We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan at Streatley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan at Streatley
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Second visit....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sorry but not as good as the first...yes the rooms were dated, but somehow they fitted the bill! Our new room, you banged your head on the beam by the bed. No grab rail on steps to balcony. The blind broke on use in the morning. Joined together twin beds. Sharp edges to bedside tables, this was close as we had to push the beds across to miss the beam. No paper and pen to jot things down. No dressing table or any mirrors in room. Bathroom mirror gets fogged up obviously. No sugar for tea and coffees. Although adequate kettle and superb coffee machine. Bath just a bit too high, again no handles. Shower difficult to control, water everywhere as screen does not fit. Cannot stand directly under shower as bath not deep enough that end. Needs a bit more thought, shame because lovely hotel, great service and very good breakfast...please take note as I want to stay again and recommend you highly as you should deserve.

Room Tip: Ask for an old one with a balcony, they are still the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear eggybreadUk ,

Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. Your constructive feedback on the bedroom facilities will be taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    183
    108
    72
    45
See reviews for
107
266
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Brought my Grandma here for lunch today. The setting in beautiful and the new restaurant area is fresh and clean. We really enjoyed our meals, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly our waitress Lorena. Will definitely be back with my family soon, and Grandma is hoping to come back again later in the summer to celebrate her 95th birthday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliLlew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear AliLlew3 ,

Many thanks for your review. I’m delighted that you and Grandma enjoyed your lunch with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved the Swan at Streatley! Nice large room - a little tired but they are in the process of refreshing. We were visiting family in the area so a great place to stay. Very quite, but it rained most of the 3 days we were there. Food was ok and service was great all the staff was very helpful and friendly. Location - the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear CarenK ,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team – I know that they will appreciate your kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - perhaps when the rooms have been finished?

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are local and held our wedding at The Swan at the end of May. From the early planning phase to the day itself, I cannot fault the wedding coordinators and staff on the day. They made it a perfect day. We also held our after party the next evening and this was also well organised the food was excellent and they coped with our 170 guests very well.

While I do empathise with previous comments regarding the condition of the hotel, the new owners are currently undertaking a huge refurbishment programme. We stayed in the only refurbished room and the decor is very contemporary and the room very well appointed with a huge balcony, flat screen TV, Nespresso machine, power shower etc. When the remainder of the hotel is upgraded to this standard, it should certainly match the wow factor of the location.

The breakfast buffet on the Sunday was a bit of a disappointment, as the previous days we did have an excellent made to order breakfast, the Eggs Benedict being pronounced by more than one of our guests to be the best they had ever tasted!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear PennypieceReadingUK ,

I was delighted to read that your wedding with us went so well and that you and your guests enjoyed the special day. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Swan in Streatley while attending a wedding in nearby North Stoke at the end of May 2014. From the outside, this hotel looked very promising. A truly beautiful location by the river Thames featuring a picturesque outside patio area set right on the river bank. You've probably seen the photos - they don't lie, this is peaceful English village life at its best. However, once you walk into reception, the truth of this operation becomes all too apparent. Tired, bland interior design becomes the order of the day and while reception staff seemed friendly enough, nothing could quite prepare for the disappointment of opening our room door and being faced with rooms so uncared for, with horrible old patterned carpet and grubby, crumbling furniture. It's ok, we told ourselves, we were here for a good friend's wedding and only needed the room as a place to lay our heads for the night. The bed was comfy enough actually, though after a long day we could have probably slept anywhere.

The biggest disappointment came the next morning, we were both a little hungover and were really hoping for a good cooked breakfast to set us up for the journey back to London. As we walked into the admittedly attractive breakfast room (the hotel bar area with the aforementioned river bank patio), I couldn't help but notice the rather unattractive food on other guests' tables, so it wasn't a surprise to discover that instead of cooked-to-order breakfasts, we were about to go to buffet hell. Some cheese and ham was laid out, as was a big bowl of oats, but these options were overlooked as I made my way to the hot food in the steel catering trays. We had to ask the staff for more bacon as there wasn't any left, and after waiting for ten minutes, a member of staff arrived with a tray of maybe ten slices of what looked like boiled bacon, swimming in water and grease. The remaining lonely sausages were similarly unattractive and while they were probably cooked through ok, their colour suggested otherwise. The scrambled eggs were overcooked, had obviously been sitting for quite some time, and were just wrong-looking. There was an option to toast you're own bread, which was decent enough but I fail to see how even The Swan could get this element wrong. To add to the experience, there was also a queue, and it was particularly weird to see older guests waiting in line like children at a summer camp, ready to load their small side plates with whatever options were left. Not a great way to start any day, but particularly unpleasant if you've paid to get away for a weekend.

The real kicker here is the fact that The Swan isn't a budget hotel, £110 for a one night stay is quite a lot of money and is certainly a price you expect a little more for. This is the first negative review I've posted on tripadvisor, I felt compelled to do so because we both found this hotel to be such a frustrating experience; it could be perfect with different management / ownership because the setting is stunning. It's like getting a master composer to write a beautiful song, then employing toddlers to record it with toy instruments. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russNsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear russNsam,

Thank you for your review following your visit here at The Swan Hotel. I was very disappointed to learn of the issues that you experienced in your room and at breakfast and that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Shortcomings such as these are not what the hotel team strives to achieve here. On busy weekend mornings taking breakfast between 8am & 9am does ensure a more relaxing experience. We now serve the hot dishes cooked to order and the refurbishment we have recently embarked on will improve the room facilities.
Please be assured that your constructive feedback has been taken on board and discussed with the management team for appropriate action.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Today was just the perfect day to visit The Swan as we were able to sit outside in the sunshine and enjoy the river. We all opted for the set lunchtime menu - great value at £12.95 for 2 courses. Service was efficient and our starters were brought swiftly. Presentation of the food was excellent and the food tasty. Coffees were great too.
Really cant fault the location and the food - great value.
The hotel appears to be undergoing some refurbishment so the car parking spaces have been reduced but there was no disruption.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Jenny H,

I was delighted to read that your experience with us was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Claydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overnight after the wedding and leisurely breakfast was the order for this stay. Room pleasent and comfortable, bathroom a little dated and needing some attention - shower controls have lost markings and tatty notices on the wall - do replace when they start looking tatty it sets the tone for the whole facility. However I understand all rooms are due for renovation over this year from a notice in the hotel. Very extensive gardens make for a pleasent walk by the river. Very good breakfast choice, efficently served together with a buffet with all the extras. Nice to look out over the river. No rush, busy, but no pressure to move on. Reception a bit slow - checking in and checking out, partly because the only receptionist was very thorough to ensure guests were properly served, but a queue quickly built up. A 2nd receptionist on standby would have cured this problem. Well worth a stay and a great centre for exploring the Thames, N Berkshire and S Oxfordshire and only a few miles from Oxford.

Room Tip: Go for river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay here at The Swan Hotel. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team. We really appreciate such a helpful review.
I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing