We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£115
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£103
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£88
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gill C
Douglas, United Kingdom
Luxury and value
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024
Stayed one night after a family get-together in the area. Had a Biggy Double with a river view. It wasn't that "biggy" but the bed was big (six footer) and there was generous space around it. It was warm, very warm, and we had to open a window during the night. Better than being cold! The shower room wasn't huge but it was well set out. Plenty of shelf space to put your stuff, nice towel warmer and the bath towels were decently sized. Full sized toiletries by the sink and in the shower had writing on the labels that I could read without my glasses - often a problem when you have to scout the bottles with glasses on and then remember which was which when you are in the shower. Full sized kettle in the room and plenty of tea/coffee choices with 2 of every type. Great restaurant. Relaxed with good service and excellent food at reasonable prices (especially considering where you are). Dinner was beyond reproach and breakfast was vast and well cooked. Extra marks for the tall glass of pink grapefruit juice with a slice of fruit and ice cubes.
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£143
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Expedia.com
    £143
  • Priceline
    £143
0.1 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£115
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £103
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Priceline
    £115
0.0 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£50
  • Expedia.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
    £50
  • Agoda.com
    £50
1.0 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
£135
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £135
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Tripadvisor
    £135
1.0 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£58
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £50
  • Priceline
    £53
  • Agoda.com
    £50
2.2 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £105
2.3 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Fitness centre
Hotels.com
£140
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £140
  • Tripadvisor
    £140
2.5 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Restaurant
A view from our balcony
Booking.com
£122
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £122
2.6 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£75
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Expedia.com
£53
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £53
  • Agoda.com
    £25
  • Travelodge
    £25
2.7 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sonning on Thames
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
952
387
152
93
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
952
387
152
93
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coppa club clock tower jar of sweets fresh milk family suite lovely hotel little touches coach house thames path car park main building deluxe room wedding venue lovely room great shower river view a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2024

What a surprise we were both delighted with the cosy double and the cost. The room was clean and spacious lovely full size fridge in the room that’s a treat. Bathroom huge and only cost 100.00 per night and in the beautiful Sonning ! we have stayed in five star accommodation and four times the cost and it didn’t match the great house. Beautiful settings and easy access to the Thames. Well done to The Great House

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

We are over the moon to see we were able to deliver on all fronts and still impress! We hope you'll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Lovely welcome upon arrival. Stayed in the family suite with our grandchildren which was amazing, large and spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was huge and spotless.
We ordered 'mocktails' at the bar when we arrived for the kids and we had nespresso martinis which were perfect.
The food in the restaurant was delicious and the childrens' menus were good portions with a good choice. The only suggestion I would make is that the wine list is updated to include some better quality wines and that someone is there to advise on the wines too. The staff are all delightful and helpful.
Breakfast was served till 10.30 weekends and 11.30 during the week.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

AMAZING REVIEW! We are over the moon to see we impressed from stay to finish and hope you won't prove a stranger and book again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

My Biggy room was really comfortable and had loads of space, super helpful staff and fabulous dinner and breakfast in the Coppa Club. Thanks agian for a wonderful stay, looking forward to some better weather to get back out in the garden, see you again soon.

Room tip: If you are having dinner, give yourself some extra time in the lounge to try the fabulous cocktails.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Canaries1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thrilled to see our hotel and staff were able to make your stay a great one! We hope you'll come and stay again super soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

Lovely location and place! Peter on the front desk was a gem for our late check-in (delayed coming out of London). Personal and professional! Thank you all for a lovely break away! We will definitely try and get back again sometime soon and enjoy more of the area!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Viktor3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

What a fabulous review, we are thrilled to see you loved your stay with us, we are certainly very lucky to have Peter in our team, well and truly a gem! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

After our 6th visit to this hotel, I've decided to write about the great, even exceptional (!) service that we have been received.

My husband and I are about to complete a house purchase nearby and we often use this hotel as a base.

After trying many other local establishments, we have decided that The Great House is simply the best!

The staff on reception, in particular a gentleman by the name of Sam. (He even recognises my husbands voice on the phone. Quite impressive indeed.)

I would also like to point out the service staff in the restaurant. We have yet to come across any negativity. They have always been very efficient and eager to please.

It is good to note that I have had a 30 year career in the hotel and restaurant industry- so not easily impressed ;-)

This hotel group deserves to succeed.

Room tip: Easy parking on premises - once you get through the traffic getting through the village.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank STEVIE1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Certainly my favourite review of the month! We are thrilled you and your husband feel so at home with us at The Great House and I know I speak for the whole team when I say we hope to see you back again soon and can't wait to see your Barbie & Ken picutes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews