We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit hot and stuffy”
Review of French Horn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
French Horn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit hot and stuffy”
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights with family.

The restaurant was a nice place for a family dinner with the food being well executed whilst a bit rich (we all felt a bit odd the next day).

I can agree with other reviewers that the rooms were spotless (I think every hotel should get that right, no matter what the charge is). However, the stay was uncomfortable due to the fact that the hotel insisted on keeping every radiator on full blast for 24 hours a day, so it was a constant battle with the airconditioning to keep the room bearable ... I am sure the hotel could reduce it's bills if they sorted that one out!!

On balance, the stay was pleasant enough but the bill at the end did not really justify the total experience. I have a feeling that the hotel is trading off a rather old reputation and once that generation (who were mostly there for sunday lunch I noticed!) have moved on, they will find it hard to please without making some changes.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank habblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    35
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
108
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2007

I have been staying at The French Horn since 1991 and have no hesitation recommending it to friends - all of whom have enjoyed their experiences, as well.

It is nice to stay at a hotel that is not slick and not
'homogenized' so that you could be in any property anywhere in the world. The fittings are regularly renewed, the beds are comfortable and the furniture is not plastic!

My experiences in the restaurant have all been positive. The location, despite what is now a very busy road beside the hotel, is lovely. The staff is unfailingly helpful and courteous.

My only complaint (one that I voice emphatically at every visit) is that the dining room allows smoking. Yuck! But, I hope that will change.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Msjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

A lovely experience all round. The rooms are very dated indeed but I found the bed in the cottage my wife and I had very comfortable and above all the rooms were functional and spotlessly clean.

The actual restaurant and bar was faultless. The welcome from the staff, the service, the attention to detail, the size of the portions, the quality of the food was all equally fantastic.

This family owned restaurant has got it all covered and would be a great lesson to so many out there that promise the world and offer a whole lot less.

It is truly a gem by the Thames, a 40 miunte drive from Central London and a lovely venue for a romantic rendezvous,business meal or special occassion.

  • Liked — Quaintness
  • Disliked — a bit dated
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank n3gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2006

A Charming and outstanding venue with a superb outlook of the Thames! A small family run hotel with an outstanding atmosphere and location, coupled with a relaxed yet professional ambiance. With state of the art information technology throughtout !

I had an excellent welcome after a hard day and it was so nice to be able to relax next to the Thames. It was an amazing dinning experience in a location which is second to none. It is wonderful to have such quality in such a relaxed atmosphere.

A wonderful hotel to combine business and pleasure so close to all key business links.

I look forward to my next visit

  • Liked — location and quality service
  • Disliked — no lifts
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a window table
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cjwhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

The French Horn is essentially a restaurant with rooms by the Thames. It has a very high opinion of itself, not fully borne out by the delivery.

First, the good stuff. The reception area/bar is cosy, open fire, warm, friendly. The restaurant itself is in large semicircular room attached to what was an old coaching Inn, and is well laid out, spacious, and has nice views down over the lawn. The service is very French - ie slightly acidic, clinical almost.

The food thinks it is epic (fancy french menus with elaborate descriptions) but is in fact ordinary - steak with sauce bearnaise was an ordinary steak with a goopy sauce. Piquant crab salad starter was simply cold (tinned? possibly) crab with what looked suspiciously like marie rose sauce on top. The petit-fours tasters were nice, but again not epic.

All this would be fine for, say, £30 a head, but it is actually£50 a head. The wine list is as good as its self esteem demands.

We had tea twice, once on arrival and once for breakfast. Both times we werent asked what kind we would like, and were simply given a pot of stewed builder's tea and no hot water.

The location should be great - "nestling by the thames with a sweeping lawn down to the river", but they omit to mention the main road that streams past the lawn.

The room was cosy and comfortable, except for the double bed, which was actually two singles with a sheet over the top. The bathroom was better than good.

DInner bed and breakfast for two with a good bottle of wine (£60), £350. I think that is a little high for what we got - should be about £250.

Hence my conclusion - this is a place which was once way above the market, maybe 25 years ago, and is now in coast mode. What a pity.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
372 reviews
6.6 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
511 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Horn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Horn Hotel

Property: French Horn Hotel
Address: Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Horn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your French Horn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel French Horn
French Horn Hotel Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing