We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tales of the riverbank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Tales of the riverbank”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

You can't get much closer to the river, gorgeous setting, so romantic, big hotel with lots of winding corridors. Rooms were adequate. Again very warm and welcoming. Lots of history here, with various owners. Lovely glass restaurant, food was a bit of a let down for the price, and a very noisy dining room. There was a party going on, but wooden floors and no curtains do not help with the acoustics. Great watching a boat tie up and come in for the night. Although they did do a deal on bed breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room to look out over the river at night...excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    191
    110
    71
    45
See reviews for
109
281
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I loved our stay at the Swan at Streatley. The area was gorgeous and the dining area had a magnificent view of the river. The hotel staff were also exceptional. The only reason I give this only three stars is the price and the strange layout of the room. Out of the entire trip (we stayed in several areas around the UK) this was the most expensive hotel by far. The room was very large and clean but the ambiance was ruined by a large flat panel TV on a giant awkward stand sitting in the middle of the room with wires and cables dangling all over. Like stated previously the dining area and surrounding riverside was gorgeous but not really worth double the price in my book.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy12281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board and I have shared the points you have raised with my team. We do hope to welcome you back sometime when you return to the UK
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Last weekend we held a family tea party celebration at The Swan for my son's 2nd birthday. This had been planned for months and I had changed numbers and arrangments several times but Lou Rollason the Events Co-ordinator could not have been more helpful or patient.

We visited a little while before the party to try out the afternoon tea and view the room we had booked and received outstanding service from everyone concerned. The afternoon tea was delicious too!

On the day of the party everything was in place ready for us when we arrived and we were yet again not disappointed by the quality of the food or the service we received. My little boy and my family had a brilliant time and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Swan or use them again for events or celebration in the future!

MASSIVE thank you to everyone involved!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Wow! Thank you for such a glowing review following your stay here at The Swan Hotel. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, facilities, food and value for money. We really appreciate such a helpful review.
I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Swan a couple of times and am pleased with the service received. The gym and spa are great.
I agree that the hotel would do well with some refurbishment, however the rooms are reasonably clean.
The food does let you down as it is over priced for its quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThaisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, MD at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you Thaisl for taking the time to review our hotel. I am not sure when you last visited us but we have done a lot of work with the ongoing refurbishment program of the hotel since we bought it in January. We started with the bar and restaurant including a new entrance and have this week started with the bedrooms, new bathrooms, bed, furniture, everything! We have also got an excellent new kitchen team with new menu this week and the launch of our bar menu next week, I hope that you will find these competitively priced and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit so that you can see the changes for yourself. kind regards Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Really lovely, couldn't do enough to help, decorated the table, brought in the cake and flowers at just the right moment and the Food was fab. WELL DONE..... will be back.... and thank you to the staff.... they were so good.......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, MD at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I will pass on a huge congratulations to my team on your behalf. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. kind regards Lucy Potter MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinca, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I don't know where to start. If you look at my reviews you will see I like to support our hoteliers and give mostly good reviews. Look at the first picture of a chair and ask if that would be acceptable in your room that you were paying £110.00 w/o breakfast for. ( supposedly reduced from £500.00/ night, yea pull the other one). The hotel is set in a beautiful area, right next to the Thames. In fairness the restaurant, reception and and public areas have been refurbished, but please don't expect me pay for a room like that. £50.00 would have been a fair price!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

should be in a double room for single occupancy but have a single bed. above the kitchen so all i can see is a big metal box to do with extractor despite booking saying overlooks the countryside. asked for beans with my breakfast this morning to be told they don't do them! they then brought my plate out with beans on? Asked for a sandwich tonight for room service to be told they don't do them at night but i could have the restaurant menu, if i'd wanted that i'd have gone to the restaurant. wonder what the rest of the week will bring? I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: get one overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
344 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,224 reviews
10.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing