We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb situation by the Thames.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House At Sonning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb situation by the Thames.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion last weekend. It was our first visit to this hotel & we were absolutely delighted with the setting adjoining the Thames with the Mill theatre conveniently situated just opposite,so we combined a theatre visit into our weekend.
Our room was spacious although a little disappointing. It lacked TLC which wouldn`t have cost a fortune to implement. The secondary glazing was ineffective & partially broken which meant,due to the location of our room in the annexe,we had the noise of traffic until very late at night.
The en suite bathroom was excellent,although when we arrived all the toiletries it consisted of was a shower cap.This was rectified by reception on application. The T.V.took some working out & we could have done with some instructions. There was a generous selection of coffees & teas on offer in the room, although the kettle leaked.
The breakfast choice was excellent,although the untrained waiters brought our cooked breakfasts out before we had finished cereal on both mornings & in one case before we had even started it. My kippers were beautifully cooked.
The staff were all very friendly,but staff training is lacking.
Our special function lunch was very good & well served & made it a day to remember.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughj191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    101
    60
    42
    22
See reviews for
53
125
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here while attending the Henley Regatta. Great location and gardens. Under new managment and has so much potential. The bedroom was only ok, no quilt, and the walk in wardrobe was dirty. Breakfast whilst served in the lovely gardens took an eternity. Will probably stay there next year with our friends just to see if it has improved!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommotomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a christening in a nearby village. It is approximately 30 mins from Heathrow to Sonning, so this is a very convenient location for Henley and its surroundings. I had a very warm welcome from the receptionist, who was friendly and efficient. She explained to me that there was a wedding reception taking place that evening but that she had put me in a quiet location, for which I was very grateful! The hotel is split up into several buildings, and I was in a very old part called the Palace Yard. Stepping into the hallway was like a bad trip back to the 70's, which is when I think this part of the hotel last saw any decoration! My room was water stained and just had a look of total neglect about it, which is a shame as there was nothing really wrong with the room. It was quiet, the bed was ok, the bathroom was decent, and there was wi-fi available - but with a bit of an update, this would be a lovely room. Also be warned, the walls in this part are very thin and you can hear everything from your neighbours!! Breakfast is served in one of 2 restaurants - there is a small choice of cold and hot food, but it was all ok. There are 2 bars and a nice beer garden looking onto the river. These parts of the property are much more attractive! All staff I met were very friendly and helpful and overall this was a pleasant stay, and yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a little tired...but, personally this wasn't an issue for me. With a beautiful courtyard to sit and have drink on and beautiful grounds to look at, why would you stay in your room. Breakfast got a gold star. Would stay again for pleasure or business.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Great House used to have a hideous chain-link fence separating the grounds from the Thames. Ridiculous idea which has thankfully been removed. Jolly good. Staff as pleasant as ever, rooms functional, but generally ok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wooand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for Business at the start of June and found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. The food was enjoyable and pleasing to the eye although the room service menu is limited. Breakfast was done well with a variety of options from a light bite to a full cooked breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubzbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms were not clean......Blood on door frames....blood on white bath towels, stains around light switches and wall, sink had lime scale stains......bedd had blanket with holes in it........
We complained and were offered to be moved or the room cleaned as we had started to unpack and were there for a friends party......we opted to have the room cleaned !!!!!! not very well.....the receptionist stated she had clean it with flash !!! as the housekeeper had gone home.
We stayed as we didnt want to spoil our friends party.....We asked for a reduction on our bil and was given £20 !!!!...would not go back, it was a disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missJuly1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sonning-on-Thames hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Property: The Great House At Sonning
Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing