We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some good some bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Berks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“some good some bad.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were at a wedding reception here and the food and party were great with a BBQ for the food there was plenty of choice, Burgers, chicken, sausage's, pawn and steak kebabs, stuffed peppers, and lots of salad bit and piece's. lots of things for the kids to do as well. The room however was a different story, tiered and small. ceiling paper hanging off with a 20 Yr+ television. Breakfast was nice with good choice. Left feeling a little disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room no 6 which over look the car park which was quite noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ady1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    111
    63
    42
    22
See reviews for
59
139
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

DEspite it is on a busy road, rooms are very silent. The location by the river Thames is very relaxiing an it is ideal both after a busy business day and also for a romantic night with your partner. The restaurant serves Amazing food and it really value for money. Weather permitting, al fresco dining in the garden overlooking thr Thames MUST be tried. Service is good and fast. Waiters are there when you need them, but they're not pestering you

Room Tip: RAtes are very variable. check before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good clean well posistioned Country Hotel ....just a wee bit too far out for the Henley Regatta (£20 by Taxi)...quaint rooms bags of character, although try and avoid the rooms in the road facing annexe as if its warm and you open the windows the traffice noise is BAD

Godd Breakfast and friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When we arrived, the receptionist gave us our room number (but didn't offer help with bags even though it was quite a hike up and down stairs and, although pretty active, we are middle aged and my husband has a broken toe. We don't usually accept help with bags, but it is unusual not to have it offered. On getting to the room, it was stiflingly hot, so we went down and complained. We were offered another room, but that smelt terrible, so we went for the first one and asked for a fan, which was brought. Later, once we were undressed for bed, I came to understand why the room was so hot. The large diameter pipe leading to the radiator was very hot, and there appeared to be underfloor heating on in the bathroom. Needless to say, the fan was not much use competing with this. The wall paper in the room was peeling and there was only one available power point, with an adaptor, so charging devices wasn't easy, and as it was right next to that hot pipe, when I did charge my phone the charger became alarmingly hot. The beds were comfortable enough, but were made up with sheets and some kind of tacky cheap nylon blanket, in my case with what looked remarkably like a cigarette burn on it. The location on the banks of the Thames should be nice, but the hotel is on a very busy road, so not quiet. Breakfast was good and they gave us some money off the room, but frankly I would have paid more not to have had the experience. There are nice hotels and average hotels which are similarly priced in the Reading/Henley/Earley area - no need to go to this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sonning-on-Thames hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

At The Great House in Sonning, holds a regular monthly Italian evening in their restaurant. The food is wonderful and great value. You even get a free glass of Presecoe with your meal. You do have to reserve your place but it is well worth it.

The night could be made special by staying in one of their suites. The staff are friendly and caring. Why not give the evening a try.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aroperofmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Sorry to say but the experience staying at the Great House was anything but Great, which was a shame because the staff I came into contact with were very pleasant and friendly.
My room was small, very dated, had a musty smell and was not the cleanest, my window opened directly onto the busy main road and I mean literally onto the main road which was extremely noisy to the point that I could not open it for the noise which made the room very stuffy.
I decided to have a bar meal there to avoid trying to battle with the continuous traffic going past, I ordered their burger and chips and to be honest that's exactly what came, there was no dressing or a bit of side salad just a couple of lettuce leaves and a slice of tomato on the burger, for £8.50 I did find this very disappointing, maybe I should of known what the quality was like as I was the only person eating there at the time.
The bed was very uncomfortable, probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had and needless to say was woken up at 5.45 a.m. with the noise of the traffic. I went to have breakfast a bit hesitant following my burger experience but found their buffet breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and helped yourself. However even though I enjoyed breakfast I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel interior is kitsch overdone 1980s paint effects.... Unfortunately I think it was last painted in the 80s and some othe floors and walls looked as if they were last cleaned in the 80s too. The breakfast was rather worse than one i recently enjoyed in a travel lodge. The draft beer served in the uncomfortable bar was stale. The position ensures it attracts custom ....little else about this hotel does.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drf00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Property: The Great House At Sonning
Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing