We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastic staff who deserve better management support.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. And as mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is going through new ownership and refurbishment. My wife and I stayed Saturday, 8th of June. Lunch was a bit slow Saturday but staff were trying hard to accommodate a busy service. Lunch itself was fine. In the evening, we had dinner and the service was better; food again good but not great, same menu as lunchtime which was a bit disappointing. Seemed to be a few guys in suits scurrying about trying to manage the staff but they just seemed to get in the way. Our standard room was comfotable and breakfast was again OK. So, bottom line is: staff are friendly and trying hard to please; food is OK but the new chef who, I understand, arrives next week should make a difference; accommodation is acceptable but refurbishment should make it so much better; and the enthusiastic staff deserve better support from their management.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorgeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had booked another hotel in the area which had badly let us down at the last minute. We had stayed at the Swan a few years back and thought the setting was amazing but the hotel was due for some TLC. We walked into reception and explained our situation to Max who was extremely helpful. He showed us a room on the second floor overlooking the Thames, which was a very good size and which we were more than happy to take. It was very comfortable and clean and fitted our needs perfectly. There is ongoing refurbishment but this did not detract from the wonderful setting, great food and service. The staff could not do enough for us and were extremely well mannered,and cheerful. We had a DBB deal which was very reasonable, the food was very well presented in a light and airy dining area. It was wonderful to have lunch on the outside terrace watching the river, the wildlife and pretty gardens. We cannot thank the staff enough for rescuing us and making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Various reviews had me worried about the Swan-on arrival the staff were very friendly and our room (14) was in a great location above the hotel overlooking the river. A lovely balcony with a table-but no chairs! A little tatty and tired.
The room was exceptionally clean but very dated,with an 80's chintz and patterned carpet motif.
It would not take much to update the rooms if they are all of a similar 'fussy' design. The pool facilities are great-no problems.
Now to the bar/food-the staff are thoroughly disorganised,we were the only diners and they struggled to serve us! Initial menu choices were unavailable and the £14 antipasti platter came with one small slice of bread;commented on by the waiter who went off to find more and never returned!
The food was good but I feel that on a busy evening it would be chaos due to the poor service.
An excellent location in need of an equally excellent manager.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartyharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a last minute night at the hotel .We had looked at the tripadvisor comments for this hotel,we thought its was worth a try. It was! The hotel is a little 80,s faded our room was a bit knocked at the edges but very clean with a beautiful view of the Thames. Every member of staff we met said hello and smiled.We were able to sit and eat on the terrace for afternoon tea and drinks well served and nice food. Dinner was in the newly refurbished dining room. The lounge has been done and is bright fresh and modern lovely views again.
The mixed mediteranean started for two was lovely and our mains and shared desert were good . The service was pleasant and very willing ,we were never rushed, staff were all eager to please . They are trying hard in his hotel to improve the things they can do. The rooms etc are obviously ee next stage. The position is pretty unique here and not to be missed. Breakfast on the terrace was good and plentiful. We used this spot to walk and good stretch of the Thames path .
We do hope the new owners manage to do the refurbishment ASAP and we would like to return .
Give it a try the price reflected the room ,but was excellent value for money . We didn't' pay 5 star price so didn't expect 5 star room.

Room Tip: Didn't, use spa husband forgot swim shorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We visited The Swan on Friday 10th May (Room 20) and was a bit apprehensive after reading so many negative reviews. All I can say I was most pleasantly surprised. Yes there is work going on and the hotel is undergoing refurbishment, the new owners could have closed down for a few months while the work is going on but I'm glad they are doing it this way as they have a cracking team working together to provide guests with a pleasant stay while the work is ongoing. Special thanks to Leah in the restaurant , a charming and enthusiastic waitress and also to Joe , a young man on the maintenance team, both a credit to the hotel. I suppose the biggest compliment we could pay would be to say we will be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tubedriver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Revisited as was on business. Money has been spent on revamping the bar and restaurant areas and is in progress in others areas of the hotel. It is clear that the new owners are making a huge effort, but there is a long way to go.
I arrived on a busy long weekend and the bar and food areas were packed with families enjoying the river views and the food (new chef also competent) it was a shame just to sit and observe the poor new owners losing money as fast as they were making it with groups of people just walking out as staff could just not cope with serving and payments. There was no sign of a competent management or even a leader of the front of house pack. Instead there were a group of teens wandering aimlessly trying to help. There was a manager with a big jacket who did not seem to have any control and a woman from Spain or Portugal who was just rude to almost everyone, wait! when trying to pay your bill for your family of 6 meals and drinks is not really something to say when they have been waiting for 3/4 of an hour....walked out without paying.
Rooms have not been addressed yet and are still old, smelly (riverside sewerage system) and missing the most basic items such as a room safe.
The new top bar needs a bar person (over 18) who can run a bar, pour a pint and knows how to work a cash register without asking what some of the most basic drinks are....
Hope it gets better as could be a gold mine given the location. Would change the name though once they have a grip...The White Swan or something.

Room Tip: Stay across the bridge until rooms renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I can only review the non-resident lunch experience but this is obviously an establishment in the process of a major refurbishment in a wonderful location and certainly somewhere we will return to.

So, The Swan still has building work on-going. We had a friendly professional welcome, lovely tables inside and out overlooking the river - too cold & wet to eat al fresco but tables with glorious views.

Attentive service, a little too eager to clear plates before everyone had finished perhaps (but due to inexperience rather than trying to rush us I think..) faultless food from an interesting menu. Good choice of small / large size for several of the mains/light bites and children's portions from the main menu too. Good coffee - always a test of an establishment in my book!

We do not live in this area but I would return just to try this again when the work is completed and the weather improves !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nuvoloso18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
552 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
561 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: £68 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing