We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy new deli/cafe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy new deli/cafe!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The transformation of the Swan Hotel in Streatley has been tasteful, exciting and mind bogglingly fast! So many beautiful and practical changes, especially to the bar and restaurant.
But today I am reviewing the new BOATHOUSE deli/cafe, which opened today.
It is a sensitive but stylish re-development of the musty bedrooms that used to face the river. This whole area is now a barn sized, trendy deli and cafe, with vaulted ceilings, heaving shelves of delicious looking goodies and all enhanced by clever decor, such as fresh, fragrance flowers on the tables and interesting posters (depicting photos and stories of the old Boatyard).
It also makes excellent use of the old french windows, by having little tables near the narrow balconies, that over look the river and get full morning sunshine!
This morning it was very quiet, with about 3 staff to every customer, but all working hard to get the place shipshape.
Sadly there wasn't any of the anticipated, fresh, local, artisan bread. Just a few cakes and no real food or fresh deli produce. But give it a few days and I bet the place will be packed.
The new Manager had interesting ideas for tasty lunches and even a pizza evening - now THAT's progress!!
This morning it all looked a bit under-ready, ie there wasn't any cooked food available or fresh produce to buy (bread, meats, salads, fruit/veg). But I expect that will be resolved quickly.
It will look a lot better once the patio (on the non-river side) has chairs and tables and fresh produce laid out, to tempt passing trade, including walkers, smokers and those with dogs.
My only disappointment was that my £2.10 mug of tea was only filled 3/4 full (I don't drink that much milk!) and I would have preferred the option of a pot.
So HEAPS of promise here and I will be back.
I recommend you check it out, whether local or just visiting, as a really different alternative to the other eateries in the area ;)

Room Tip: Go in the morning if you want to nab sun-trap table overlooking the river! Apparently, you can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, Owner at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for your comments - So pleased you like the transformation of the Boat House. I do apologise for your rather expensive tea, our aim is to provide local artisan produce along-side everyday essentials, so we've lowered the price to £1.20 - we all need a decent cuppa! Rest assured that the bread and deli produce are now available and we'll be introducing more food over the next few weeks. The patio tables and chairs have now arrived too! Look foward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    193
    112
    71
    45
See reviews for
109
283
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We met up with some friends from South Africa for lunch haven't seen them for 15 years. Food was nice limited menu and service was shocking. Waited 40minutes for our drinks to come. Hope it improves as it is a lovely place and the food was nice. Staff need some training

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisehuff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I went in late June with a small party for a birthday celebration. Although they have had some teething problems since the recent takeover/makeover - and I cannot comment on the overnight accommodation - the food was excellent and the service, generally provided by young and keen local staff it appears, has improved dramatically in recent weeks. If you're seeking perfection the Swan may have a little way to go but it is moving in the right direction and is certainly well worth a visit. The refurb has transformed the public areas - and the certainly didn't seem like an old people's home to me - more like an upmarket bistro! Perhaps that's because I don't view the world and its people in terms of age.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liznbri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed the nights of 31st May and 1st July. The views of the river from our room were delightful, the room comfortable and clean but in need of repair and re-decoration.
We booked by going to The Swan at Streatley's website and followed the 'book on-line'. At no point did the booking state that our included breakfast was ONLY full English and any deviation to something else would attract a £3 supplement even though, for example, kippers were £2 cheaper! The on-line booking also didn't state that our included dinner would only be two courses. The on-line booking also didn't state that by booking on-line we were paying £57.98 more than if we had paid at the hotel on departure. We were also asked for the (cheaper) settlement of our bill at departure, despite it already having been paid by credit card when reserving on-line.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, Owner at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Mrs T103, thank you so much for coming to stay with us and I am so glad that you enjoyed the views from your room. I am however not pleased with the comments that you have made with regard to both paying extra for breakfast and for paying a different rate for booking online. This should very much not be the case and I can only apologise and investigate and get back to you as soon as possible. with kind regards Lucy Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Bed: I found the bed to bed very old, too soft and all together totally uncomfortable. Pillows were at best 1in thick, so I had to fold them to get any deecent support for my neck.
Room: was clean to an acceptable standard. Furniture needs updating.
Shower: I am 5'9 an had to duck to be able to get my head under the shower. Bathroom was clean to an acceptable standard. Plenty of hot and cold water. Toilet paper seemed to be a very cheap brand.
Air conditioning: there isnt any. Only radiators. On a hot day (like it was during my stay) you are faced with either openning the window and risk sleeping with insects ranging from tiny spiders o giant wierd bugs, or having a sweaty and suffocating night as there is no other form of ventiallaion.
Note: nothing starts at the hotel before 7-7.30 am, so if you are an early riser you have to plan for that.
Breakfast: basic and inconsistent from day to day. They have cereals and fruit, pastry and hot breakfast. Not too bad but very functional.
Location: I believe this is the main reason this hotel exists and is still in business. Simply phenomenal. Check the pictures. They speak for themselves.
Service: staff were friendly in general but lacked professionalism.
Value: In my opinion, for the standard of rooms and service, this hotel should be at least 30% cheaper.
Verdict: while the location is amazing, the overall experience left me very tired. The hotel is not good enough for this location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmednabeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just had lunch here and despite being under new management for some months now there are still lots of basics going wrong. We were only offered the Sunday special menu, despite there also being a bar/sandwich menu which we would could have ordered off - and preferred to. We were told there was no small meals for our 8 yr old - how can a restaurant not just do 1/2 size roasts on a Sunday?! We were told gravy was not optional on one of our roasts - how is that? The bacon on the salad was thick, fatty and undercooked and the chicken appeared to be from a packet and very processed - not what a quality restaurant should be serving. The cheese plate didn't appear after 20 minutes and the waiter seemed to question our every enquiry as if we were in the wrong - when we said we no longer wanted the cheese plate his reply was " I'll see if that is possible'. How about ' Sorry Sir for the long wait'?
On the plus side the chicken/bacon salad was not charged for.
Really hope they make the necessary changes soon - lots they have done has been great and can't quite believe there are STILL so many basic errors happening - and we have been in and supporting them every week over the last few months. Here's to a better future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 964Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had read the reviews on the Swan, and thought we would give it a try, booked at room with access to the garden as we had our little dog with us, stayed just 1 night, on arrival we were greeted by members of staff at the reception area who were very friendly and welcoming, first impression of the hotel was as we were expecting as reviews said it was a bit tired, refurbishment is ongoing but pleasantly surprised, our room was on the ground floor with door leading to the garden, and view of the thames, the room does need updating but it was spotless and comfortable. We had drinks on the terrace in the afternoon, the location was perfect and peaceful overlooking the river, had dinner that evening in the newly decorated dining room and bar area, dinner was amazing, complements to the chef! overall our stay was lovely, all staff members were very friendly and made us feel welcome, looking forward to a return visit soon, and to see the progress on the refurbishment. Good that the hotel does accept dogs, but found the £20.00 a night for our tiny Jack Russell a bit excessive. Otherwise no real complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
392 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
357 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,784 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,290 reviews
5.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing