We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
SOUTHWELL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Great Staff”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We often stay at the Swan for Business and are always made very welcome by the Staff.
The ambience is great and the charming staff always make our visit very easy and comfortable.
Recently five of us managed to book an incorrect date! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us with minimum fuss they were fantastic.
Food in the restaurant is always lovely and breakfast very good , would highly recommend the Swan.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sue M

Many thanks for posting such a positive review. Your kind words about our riverside hotel and the team are most welcome and appreciated!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    186
    109
    71
    45
See reviews for
109
272
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

May we thank you, Dana, and all your colleagues for the wonderful arrangements which you made for our celebration lunch last Saturday. We cannot speak too highly of the quality of the whole operation.

From our first visit to meet you on 2nd January you have personally shown us the highest standards of professional skill, marked, particularly, by much patience and a really friendly touch. We know that you will wish to acknowledge the work of the whole team involved and, indeed, we want to specially refer to the skill of the chef and colleagues and the very courteous and efficient service of those looking after us on Saturday, including Michael and Norman. Our daughter was very grateful for the way that the staff took in their stride her request for a variation in the meal which you had prepared for her due to a problem with a tooth.

We left at 5.05pm being very grateful for a lovely family gathering made possible by the all round performance of The Swan at Streatley

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear John M

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I’m delighted that your celebratory lunch went so well and that you and you family had such a great time. Your kind words about Dana, Norman and Michal are really appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Recently booked the Swan at the last minute for a 1 night B&B on business.

Large bedroom, clean, well-equipped, though a little dated. Comfortable bed and large TV, nice chairs and plenty of space to work.

Very friendly staff and warm welcome on arrival. The breakfast was good quality (I had scrambled eggs and tomatoes on toast cooked to order - very nice), fruit, cereals, breads etc.

Excellent gym - completed a good 2 hour training session on a variety of good quality equipment and never had to wait for anyone or move on to free eqpt up for others to use.

Would definitely use as an overnight B&B again - good value - nice place.

Room Tip: I've rated 'spa' as 4 as there isn't a mark for 'gym',
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear SimSar

I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dated and needs refurb but receptionists were very helpful & friendly. Room was clean & spacious. Four poster beds are incredible. And balcony views over the river were perfect, although we had a table but no chairs which was odd. I stayed here one night and my partner another whilst I was off running an overnight race. Luckily with the piece & quiet, balcony views over river (with chair from inside) and ice bucket full of beers he was quite content to be abandoned. Will definitely stay here again and we went to a great pub up the road for meal one time too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FutureMrsC2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. I am pleased to advise that we are at the final stages of planning the refurbishment. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Everything was fine here and, from the look of it, getting better. The Swan is under new ownership and its restaurant was a distinct improvement on our last visit a few years ago. The rooms are still awaiting a refurb (due to happen in 2014, I think) and will doubtless benefit from it. All in all, this is a very acceptable place to stay without being in any way special or spectacular. My only gripes were the number of dishes unavailable on the menu at dinner, and the coffee at breakfast (which was disgusting).

Room Tip: Our room had a river view, with a balcony area, which we appreciated even in December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. I am pleased to note that your stay with us was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board. The 2 seasonal menus have been changed since your visit and the coffee machine has been serviced. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Overall, it was a nice hotel with a good breakfast and service but the hotel needs some modernisation. The room we had was a good size but the styling was a bit dated. Good waterfront location and cute village.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your visit here. We are now in the final stages of planning the refurbishment of the hotel and bring it back to its former glory.
Do revisit later in the year when this is all done.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a charming hotel - right on the water's edge. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the standards of service and facilities were good. Breakfast was very nice. Not cheap, but quality has it's price. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sword-stick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team – I know that they will appreciate your kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Swan Hotel in the near future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing