We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business. I gave it a very good rating - just... The rooms in the main building are slightly tired and can be noisy but are comfortable. The rooms in the annex (Clocktower) are far nicer for business travelers. There is good wireless access to the internet and the restaurant is decent. One of the best features of this hotel is it's position on the Thames river. In the mornings I like to walk along the river towards Sonning lock in one direct or past the Uri Geller monument into the countryside in the other direction.

Room Tip: The Clocktower rooms are much better and quiter than those on the main building but lack the 'ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been coming to Berkshire for a large number of years. However, this was the first time we decided to stay overnight at The Great House.
We found every single member of staff very pleasant and accommodating. Check in was friendly and relaxed. We were escorted to our room and the facilities were explained to us.
Dinner that evening was very good indeed and we were assured that the chef uses local produce which is a bonus.
The bar was quiet but exactly what we wanted .. so we could enjoy our coffees and brandy.
Breakfast was delicious...
Thank you for allowing to stay a bit longer in the room on the morning of departure .. made a world of difference.
We will certainly return and stay again!

Room Tip: The Clock Tower rooms are very big and spacious ... definitely worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conncernedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I organised a family party for 25 people, at fairly short notice, and the staff were extremely helpful right from booking, with several iterations of people who might come, to setting up the private room and finding a screen for us, to serving throughout. They even posted on my nephew's mislaid phone. Dinner & breakfast were good too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank bendangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the "Great House" for Valentines Day and chose the dinner, bed & breakfast package. Upon arrival we went to Reception and were greeted by a member of staff who gave us the key to our "Executive" room, he pointed in the general direction of the clock tower and did not offer any assistance with our cases - we carried and pulled them across the car park in the pouring rain to our room.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean and spacious and well appointed. Dinner was very nice and the service good, the full english breakfast cannot be praised too highly (excellent) For such an old hotel (parts of which date back to the 16th century) the bars and common areas are totally lacking in character - dare I say bland and boring. After dinner we went to the bar for coffee and a nightcap. Instead of a roaring fire burning in the grate, we had the pleasure of sitting near a modern gas effect log fire - very disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms in the"Clock Tower" With automatic entrance doors it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We did our twins christening here for 40 people and the staff could not have been more helpful and professional to make the day a great success. Food was good and everyone got exactly what was pre ordered- We had an "open" bar and the prices of wine and beer was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searchingforthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A variety of rooms, across a number of buildings. Some modern, some quirky. The quirky ones can have squeaky floorboards, uneven floors etc, so if you think this will bother you ask for a modern room (I like the old ones).
Friendly staff, reception staff very accommodating - should have no problem getting the kind of room that you want, but could be helpful to phone ahead and reserve in case they are very full.
Breakfast is excellent and seems to be inclusive (I've stayed a number of times, on a number of rates and deals, each time breakfast was included.
The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. The garden is bordered by the river (upper reaches of the Thames), where you are likely to see swans. I've sat on the bank of the river and had swans come up to me until I could almost touch them.
The surrounding countryside is unspoilt. I recommend a walk across the river and a visit to the Theatre (probably need to book ahead) - look for "The Mill at Sonning". Also, if the weather is nice, a walk into the village (you can take a shortcut through the churchyard) brings you to The Bull where you can enjoy a drink and/or a meal in the open air.

Room Tip: If you want to try a "quirky" room - try to get one in the annexe (by the entrance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everyone has their own opinion on restaurants and staff service. If you visit the Great House you will not be disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to be of help. The choice of food is excellent and served beautifully. The only thing that let's them down at times is portion control, otherwise quality is first rate. Choice of wines is first rate and if you speak with Gianni, he gives you a fair and sound advice on what wine is best. If you don't believe us. Why not give them a try.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroperofmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#1 of 31 in Reading
557 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £58 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing