We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old pub in quiet village”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place is hidden away in a quiet village only 5-10 mins from reading. Bags of character and friendly staff. I had to leave at 5.30AM so missed the breakfast I had heard a lot about. Dinner was very nice, if a touch pricy. room had all you needed and was clean. Due to age of building it was on a significant slant, (which meant a cup slid off the bedside before I realised!). Has been mentioned before that the bar noise is audible from rooms, but to be expected I suppose. Very nearly 5 stars and would be back if in the area again. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruairi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for a weekend to see our daughter and son in law who live nearby and it was a great place to stay. Very old inn (1500's) and lovely old rooms with great modern bathrooms. It was full the weekend we were there. The location is wonderful being 2 minutes from the Thames towpath where you can walk off a pint or two. The weather was lovely and sunny and the pub was busy all day Saturday with people sitting in the courtyard - a real country pub. Food was excellent, ate there both nights and packed on Saturday as there was a Rod Stewart tribute act on, lots of fun. Sunday evening also busy. Breakfasts are HUGE, be warned. Staff are excellent. Recommend for a meal or if you want somewhere to stay around the Reading area it's great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very relaxing after 2 weeks in London. Good food, fantastic location, great rooms - even if the ceilings are a little low in the hallways!

Very friendly atmosphere and service. Breakfasts were monstrous and typically British. Sausage, eggs, bacon, 2 tons of toast! Huge. I had to switch to the excellent fresh fruit and berries after the second day.

Lovely bar and beer garden for a relaxing drink on a beautiful August day.

the village of Sonning is very picturesque - right on the Thames and the little cafe at the lock was also delightful. Good choice of eating places for a small village.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a beautiful traditional pub, with lots of beams and character, that offers a great range of real ales and a fair selection of wines. The food is good too - plenty of it, some interesting dishes, and pretty good value. Believe they offer accomodation too - dangerous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodw1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I took several co-workers out for a pint and dinner there last night. Fabulous meal, great service can't wait to go there again. 2 of us had the Steak and Ale pie, it was divine with huge nicely cook chunks of steak in a very tasty gravy and our 3rd had the wrapped monkfish which he swore was out of this world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

It's a great local pub, food is mixed (average) and nothing to write home about. The service is a bit weird as there seems no one is in control. I spoke to a young guy in a white shirt about my bland meal and he sort of went "thats a shame, ok anything else I can get you", customer service!? Would I pay £99 for a room in this pub, yes and no! Yes: nice bed, tv, nice shower, pretty location. No: average food, noisy everything - fans, taps, floor boards. I mean everything you interact with. The bar is open till 11:30-12am so may as well have your bed down in the bar until then, quiet it isn't. Mixed bag!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our 5 day stay was most enjoyable. Delightful staff who made us feel at home. The most wonderful English breakfast every morning and a home cooked meals in the evenings. Perfect location for us to explore in all directions, tucked away on the Thames. So pretty too, it lived up to our expectations. On first arrival we were given a small room but on requesting something larger we were given a much bigger one. All good.

Room Tip: Request the St Andrew's room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDonaldson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Bull Inn Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing