We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of French Horn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
French Horn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed overnight as we had tickets for the theatre at Sonning Mill which is literally across the road. We were also offered a special deal as we were attending the theatre.

Hotel is charming, lovely log fire in the lounge with chickens roasting on a spit! We had a comfortable room at the top of the hotel with a beautiful view of the gardens. All that was missing were tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Efficient and courteous staff.

Unusually, breakfast served in our room but this suited us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for French Horn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Booked dinner as part of our boating holiday on the Thames. Good service. We chose from the set menu which was good value although the food was not exceptional. However that would have been fine but the price of a bottle of wine was well over the top...£30+ for the entry level bottles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarum2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The French Horn. We were allocated a riverside studio which was based across the road from the main hotel and restaurant. For us it was perfect, clean, roomy, quiet, with a fantastic private garden and river view and a terrace outside our door with our own patio table and chairs. On arrival the staff were all very friendly and helpful and escorted us across to our room, showing us where everything was and giving us all the information we required. When we asked if there was a kettle in our room the young lady was very helpful, she informed us there wasn't but she would bring one for us. Sure enough a tray was immediately brought with a kettle, tea, coffee, milk and biscuits, this was refreshed twice each day, morning and in the evening.
Breakfast was served in the room and was excellent, a good choice was available and was always served promptly at a time of your choice. A complimentary newspaper of our choice was also provided each morning.
One evening we ate in the restaurant where we were made to feel very welcome and once again every member of staff was very friendly, polite, but not overpowering. The food was delicious.
All in all an excellent experience, we hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were only at the hotel for an overnight stop over, having been to the theatre,Mill at Sonning, which is only 5 minutes walk away. We were very well received at reception, and taken to our room, which although I had only booked a double room, we were given an excellent junior suite with a most impressive double bed. The windows looked out over a beautiful stretch of the Thames. For no extra charge we were served breakfast in our room, from a very extensive menu. The hotel oozed character, and the log fire added to the ambience. Not only a comfortable hotel, but and enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible, and if you are visiting the theatre, mention this at the time of b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I were in the UK for a wedding and therefore did not use the restaurant, apart from having a drink on the terrace. On arrival we found the reception to be very friendly and informal and we were immediately upgraded to a junior suite (no. 7) overlooking the river. No credit card details or imprint were demanded and we were not asked to sign for our drinks on the terrace. A kettle and a teapot with teabags etc were provided instantly on request, as was an iron and ironing board. All very quick and helpful.

It is a delightfully timeless setting and with a few tweaks could be just perfect. I really hate to criticise such a lovely place but one or two things could easily be changed. First, sort out the expensive WIFI. In this day and age it should be free in hotels, especially expensive ones. £6 per hour or £15 for 24 hours? Why? Second, breakfast. This is served in your room and is served all together. Corn flakes comes together with toast and eggs (or sausages etc) and of course the main part is cold and congealed when you get to eat it. It would be so easy to serve it in the lovely restaurant, especially as there was no table and dining chairs in the suite. I could also mention the slightly tired furniture and decor but maybe that helps to create the timeless feel.

Anyway, apart from those criticisms, it really is a lovely place and well worth a stay for a special occasion. Friends who live locally say the restaurant is very, very good.

Room Tip: Suite number 7 overlooks the river and the old bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Celebrating our wedding anniversary we booked for lunch and had the set summer menu.
The food was fantastic and the service even better.
Beautiful surroundings too.
Everyone was very friendly and accommodating also when I made a late change of order.
We will definitely go back and also with more money to spend on the fantastic wine menu!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Even for business trips its the place to stay in Reading.
The lovely old style rooms and furniture and especially the nice garden on the Thames RIver make the stay relaxing. I hope, it will never be "modernized". See my photos.

The service - especially in the restaurant - is also very good.

Very English. I will return - definitely.

Room Tip: pick a room on the river side
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henry_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
447 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
792 reviews
6.6 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.7 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Horn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Horn Hotel

Address: Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £154 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Horn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Horn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel French Horn
French Horn Hotel Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing