We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? Not on the riverside terrace at the Swan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Service? Not on the riverside terrace at the Swan”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After a pleasant early lunch on a beautiful sunny day in a nearby village, we pottered around Streatley, and while my husband took photos around the river area I made my way to the terrace. It's a lovely setting, and it was good to sit by the sparkling river in sunshine while I rested my feet and read my newspaper. I sat for about 20 minutes without serving staff coming to clear the table or take my order. When my husband joined us, that continued to be the case for about another 15 minutes or more.

Eventually I stopped a passing waiter, who had just delivered drinks to a table beyond us and didn't appear to notice that people were waiting for service or that tables needed clearing - we were sitting just outside the door into the hotel, so in a very prominent place. He took our order and explained that as there was a water contamination problem around the area, only Nescafé was available for my husband as they were having to use mineral water. That was fine and of course understandable, and I ordered a glass of white wine. 20 minutes later we were still waiting for our order.

That was when we left. There didn't seem to be any point taking more of our time to find a member of management to complain to. I had had a pleasant time sitting reading in the sun for almost an hour in a pleasant spot, but we had gone there for refreshment which we didn't get - so the hotel totally failed us. It was quite a busy afternoon, but several staff seemed to be around. By the time we arrived at a teashop just across the bridge, it was too late for refreshments as they had shut, so we had to wait until we arrived home. Having earlier had an excellent lunch served by well-trained staff at a good pub not far from the Swan, the contrast was even greater. We won't be returning to the Swan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on here. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the service you received. Please be assured that we are dealing with your comments and feedback and look to improve the areas you have highlighted to us. Please do contact me direct on 01491 878800 as I would value receiving more details on your experience.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    189
    109
    71
    45
See reviews for
109
277
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be told that we could be upgraded to a balcony room. It was great - right overlooking the thames with a balcony wehere you could sit outside. The rooms are a bit tired but are very comfortable and had everything we need. The staff were very attentive and made sure our stay was a good one. We took the dog and they werre very welcoming. The food is ok too. Will return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read your positive comments and I have shared this feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Incidentally works commence at the end of the month on the first phase of our exciting bedroom refurbishment

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marston Moretaine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here over the Easter weekend and was not fully satisfied by my visit. Dinner was served in the pub area of the restaurent which proved to be both cold and very noisy on the Saturday night due to a wedding crowd being in. On the Sunday i asked to be moved and although i pressed the issue it was not well reserved and i was made to feel like a nusiance. Breakfast on the Sunday was very frantic, with the plates being made available very small, food not being available and therefore having to wait for some of the food to be served. In terms of the rooms i found them very comfortable, although the plumbing was very noisy, and the first night was very stuffy in the room. I would recommend the Swan to stay though as it had a great location for exploring the wider countryside

Room Tip: Ensure you eat in the quieter part of the hotel rather than the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for posting a review and providing some feedback on your experience. First and foremost I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in full. A 3 star review is not what my team and I strive to achieve here. Please be assured that your constructive feedback will be taken on board and discussed with my management team
I do hope you will give us another chance when you next visit the area.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

had a wonderful stay, Lewis and the team were outstanding, food and room were all perfect and the service was the best we have had in ages, breakfast was great! will return again very soon and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamjacob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear teamjacob14,

What a fantastic review - thanks so much!! Lewis and the team really appreciate your kind words and we are all naturally delighted that you had such a good time.

All of here at the Swan look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our friends had eaten here recently and when we were deciding to meet up this was a nice change of venue to meet.

The food was on the whole excellent and the hotel/restaurant is situated in a lovely setting!

A few small issues but overall a nice lunch.

Our waiter didn't seem to fully understand the menu, we were given the menus and told there's a set meal here, sandwhiches and then other stuff on the back (the other stuff being the main menu!!)

We chose our food and when one ordered from the set menu I questioned it, as it states Monday to Friday, we were told we couldn't order from that so the order was changed.

The starters came and were lovely, when the mains came there was a problem with one, the burger which my friend has asked to be cooked extremely well done (as she is 8.5 months pregnant) and it unfortunately came out rare, when we questioned the staff there was a bit of a vacant look given but the burger was taken back and cooked further.

All in all a very nice lunch but a little bit of staff training wouldn't go a miss!!!

We will all be back...and hope to see an improvement in the service!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FCCandPJCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear FCCandPJCC

Many thanks for your review of the Riverside Restaurant. I am pleased to see that generally your lunch was enjoyable. Your constructive feedback will be taken on board and discussed with my management team - we are passionate about providing engaging, friendly and professional hospitality.
I'm glad that you intend to return and trust that your next experience will be 5 star!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we stayed one night, riverside view with four poster bed. its a large rabbit warren of a hotel. the room was in desperate need of a refurb. the sofa was grubby & threadbare, and the decor a bit dated with cracked tiles in the bathroom. But the bed was comfy and the room was clean and warm. Lovely location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the menu was reasonably priced and offered a good variety. Buffet breakfast was a good selection of full english and pastries, fruit and yoghurt.

Room Tip: some riverside rooms have balconies overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear noaparent,

Many thanks for your review. I'm very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed the food and service. We are putting together the final stages of the planned bedroom refurbishment and hope to announce when these will commence shortly.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had our wedding here in March and the day was perfect. We had a brilliant day. All the staff were so helpful and ensured our day went without a hitch. The food was lovely and the grounds were perfect for our photos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear jp123456789

I'm delighted that your wedding here at the Swan at Streatley went so well and your kind words are in this review are much appreciated.

Best wishes for the future as a married couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
371 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
342 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
10.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing