We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Regatta - CLOSED

Regatta
Regatta
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor quality food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited on last Saturday. Very dissapointed with food, worst grilled salmon ever. Very slow service, didn't seem to be bother to service customers. Honestly I don't know how they can survive there. We will never get back to this place, unless they changed attitude and food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrottterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely position staff service really poor”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It all started with the receptionist asked questions got yes or no answers. Nothing followed even after prompting.went up got showered cam down to bar to order some food was told no you can't order food there it was 8.30 and dead.i said no probs is there anywhere else i can get food then someone came into bar and offered a menu ?
The room was really old and damp smelling even the pillows and towels smelt unclean.
The food was ok
The morning was eye opening to when paying for hotel as info was space in the evening I asked is this bed and breakfast she sAid yes after a long pause I asked where she looked and said through the door very abruptly.
I have stayed In many hotels this is defiantly a staff and management problem.
If this hotel was managed correctly and the correct staff in place it would be a pleasant place because of the surroundings .
1 word disgusting customer care

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“perfect summer venue ...if the sun shines”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The sun was shining at this most "English" of sporting events, Henley is a charming spot in anycase, the Regatta is very well organised ....bit overcrowded on the Saturday.....suggest you try a weekday to avoid the crush and book your hotel for next year.....now

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good, but we expected more”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked a large party just before a family wedding, the reception staff were very helpful in sending out a menu for us to pre order. our pary of 18 had a good evening and enjoyed the food.

There is always a little hesitance, by the bar/waiting staff when I have been to the Great House (as I read in another review) where the staff want you to go, whether you can sit in the bar, they are not in control or not trained to be guiding the costumer through their Great House experience. The rooms are comfortable,(I didn’t stay on this occasion but in 2010) and the prices reasonable for what you get.

Being on the river bank there is a relaxed and picturesque atmosphere, but there is just something not quite great about the Great House; with that location and size the Great House could (and should) be excellent but our party found it just... good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Friendly, Efficient Service and Good, Well Cooked Food”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A party of eight did not trouble the staff and we were served in an efficient manner with no delays. The sole veronique was superb as had been the starter of smoked duck breast; the Eton Mess was an indulgence, but was excellent and of a suitably modest portion. The restaurant setting is fronting on to the river and ambience was comfortable and relaxed. Very Good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deMerclesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regatta also viewed

Sonning-on-Thames, Berkshire
Sonning-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Sonning-on-Thames, Berkshire
Sonning-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing