We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan at Streatley
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak(Yattendon)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Wallingford)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
215
197
104
61
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
197
104
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorengoverlooking the riversuperb locationafternoon teathe ground floorevening mealbar areastayed for one nightstreatleyweddingrefurb
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we stayed one night the room was most comfortable dinner excelent breakfastat 7 was good

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

There is not much wrong with this hotel. The rooms are lovely, the spa is good.

The hotel receptionist could do with some customer care training and stop accusing clients of not booking twin rooms etc. She was most unfriendly and her accent made her sound more stern than she probably was, this puts you off when its the first face you see.

The young man on reception in the spa needs to know that the customers needs come before his own but the two young ladies who do the treatments in the spa are great, helpul and friendly.

The problem this hotel has is with the food, they advertise that they are in the michelin guide, but what good chef would serve scallops with microwaved chicken wings!

The breakfast was straight out of Fawlty Towers, they can't cook toast or poached eggs (they weren't available as they kitchen had no vinegar!) The service is also pretty poor at breakfast and the staff don't bother to clean the used tables between guests.

The hotel also has a draconian anti smoking policy, you can't even smoke outside on the balconies or on the outside tables.

Other than the above, the hotel is in a beautiful setting and its very tranquil, room service and the bar staff are very helpful and friendly. The drinks are very pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelfside63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We liked the location and the walks nearby. The Hotel certainly has a pleasant first impression and the receptionist was very welcoming. The room was large with a four poster bed which looked nice. Now this is where things are not quite as good. The lighting in the room was inadequate to read by after dark and the bathroom was very poor and in need of refurbishment.

Breakfast was fairly standard fare although I’m still mystified as to how we could be refused poached eggs (which were on the menu) because they weren’t ready!!! How long does it take to poach an egg?

To sum up, the hotel was pleasant, but I would expect a better bathroom for a four star hotel (we had a far superior bathroom on a recent stay an Ibis Hotel). I was happy because of the rate we got from Bookings.com but I would have been disappointed with value for money had I paid the advertised rate on the hotel’s own website.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyingtotheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was planned as a romantic night away. Everything was right on target right from the word go.When we booked in we were told that our reservation had been upgraded to a river facing room. The view from the room was superb, the room was just as we wanted it to be. As one might imagine dinner was a Valentines themed menu. I am not usually a fan of 'nouvelle cuisine',but found it easy to make an exception. Breakfast the following morning was to the same standard. Even the napkins were linen (Rather unusual for breakfast these days.) This was a return visit after a lengthy gap. In that time the hotel has lost none of its charm, nor has the attention to detail given by the staff. .

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our party of four has just returned from a New Years break at the Swan and have had a wonderful time. Every aspect of our stay was planned by the hotel to provide a great experience. Our rooms were spacious and had a spectacular view over the river. The location of the Swan is one of the most beautiful on the Thames.
The New Years celebrations started with a Champagne reception and the hotel were very generous with the champagne and continually topped up our glasses. Dinner was served in the beautiful riverside restuarant and the food was delicious. A six course meal was served and was to a very high standard. All the guest were in high spirits for the evening ahead. After dinner we were led through to the function room where we were seated at our tables and a live band entertained us for the rest of the evening. The staff were still on hand to top up our drinks and at twelve the band connected us to the sound of Big Ben. It was a great evening and everyone danced the night away.
The rest of the stay was thoroughly enjoyable as we took walks along the river and relaxed in the drawing rooms reading the newspapers. I would definately recommend this break to my friends and hope to go back there again myself. I would like to thank the staff and management of the Swan for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews