We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent facilities, incredible staff”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Lambourn, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Journey65...
1 review
“Excellent facilities, incredible staff”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked the Woodend cottage and used it for a work team building event. I am not sure this is the primary focus for the venue but they could not have been more accommodating. The facilities were excellent and the staff were able to meet all of our needs. We will definitely consider using the venue in the future for similar events.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kerry was excellent
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell S
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We visited Sheep Drove Organic Farm during its open day. It was great to see all the animals and that they were kept in good conditions and all seemed happy. We enjoyed looking around the farm and the natural burial site (which we may well use).

The day was really well organised, the food was superb (hog roast), the band and morris dancers made it feel very traditional, and the farm walk was lovely and tranquil.

We'll certainly return.

Date of stay: May 2016
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hattie411
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our perfect wedding! ”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

After having our wedding reception at the farm, which was nothing short of perfection, with wonderful , helpful staff. We had booked out all of the rooms here. They were lovely! Beautifully furnished and finished. Our room (honeymoon suite) was so nice! Beautiful big high comfortable bed! The kitchen was a great social place and the breakfast the next morning was beautiful! I so wish we could come back and stay!

Date of stay: October 2015
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were looking for somewhere to meet up for one night for a group of old school friends who now live all over the country, with our wives and 9 children (ages between 12 years old and 9 months). Not easy to find somewhere accommodating - Woodend was perfect for our needs. The rooms off the courtyard were great for the younger children as it meant they didn't get disturbed by the adults in the evening. The older children loved having a TV in their bedroom which meant we didn't see them for most of the (wet February) day!
Kerry was very accommodating in letting us check in a bit early and check out late, which was great given we were only staying one night.
Lovely to wake up to fresh pastries delivered to the property.
We'd definitely book again, hopefully in the summer when we can enjoy the walks and surrounding countryside.
If I had to say one negative was only having one small 'sharp' knife that wan't very sharp, so if you are booking just remember to take your own.

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, well equipped, and welcoming”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (a group varying between 17 and 19) stayed at Sheepdrove over New Year. Although we arrived in driving rain and slightly anxious as to what accommodation for 20 people would look like, we were all delighted by what we found.

Living space: The main communal room is a little small for the number of people, but given that each person has their own bedrooms (with en-suite bathrooms - a real plus) that didn't matter too much. Kerry kindly provided us with an additional table to tack onto the end of the wooden one, so everyone was able to eat together in the evenings. One thing we would suggest is rotating the table 90degrees and pushing it to the dresser-end of the room. We did this, and it allowed us to move the armchairs into a cluster around the fire, and have a separate "lounge" area.

The kitchen: the kitchen is equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, hob and oven. It is well-equipped (no grater though, which, together with sharp knives, we felt the kitchen lacked). Breakfast is plentiful and delicious (the home made granola and honey in particular went down very well). Plenty of large pans, although not many big serving dishes or spoons, so "formal" dining is a bit limited.

Around the area: there was a nice pub about 3 miles walk (or a 10 minute drive) away, together with a small Co-Op for essentials. Sheepdrove is also very close to the Ridgeway, and we spent a good few hours on a long walk there on New Years Eve.

Summary: All in all a lovely stay, and one we would all recommend to large groups of people on a short stay. The lack of a communal area may be a bit off-putting for a longer visit, but our three nights there were very comfortably spent and I think we would all consider returning in the future.

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninarina9...
st albans
1 review
“Great for gatherings and very reasonably priced!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here for one night with a group of friends for a Christmas gathering. We were a party of 12 adults and 6 children and this place worked perfectly. The house was clean and very comfortable. Be aware there is no TV in the communal area but each bedroom has its own. It was nice to have some water, juice and yoghurt in the fridge provided for free by the accommodation along with tea and coffee. The only slight negative point is, apart from chocolate croissants, we were not given any other choice for pastries at breakfast time. Although,you can cook your own food there, we opted to have our meals at a couple of local pubs just a short drive away where we found the people to be very friendly and food to be good. I saw this place listed on an accommodation website but booked directly instead and Kerry was very helpful and accommodating. The rest of the party and I really enjoyed our stay at Woodend and would definitely go back and do it again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRKSE4
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peaceful.”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This place is a little sanctuary. The accommodation is a pretty plain looking bungalow style set in a courtyard. The bedrooms are housed off the main living room which is so homely. Big, comfy armchairs, a large farmstyle table to seat 10, a modern kitchen with all mod-cons. It's a lovely space to cook in and be with the other people staying there. There's a logfire with logs provided and you don't need to bring any utensils with you as it's all provided (pots, pans etc). The groceries/food left in the fridge for breakfast were fantastic. Fresh, tasty food (homemade bread, pastries, jams, eggs from the farm). The room I stayed in, albeit small (room 6) was plenty big enough for me for 2 nights and it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The Neil's Yard toiletries and variety of fluffy towels were welcomed too. It's such a peaceful setting, every morning I was woken by the farm noises and wildlife - owls in the trees and the birds. It was so beautiful. The countryside is second to none and the walks we took as the sun came up were amazing (as were the skies at night, no light or noise pollution made it a very good night's sleep!). I'd love to come back here and settle in for longer, not just stay for business.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds and the logfire
Liked least: Being by the front door/living room door. If it slammed it woke me up!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.