We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but don't stay in room 29”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed in the Clock Tower a few weeks ago as and had a good stay, decent food and good service, although the neighbouring room doors slamming is a minor disturbance. However this time was put in room 29 - wish I had read the reviews here first! I would have preferred to have driven the hour to London to stay in my own bed. You can hear everything that goes on in the upstairs room (could hear the person snoring and the TV) including the WORST creaking floorboards (very loud) - kept me awake particularly as the person came in after 11pm, tromped around for a couple of hours and then got up at 4am and is now doing the same. I have to drive 2 hours this morning and feel wrecked. I have stayed in period properties like this elsewhere and cannot believe that they rent this room out - because of being put in this room I shall not be coming back. I would rather pay extra and know what I will have a quiet room. Shame as it's a really lovely place with good people. Clock Tower room was very clean, and have found the opposite in the present room - was ok i.e. bed, bathroom, etc, but plenty of dust, spiders and cobwebs in the corners of the room. I don't normally write reviews but Great House this room needs to come with a warning.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the Clock Tower if you need peace and quiet. Do not stay in room 29. Enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our own little house, the coach house. Very warm, very good facilities. Staff friendly. Chef even appeared at breakfast. Lovely buffet set out, delicious scrambled egg. Good choices. Beautiful setting on the river bank. Well done.

Room Tip: Try and get the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed on a last minute deal and paid only £99 for B&B for a double room. The room was spacious but the décor was in need of an update. One major issue I had was that despite it being quite a mild weekend the radiators in the room were on - it was unbearably warm. We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant and it was very pleasant. The high point of our stay was breakfast- the quality was outstanding especially the scrambled eggs. It was such a pity it was a damp drizzly morning or we would have taken advantage of the huge terrace overlooking the gardens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsetdumpling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Friend and I stayed here as we were visiting Nirvana Spa and fancied staying nearby overnight. The bedrooms were quite small and some areas needed some décor, however the beds were very comfy. The room was very hot but there was fan in there and you did get some noise in the morning from planes flying over. The breakfast was awful - Sausages not cooked!! and had to ask if you wanted pineapple juice! Having said all that the location was so pretty, right next to the river where you can walk along and watch the canal boats pass. The terrace at the hotel was also very pretty. Very quiet location but beautiful :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel123187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stopped in Room 29 with a bunch of work collegues. Looked pretty...

I have since learned that some of the rooms have been upgraded but this one is super "quaint"... and for that, you need to understand it's a journey back to 1970.

Smell, furnishings... the whole deal.

The setting in Sonning upon Thames is very pretty and the place has a number of "blocks".

Oak beams ? Yes, got those.
Creaking stairs ? - Tick.

Room 29 is a suite so you have 2 tv's, plenty of space, a nice sofa to relax and so on.
There is a very small wardrobe with a few coathangers and along with it, iron, hairdryer etc. Hey... whats that in the corner ? YES - a Corby Trouser Press. Alan Partridge would be pleased.

However... this place is very tired. I'll try to keep it factual. You have to decide if its for you

Peeling paint
I had a broken light by the bed - no bulb and the electrics prevented a new one being fitted
Plaster falling off the walls
Very worn carpets
Shower was blocked up (I cleaned it as best I could)
Rusty venetian blind in shower
No Shower curtain = wet floor
Broken fan in bathroom (the pull cord was put to one side)
Being ground floor, you get the sound of even the smallest mouse moving upstairs "Creak, creak" etc... you get the picture

Roadside location - so when all the traffic started turning up in the morning to go over the little bridge, you hear everything.

Bottom line:-

Super location
Normal facilities
Poor Decor
Poor / average condition

I didn't stop for breakfast, so cannot comment.

There you go... the Great House at Sonning - for me the distinctly average house. Sorry.. cannot lie.

Room Tip: If you are a traffic spotter or like brushing up on company car identification, then choose Room 29...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubsport911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked due to Reading being completely full. Arrived after a very slow journey due to the single lane bridge next to the hotel. Check-in good and fast. Room dated and dark shower good and bed good. No-one serving at bar and had to pick up the phone and dial zero for help. At 7.30pm. Really? Resteraunt good with reasonable menu. At check-out, again no one around so again had to pick up phone .... When someone came, there were 5 of us waiting.

Won't return, better options elsewhere. Disappointed as the location promised a lot more.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank PaulRachWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel was booked for us by a friend for a weekend family event, so we had no knowledge or preconceptions of the hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was very efficient and took us through the booking in process in minutes.
our room was across the car park.
The room consisted of a bedroom with a double bed, wide screen tv, desk and chair with ample electrical sockets if you needed to use a laptop etc etc. the usual tea/coffee making facilities, fruit bowl and complimentary bottles of water (sparkling/still) wardrobes with safe (our safe would not work, even house keeping could not get it working), two comfy chairs and a table and an iron and iron board.
The bath room had a bath with a shower over the bath (very powerful & plenty of hot water) two sinks & a mirror full length of wall above the sinks. also a hair dryer wired into the wall. The room was very well presented and looked as if it had recently been refitted. it was spotless. The brass electrical fittings were gleaming and not a smear to be found. the carpets spotless. The bed was sooo comfortable.
The public areas of the hotel were also very well kept and in good order.
All the staff that we had contact with were very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of a good standard. (not a cheap pink sausage to be found).
We also attended a function in the hotel and the food was excellent and well managed.
we were also able to arrange a two pm check out which was much appreciated.
Would I recommend The Great House to family and friends, MOST DEFINATELY!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
203 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £49 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing