We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue for a group event.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here on an organised group event. The staff were extremely helpful and made the stay (2 nights) very enjoyable. There were 40 guests in our party but, despite there being a wedding with considerably more guests just next door, we were served very efficiently and quickly by the restaurant team and neither event impacted on the other.
Rooms were nicely furnished although ours was on the top floor of the Clock Tower building and extremely warm. A fan was provided on request.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelvideoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We popped in here for drinks with visiting friends as a change to the Bull Inn. We were disappointed with the decor, tatty flooring and general disrepair. The staff were very polite and welcoming but we only stayed for one drink and went back to the Bull as the atmosphere was none existent whereas the Bull was bouncing. I understand the new owners will be carrying our a refurbishment programme, its desperately needed! I dont think we will be going back until this has been done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drewreadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Shabby worn out rooms. Horrible cheap blankets and sheets. Bathroom was worn, extractor not working, had to ask for towels. Decor must be based on the dreams of someone who had taken something strong and let loose, see paint job on room doors for example.
Some staff very unhelpful, we were refused a meal choice which had already been agreed on check in, after a firm demand back at reception we got the meal. It was FRESH fish that had been put away for the night, so how old does fresh get in this place.
Generally it needs a refurb and proper staff training, in some cases they need a "can do" attitude instead of looking at the clock and saying
"too late"

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyrochford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed overnight and enjoyed the location , very good service and excellent food at dinner and breakfast.

Overall staff could not have done more to make the stay enjoyable and the room in the annexe clock tower was very spacious including large ensuite ( still to work out why two wash basins?).

Grounds are impressive and walk along the river would have been ideal without the rain-not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe rooms- modern and spacious important but away from the bar and road which is of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SELEMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Able to book at a particularly good rate. Good welcome at reception and straightforward checkin. Large room with four poster. Pity I was alone! Hotel showing signs of age. Excellent view over the Thames though makes it all worthwhile. Good breakfast included. Would definitely come and stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went to celebrate my friend's birthday at Great House!
We had dinner with the kids :)
That was my 2nd time there and I had exactly what I expected :)
We had 3 course meal with wine!
Our dinner was delicious the service was excellent :)
The staff was very kind they even put a candle to my friend's pudding what was a very kind thing
Thank you all of them who worked that night
We had an excellent dinner with lots of nice memories :)
Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tazsuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at The Great House last Saturday. Our room in the Clock Tower (junior suite) was lovely, so spacious and spotless. We dined at lunchtime enjoying mackerel pate, sirloin steak, homemade burger and shared an Eton Mess, each course was delicious. The setting is super, lovely terrace to sit and enjoy some sunshine and a glass or two! The full english breakfast on Sunday morning was gorgeous, made even better by the super organisation by Dawn (Reception) and the chef to be served in our room as a special treat. What really makes this a lovely place to stay is the staff, Dawn on Reception, the lovely Italian waitress who looked after us through lunch on Saturday, the other waiting staff, sorry, don't know the names, were so fabulous, thank you! Nothing is too much trouble. I didn't want to leave!! We will be back as soon as we are able. Thank you to you all for making our stay so relaxing and special.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Clock Tower, spacious and quiet with easy access lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: £58 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing