We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a second visit even better than the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House At Sonning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a second visit even better than the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have found this an excellent base for walking the thames path, helpful staff, good value accommodation, good breakfast. tjhe rooms are dated but comfortable, clean and good bathrooms and shower. thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank passthewordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    101
    60
    42
    22
See reviews for
53
125
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laxfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I booked a one night stop over at the Great House at Sonning after checking it out on Trip Advisor first. I was a little worried at some of the comments but it was good value booked via Booking .com at £49 for the night. The price advertised for a one person stop over is £112. Very steep!!!.
It was very easy to find sitting next to the river with a large car park for approximately 100 cars. The hotel is split in two with the original hotel building and a newer wing opposite. I walked into the reception that looked very smart. It was unoccupied but had instructions to dial 'o' for attention. I did so and no one appeared. I walked through to the bar and the barman then came out and dialled 'o'. Still no response. He eventually found a member of staff who could carry out the booking in procedure and with many apologies I was in. Apparently the phone had been switched off.
I was put in room 5 on the first floor. This was accessed via a flight of stairs. Very wide with a large chandelier hanging from the ceiling. I was expecting a single room but I was pleasantly surprised to find a large room with a double bed and large bathroom. You could have used this for a four day break let alone one night.
The bathroom was bright and had a powerful shower. The bedroom had a large window unfortunately not with a river view. The downside was the TV. It worked but was very old, not flat screen although it did have a digital box attached. If I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed.
The whole hotel was clean and comfortable apart from one cobweb I saw in the bathroom by the light fitting. It was a hot night and I slept with the window open but this unfortunately let the road noise in. Although Sonning is a village it suffers from quiet high traffic flow.
. The bar at the bottom of the stairs was lacking in atmosphere but as it was a pleasant evening I sat in the garden that overlooks the river. I ordered from a fixed price menu. The food was good not brilliant but reasonable value at £8.50 for a home made burger and fries. A good range of beers on sale but maybe 20-30 pence a pint dearer than pub prices.
Breakfast was served from 7.30am and as normal it was a choice of continental or full English or a mixture of the two. Mine was included in the £49 I paid but if purchased separately it was £10.95.
Service once the initial booking in was sorted out was very good with the staff being very friendly. I would use it again but only at a discount.

Room Tip: If possible book into the new block. The rooms are recently built and to a higher spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went for Sunday lunch as the pub is adjacent to the river and has a huge garden. There were a few private events but this didn't restrict you from sitting outside to enjoy the weather. The problem is the service and food. The first waitress we came across couldn't say much in English and had to find someone else to take our order. The Sunday menu is restricted to four choices per course and you could have a two r three course menu. We had a starter and main. The duck confit was bland which was disappointing and the pork with crackling also lacked flavour and oddly enough, crackling, it was just dry pork rind. The roast beef was good, but the two small slices insuffient. The head waiter was very attentive and although I wouldn't recommend the fixed menu, its very family focused and obviously popular.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sonning-on-Thames hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful setting alongside the river Thames in a quiet little village. The room was exceptional with a seperate lounge area to the bedroom and an ensuite. The food in the restaurant is very nice with a wide range to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were at a wedding reception here and the food and party were great with a BBQ for the food there was plenty of choice, Burgers, chicken, sausage's, pawn and steak kebabs, stuffed peppers, and lots of salad bit and piece's. lots of things for the kids to do as well. The room however was a different story, tiered and small. ceiling paper hanging off with a 20 Yr+ television. Breakfast was nice with good choice. Left feeling a little disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room no 6 which over look the car park which was quite noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ady1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

DEspite it is on a busy road, rooms are very silent. The location by the river Thames is very relaxiing an it is ideal both after a busy business day and also for a romantic night with your partner. The restaurant serves Amazing food and it really value for money. Weather permitting, al fresco dining in the garden overlooking thr Thames MUST be tried. Service is good and fast. Waiters are there when you need them, but they're not pestering you

Room Tip: RAtes are very variable. check before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good clean well posistioned Country Hotel ....just a wee bit too far out for the Henley Regatta (£20 by Taxi)...quaint rooms bags of character, although try and avoid the rooms in the road facing annexe as if its warm and you open the windows the traffice noise is BAD

Godd Breakfast and friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Property: The Great House At Sonning
Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing