We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy olde English pub”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Called in for last orders on a Friday night. Was full of locals but was made to feel welcome by bar staff. Nice atmosphere. Very old building full of nooks and crannies. Found a cosy corner to sit in and enjoy my drink

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

A time ago I was impressed by this old inn/pub and I insisted to have lunch on this Sunday not realising it is the Mother's Day. The restaurant was overcrowded and outside they served only one dish in beef, lamb or pork versions. I enjoyed the beef vesion well cooked and in British food tradition. The service was slow. Tables not very clean.
Maybe I will be lucker next time.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank VMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Took over an hour for my roast to arrive, however it was brilliant. Massive queues for a drink, slow bar staff. 30 minutes to clear plates and cups away from tables. Lovely atmosphere, not enough chairs/benches in the sun though, as people were sat on the pavement. Mixed feelings, has such great potential if management sorted it out. Staff forgot cutlery and sauce I requested

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked rooms here to attend a wedding. Quaint, oldy worldy, sloping floors. Friendly helpful and efficient staff on the whole. When you leave shoe boxes in a room however you don't expect them to be thrown away- Note to cleaner-only throw things that are IN THE BIN!
Good rooms on the whole but VERY noisy being above the bar. Luckily we were out late ourselves because an early night would not have been an option! Need to provide UHT milks in rooms as fresh milk is great but not if not made available each evening for the next morning. Great breakfasts-loads of choice and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Maybe choose the rooms not above the bar if you don't want to be kept awake until after midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Used to be a nice place for a drink and chill out with the paper on the weekend, and the bar staff are friendly but went in recently with some friends and it's now £4 a pint for London Pride and was something like £4.70 for a pint of Aspalls ...I'm sorry but Fullers you are taking the mick!!! The concept of the pub is now lost and while its a lovely old building I don't think drinkers are welcome here anymore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have been to this pub/restaurant several times and have always had a good night.
The food has always been excellent and very reasonably priced.
This time we went for a "Elvis" tribute night and although I'm not great Elvis fan I really enjoyed it and would recommend it .
Every time we've been to pub there has always been a nice atmosphere ,so if you fancy a traditional country pub in a beautiful village location then give this place a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livewire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Booked as a couple for a Saturday night here. This place has a great traditional country pub feel, and there is a cozy log fire and exposed beams. The menu was good and it was quite hard to make a decision! The waitress who seated us was really friendly and welcoming, but a few of the other staff who brought drinks and cleared the tables were ok, but seemed to be a little sullen compared to her. There were a couple of other family groups dining.

We had the baked cheese with rosemary to start which was delicious. Then had the fish casserole and the chicken and leek pie: all delicious and did not disappoint. There was lots of meat in the pie (though I couldn't find much leek). The beer selection was ok, and I liked that they had beer and wine pairings for all of their specials. I will definitely return to try more on the menu.

I also visited here in the summer after a walk along the Thames. The outdoor space and benches are lovely on a warm summer evening, and the wisteria on the outside of the building adds to this very pretty country pub.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0 mi away
The Tally Ho
The Tally Ho
#4 of 9 in Hungerford
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £68 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Bull Inn Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing