We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxing Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bull Inn at Streatley
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Seven for lunch on Boxing Day....we knew the kitchen was short-staffed and under stress but it didn't show. Drinks and food served promptly and everything was "as ordered". Many thanks to Matt and Tom for their excellent attention throughout.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank A1Villager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

We arrived on a chilly December afternoon, and were quickly sipping hot chocolates to warm up.
A table was found for us (quite a tight fit in an alcove, but comfortable enough when we'd shuffled into our seats!), and the soup starter left us pleasantly warm. Our main courses were well presented and very tasty. (I particularly recommend the Beef & Ale pie.)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The bull has been taken over recently and the meals and service are great. Off there again tonight! Good pub food at great value and family friendly. I would reccomend it and have been there regularly with my family (old and young) there are steep steps coming in from the car park but you are able to walk around the building to get in at a road level

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlyne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I rate any hotel I stay in by the bathroom, and sadly this really was a let down. Some of the reviews from last year made me rather nervous about staying here, but the more recent reviews suggest that there have been big improvements - which there have been.
The bed was comfy (and a four poster), it was clean and tidy, but the bathroom was in serious need of an update and the shower wasn't great, sometimes it was no more than a trickle. This was mentioned at check out, and the owner apologised and say that it is one of the many things that they working to improve.
We did eat while here and the food was good, pretty standard pub grub.

They have a lovely beer garden, and it was busy the whole time we were there - which is a very positive sign.

I would go back, and I really hope that the owners are able to keep on with all the improvements.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Awful welcome in grubby barr room disgusting with filthy shower that had pipes removed sticky carpet just a dive
OK meal but dog allowed to sit on bench next to me in bar while staff stroke its head then serve food
breakfast poor aldi style with waitress and chef using foul language at each other,complained but not interested

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeygSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Ok I'll start by saying this isn't the BEST eating place in the area when it comes to the food (although the food is good). But if you are in an area that is spoilt for choices when it comes to Bistro pubs, high quality restaurants etc its always going to be a bit difficult to compete.

That said, the thing that makes this pub so good is the price v quality of food. We went in there a couple of weeks back on the Curry Night and had a Curry, Rice (or Chips) with Poppadom, Sauce and a PINT!!! all for £6.95. At these kind of prices you get what you pay for and this pub does not fail to deliver. The food is as I said, not the best but is excellent when you consider the price in these harsh economical times. The Bull appears to be trying to spark of the return of good old fashioned pub grub at a more reasonable price. Pubs over recent years have gone down the Bistro route and tended to have stuck a bit of lettuce in the £5 burger and called it "garnished" and therefore squeeze £10 out of you.

The Bull as I said is banging a drum for good old fashioned pub grub at a great price. Not only that the pub was packed on a Monday night which is more than can be said for a lot of pubs in the area. It is in a stunning location, the people are friendly, the food is not pretentious and you are getting exactly what you pay for. I have been to many places in the area that claim to provide high quality food and paid a lot of money only to have been let down by the delivery.

Total cost for 5 curries and 5 pints for 5 people came to around £34....beat that if you can !!!
It is a more realistic price when you consider the amounts that other pubs are charging for similar quality.

The Bull is truly a gem and should be applauded for triggering a Great British Pub revival (certainly in this area).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbpmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed at the Bull whilst travelling between Heathrow and Harrogate for business. I chose this place because I'm fed up with the boring, bog-standard Crowne Plaza type hotels. And being from Australia, I'm always ready to take a punt.

Basically I found the the service and the comfort of the rooms to be more than acceptable. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Compared to some of the dodgy places that I've stayed at in the Aussie outback, this place was brilliant. OK, it's not Raffles or the Peninsula, but for an English Inn I'd say it's pretty awesome.

Would happily stay here again. Unlikely that I'll have the opportunity though.

Room Tip: Call in advance to choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
635 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Streatley on Thames
YHA Streatley on Thames
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Inn at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Inn at Streatley

Address: Reading Road | Nr Reading, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: £66 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull Inn at Streatley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely old hotel with 6 bedrooms that have currently had a makeover, free breakfast with every stay. Monday nights is grill night, Wednesday is curry night and two dine for £20 on thursdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bull Inn at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Inn At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing