 2 leave it the next morning and only that I had 2 be somewhere else I would have booked to stay again which I shall do in the future breakfast was amazing full and plenty you could not complain the rooms were so comfy I have never felt more relaxed or at home in any place I have stayed in we had the Nijinsky room fab warm and eveything you could ever need for your stay was in that room. Ollie the owner had a band playing called Slim Attraction if ever you need to book music 2 get everyone at a function up and dancing this is the band in 1 word Brilliant ! outside of having a really good ngt and day which i had to give into way2 early and go 2 bed which was a good idea at the time but was disappointed the next morning that I had given in they had super night there .the staff were fab :)))) couldnt do enough for us locals were great good fun and g8t banter this is a super friendly place to stay and if you love horses, good craic, and nice people then this is the place 2 stay I for one will be back again so keep everything going as it is at the MALT SHOVEL as your doing it right !!!!! :)))))))

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGUERITER672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaltShovel_UL, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Malt Shovel it's always lovely to have great feedback, it's our little incentive to keep up the hard work! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. It was such a shame Open Day was cancelled on Good Friday but we were so glad all was not lost and everyone still managed to enjoy the day we put on for them. I'm glad to know you felt at comfortable and at home here, and hope you will return to stay with us soon.

Kind regards,

Caroline O'Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

A proper traditional pub with a great atmosphere
Then a beautifull little resturant with your own bar with amazing food, and extremely friendly bar staff dressed well all with smiling faces, best place around
Then massive rooms with huge comfy beds and immaculate!!
Very pleased!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaltShovel_UL, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's always great to get feedback and even better when it's positive. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you back to stay in the near future.

Thank you for choosing The Malt Shovel.

Kind regards,

The Malt Shovel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Malt Shovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt Shovel

Property: The Malt Shovel
Address: Malt Shovel Lane | Upper Lambourn, Lambourn RG17 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Lambourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malt Shovel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malt Shovel is a popular, rustic country public house which boasts five luxury bed and breakfast rooms. Our Lounge bar is renowned for hosting some of the most famous faces in the British horse racing fraternity. To add to this, our head chef has comprised a menu of pub classics with an Asian twist, and also serves a classical and delicious roast every Sunday. Please do not hesitate to call us on for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Malt Shovel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malt Shovel Hotel Lambourn
The Malt Shovel Lambourn, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing