We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan at Streatley
Nearby Hotels
Bull Inn at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Streatley on Thames(Streatley-on-Thames)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
215
197
104
61
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
197
104
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorengoverlooking the riversuperb locationafternoon teathe ground floorevening mealbar areastayed for one nightstreatleyweddingrefurb
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved the Swan at Streatley! Nice large room - a little tired but they are in the process of refreshing. We were visiting family in the area so a great place to stay. Very quite, but it rained most of the 3 days we were there. Food was ok and service was great all the staff was very helpful and friendly. Location - the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear CarenK ,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team – I know that they will appreciate your kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - perhaps when the rooms have been finished?

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are local and held our wedding at The Swan at the end of May. From the early planning phase to the day itself, I cannot fault the wedding coordinators and staff on the day. They made it a perfect day. We also held our after party the next evening and this was also well organised the food was excellent and they coped with our 170 guests very well.

While I do empathise with previous comments regarding the condition of the hotel, the new owners are currently undertaking a huge refurbishment programme. We stayed in the only refurbished room and the decor is very contemporary and the room very well appointed with a huge balcony, flat screen TV, Nespresso machine, power shower etc. When the remainder of the hotel is upgraded to this standard, it should certainly match the wow factor of the location.

The breakfast buffet on the Sunday was a bit of a disappointment, as the previous days we did have an excellent made to order breakfast, the Eggs Benedict being pronounced by more than one of our guests to be the best they had ever tasted!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear PennypieceReadingUK ,

I was delighted to read that your wedding with us went so well and that you and your guests enjoyed the special day. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Swan in Streatley while attending a wedding in nearby North Stoke at the end of May 2014. From the outside, this hotel looked very promising. A truly beautiful location by the river Thames featuring a picturesque outside patio area set right on the river bank. You've probably seen the photos - they don't lie, this is peaceful English village life at its best. However, once you walk into reception, the truth of this operation becomes all too apparent. Tired, bland interior design becomes the order of the day and while reception staff seemed friendly enough, nothing could quite prepare for the disappointment of opening our room door and being faced with rooms so uncared for, with horrible old patterned carpet and grubby, crumbling furniture. It's ok, we told ourselves, we were here for a good friend's wedding and only needed the room as a place to lay our heads for the night. The bed was comfy enough actually, though after a long day we could have probably slept anywhere.

The biggest disappointment came the next morning, we were both a little hungover and were really hoping for a good cooked breakfast to set us up for the journey back to London. As we walked into the admittedly attractive breakfast room (the hotel bar area with the aforementioned river bank patio), I couldn't help but notice the rather unattractive food on other guests' tables, so it wasn't a surprise to discover that instead of cooked-to-order breakfasts, we were about to go to buffet hell. Some cheese and ham was laid out, as was a big bowl of oats, but these options were overlooked as I made my way to the hot food in the steel catering trays. We had to ask the staff for more bacon as there wasn't any left, and after waiting for ten minutes, a member of staff arrived with a tray of maybe ten slices of what looked like boiled bacon, swimming in water and grease. The remaining lonely sausages were similarly unattractive and while they were probably cooked through ok, their colour suggested otherwise. The scrambled eggs were overcooked, had obviously been sitting for quite some time, and were just wrong-looking. There was an option to toast you're own bread, which was decent enough but I fail to see how even The Swan could get this element wrong. To add to the experience, there was also a queue, and it was particularly weird to see older guests waiting in line like children at a summer camp, ready to load their small side plates with whatever options were left. Not a great way to start any day, but particularly unpleasant if you've paid to get away for a weekend.

The real kicker here is the fact that The Swan isn't a budget hotel, £110 for a one night stay is quite a lot of money and is certainly a price you expect a little more for. This is the first negative review I've posted on tripadvisor, I felt compelled to do so because we both found this hotel to be such a frustrating experience; it could be perfect with different management / ownership because the setting is stunning. It's like getting a master composer to write a beautiful song, then employing toddlers to record it with toy instruments. Such a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russNsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear russNsam,

Thank you for your review following your visit here at The Swan Hotel. I was very disappointed to learn of the issues that you experienced in your room and at breakfast and that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Shortcomings such as these are not what the hotel team strives to achieve here. On busy weekend mornings taking breakfast between 8am & 9am does ensure a more relaxing experience. We now serve the hot dishes cooked to order and the refurbishment we have recently embarked on will improve the room facilities.
Please be assured that your constructive feedback has been taken on board and discussed with the management team for appropriate action.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Today was just the perfect day to visit The Swan as we were able to sit outside in the sunshine and enjoy the river. We all opted for the set lunchtime menu - great value at £12.95 for 2 courses. Service was efficient and our starters were brought swiftly. Presentation of the food was excellent and the food tasty. Coffees were great too.
Really cant fault the location and the food - great value.
The hotel appears to be undergoing some refurbishment so the car parking spaces have been reduced but there was no disruption.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Jenny H,

I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overnight after the wedding and leisurely breakfast was the order for this stay. Room pleasent and comfortable, bathroom a little dated and needing some attention - shower controls have lost markings and tatty notices on the wall - do replace when they start looking tatty it sets the tone for the whole facility. However I understand all rooms are due for renovation over this year from a notice in the hotel. Very extensive gardens make for a pleasent walk by the river. Very good breakfast choice, efficently served together with a buffet with all the extras. Nice to look out over the river. No rush, busy, but no pressure to move on. Reception a bit slow - checking in and checking out, partly because the only receptionist was very thorough to ensure guests were properly served, but a queue quickly built up. A 2nd receptionist on standby would have cured this problem. Well worth a stay and a great centre for exploring the Thames, N Berkshire and S Oxfordshire and only a few miles from Oxford.

Room Tip: Go for river side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay here at The Swan Hotel. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team. We really appreciate such a helpful review.
I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews