We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointing, always a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House At Sonning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never disappointing, always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I thought I just had to say how amazing this place is.
I first went when we were looking for wedding venues, I can tell you we did decide to get married here and it was just as perfect as we could have hopped for, from the excellent staff to the food to the rooms. We loved it!!
I have been back since, for our first anniversary when once again we were treated exceptionally, and more recently we took my parents there for their Ruby Wedding Anniversary, its was a hot summers evening and they had a wedding in full swing but the food and service did not suffer, it was another perfect visit to The Great House. I honestly cannot say how much my family and I love this place!!
Well will be going back soon I am sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    101
    60
    42
    22
See reviews for
53
125
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have travelled across the UK recently conducting conferences with clients. Although the hotel was rather charming, and the grounds along the Thames were nice to walk through, the service on offer for businesses could be improved. With our guests spending lots of cash with us, we expect to portray this across, however the Great House at Sonning served cold coffee, and were rather slow at re-filling milk etc as required. Attention to detail is crucial, and with a little more effort i feel this property could do so much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Three of us stopped over while traveling up the Thames, a useful venue with free mooring.

At last they have removed the fence and this morning trimming all the trees so at last the Thames can been seen from the terrance and garden, genius! The gardens are a lovely place to sit in the evening, it's worth visiting for this alone.

The rooms are quite basic but the bathroom was good, thankfully they also provided a large fan, essential for a very warm evening. The whole venue is quite tired but it this was reflected in the price of the room so a reasonable balance.

It's clear the new management are trying much harder which should be commended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed on a Monday night which was in the middle of a two day workshop. Had lunch both days and breakfast on the Tuesday.

Lunch was taken on the lovely terrace with views over the Thames but service and knowledge of staff was woefully lacking and had to ask for condiments three times and also side orders were completely forgotten. When we got the food it was OK nothing more.

My room had received a fair bit of sunshine during the day and was like an oven when I arrived to have a shower and head out for dinner. It did cool down a little by the time I got back but a very uncomfortable night was endured and oh how I longed for air con. I realize that in England this is not always a reality but surely closing curtains during day so guest check in to a moderately cool room would make sense.

Breakfast was standard fare and no complaints, well ok they served toast that looked like it had just been passed over a light bulb very quickly.

So in summary not a horrible place but a few things for the hotel to consider before I have to stay there again in a month !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This Hotel is so disappointing. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast is not bad at all, in fact there is a good choice and its all freshly made. But the Hotel itself is a bit of a mess and needs serious renovation. Its located on the Thames and has a lovely position in what is a fantastic little village. The lawns of the hotel run down to the river and you can sit out on the patio area and have a pre-dinner drink. All sound great doesn't it. But its not. Its all a bit of a mess in truth, the room and corridors are dirty, the bathrooms are the same and the entire place is just tired and lacking investment and importantly there is no attention to detail at all. It wouldn't be so bad if it was simple, clean and offered basic facilities but it clearly aspires to be something that falling desperately short of. I'm sorry to give a bad review but I'm just being honest, because it could be a very special place, unfortunately it definitely isn't.

Room Tip: We had a room above reception area. This wasn't good because deliveries were made at around 6.30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARK_CHRISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sonning-on-Thames hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here on our last night in the UK, and couldn't get over the size of our room. (perfect for the re-packing of cases that neede to be done). Size and Quality. Our room was one of the Executive Clocktower Rooms and was as good as you will find anywhere. We enjoyed a walk along the Thames & sat in the garden watching boats an the birdlife go past while enjoying a drink from the bar. Our dinner was superb as was the service throughout. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for the first time last month and spent 2 nights in the older part of the hotel - I have to say the room was on its last legs decor & comfort wise and needs serious money spent to bring it up to a reasonable standard - no air conditioning in the room in the middle of a very hot day is not good - it is a shame because the layout and location of the hotel is stunning - right on the banks of the River Thames - did not have dinner here however breakfast whilst quality was good took a long time to be served - never understand how a simple English breakfast can take so long to serve

Room Tip: Ask if they have any with air con - suspect the new part will be better than the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WerdnerR302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Property: The Great House At Sonning
Address: Thames Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing