We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and uncomfortable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Inn at Streatley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bull Inn at Streatley
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and uncomfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here whilst at a friend's wedding nearby. The welcome was warm enough and on first viewing of our room it seemed okay, compact and bijou. Let's just say it was lucky that we were there for a wedding and not for a relaxing weekend away, wanting to spend time in our room as the bed was the most uncomfortable we've ever slept in. It didn't mould to our shapes at all and we both ended up with bad backs. The rooms are dated but that's not normally an issue if it's just the decor but the television was very old and the remote barely worked and there also seemed to be a plastic sheet underneath the cotton one which was very off putting! The bathroom again was dated but it was the shower that really let it down. We even joked before using it that it looked like one that might struggle with water pressure and how right we were. Whilst I was taking a shower the water stopped because the next door bathroom was being cleaned and they were running the taps!!

I didn't know how much this room was as my husband had booked it and when we checked out and I found it was £70 I was shocked. I wouldn't even pay £50 a night for that room. The entire hotel/pub just felt tired and run down and needs a general kick up the backside. If you need to stay in the area, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsportraits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    24
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

The Bull was our seventh stay on our Thames Path walk. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon when the pub was closed, but were met on the sidewalk by Alison (the owner) and shown immediately to our rooms (after helping us wash the layers of mud from our boots).

Dinner was a treat and the treacle sponge with clotted cream for afters is not to be missed.

Alison also prepared us packed lunches to take away with us for our continued walk the next day, a very nice touch indeed.

No, The Bull is not a five star hotel with all of the latest amenities and hasn't been refurbished in the last few years, but it is clean, welcoming and an honest pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak_f800st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

the rooms where clean but very dated the welcome was missing (non existing) the television was tiny and old and the bath was just for standing in, the lady and the girl staff were pleasant but the man in charge didnt really want to know and was rude, we had to put up with him hoovering both mornings while eating breakfast, he insisted on being paid in cash (no cards or cheques etc) and he told us off for being 5 minutes late vacating our rooms at 10-05 in the morning, i was not suprised when the pub was empty at 11-o-clock on friday night. was glad to leave..........

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived at the Bull soaked and exhausted from our day's walk along the Ridgeway. We couldn't have had a warmer welcome, despite turning up in mid-afternoon when the pub was closed. Seeing the state we were in, our host ushered us to our room quickly, offered to tumble-dry any wet clothes, and asked if we would like a beer.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with four-poster bed and sofa. We were very pleased to find it had a bath (although it was a short one). The decor was a little tired, but that doesn't bother me.

We had dinner in the bar, and were served good and tasty pub grub by friendly staff. Breakfast was also very good - well cooked and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelC_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, England
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Poor customer service & poor booking procedures!

Having booked the hotel 2 weeks previously by telephone, I was a little surprised on arrival that the landlady told me she had no booking for me & that there was no room available. Understandably, mistakes are sometimes made, but the way the landlady dealt with the problem was unnaceptable.

As I was a lone female on a week's walking holiday with a dog, this left me few other opportunites. Other than suggesting that I had booked by mistake with another local pub, also called The Bull (which I later checked and was not true), no help was offered to find alternative accomodation.

I would save yourself the trouble & book into The John Barleycorn down the road, a much more welcoming reception!

  • Liked — Nothing, didn't get the chance to look at it!
  • Disliked — The booking procedure & service on arrival.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank vetbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Inn at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Inn at Streatley

Property: Bull Inn at Streatley
Address: Reading Road | Nr Reading, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull Inn at Streatley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely old hotel with 6 bedrooms that have currently had a makeover, free breakfast with every stay. Monday nights is grill night, Wednesday is curry night and two dine for £20 on thursdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bull Inn at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Inn At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing