We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
£76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
AgathaChristie2012
Singapore, Singapore

Gorgeous and Comfortable Riverside Inn

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2024via mobile
The room was extremely comfortable -nice bedding and toiletries - and I am picky! Aesthetically lovely and very English. We loved the daily supply of tea and biscuits and the room was always cleaned beautifully, including the roll top tub! A+! We stayed almost three weeks while visiting relatives in Sonning and we will definitely be back!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Ask for tub or shower room.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Official Site
0.1 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Henley on Thames
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £54
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £49
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Fitness centre
Tripadvisor
£140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £140
2.5 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £29
  • Vio.com
    £26
  • Travelodge
2.7 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free parking
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£44
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
2.8 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£98
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £98
2.8 miles from The Great House at Sonning
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sonning on Thames
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
955
388
152
93
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
955
388
152
93
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coppa club clock tower jar of sweets fresh milk family suite lovely hotel little touches coach house thames path car park main building deluxe room wedding venue lovely room great shower river view a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024

Staff are simply amazing, we checked in and they provided us with a wonderful room with a river view, couldn’t be happier.
Thank you very much for your kind hospitality. Restaurant is a hit too - lovely food. Highly recommend for a short stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

What a fantastic find.. I was looking for somewhere relatively close to Windsor but a bit more rural and stumbled upon this place. It was so welcoming, lots of comfy seats to just chill and relax in the bar area and a lovely restaurant, and noticed they had some igloos if that’s your vibe! Would check booking in for your evening meal - it’s a popular spot and can be busy. I opted for taking breakfast and booked direct - worked cheaper that way. Had a lovely breakfast both mornings. Room was great with very good facilities. Staff super friendly, so all in all would warmly recommend this spot (Dog friendly also!)!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank saoaasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed here with family and two dogs and really enjoyed our stay!
Rooms were comfortable and very clean with everything you need to feel at home.
Our dogs were also made very welcome with a doggy pack each.
We had dinner in the evening in one of the outside igloos which was fun and felt special.
Food was very good and prices reasonable. All staff were very attentive and happy.
Being situated so close to the river was great for a walk along the towpath with our dogs.
All in all a really nice stay!

Room tip: Good parking here- best to arrive at check in time to secure a space There are a few steps to some rooms so ask if you have mobility issues
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lindarX6348QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Stayed one night after a family get-together in the area. Had a Biggy Double with a river view. It wasn't that "biggy" but the bed was big (six footer) and there was generous space around it. It was warm, very warm, and we had to open a window during the night. Better than being cold! The shower room wasn't huge but it was well set out. Plenty of shelf space to put your stuff, nice towel warmer and the bath towels were decently sized. Full sized toiletries by the sink and in the shower had writing on the labels that I could read without my glasses - often a problem when you have to scout the bottles with glasses on and then remember which was which when you are in the shower. Full sized kettle in the room and plenty of tea/coffee choices with 2 of every type. Great restaurant. Relaxed with good service and excellent food at reasonable prices (especially considering where you are). Dinner was beyond reproach and breakfast was vast and well cooked. Extra marks for the tall glass of pink grapefruit juice with a slice of fruit and ice cubes.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

What a fab review! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us at The Great House and hope we will see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

What a surprise we were both delighted with the cosy double and the cost. The room was clean and spacious lovely full size fridge in the room that’s a treat. Bathroom huge and only cost 100.00 per night and in the beautiful Sonning ! we have stayed in five star accommodation and four times the cost and it didn’t match the great house. Beautiful settings and easy access to the Thames. Well done to The Great House

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samuel Reception Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Great House at Sonning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

We are over the moon to see we were able to deliver on all fronts and still impress! We hope you'll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews