We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It's been over 12 years since I stayed her on several occasions and it's certainly improved. Refurbishment continues but did not disturb us. We were in an as yet to be updated superior room with balcony and seating overlooking the river. Really relaxing watching the world go by, hawk, herons, ducks and even a swan. There is some traffic noise from the bridge but not intrusive. A little disappointed with the underwhelming greeting from reception but after that it was very good. Friendly and efficient restaurant and bar staff, good housekeeping, big choice lunch and dinner menus at sensible prices. A very nice hotel set in lovely grounds with outdoor seating and dining. There is also a gym for those inclined! Return visit is on the "to do" list.

Room Tip: Room with balcony adds to the occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claytods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Claytots,

Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future - Looking forward to you ticking us off your "to do list!"

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This review is for the Boat House at The Swan (attached to the hotel - somewhere for a cup of tea or coffee - and what a place! Right on the river with riverside tables outside. Inside the vaulted ceiling is a nice feature. Coffee is out of a machine but was pretty good. Apart from the gorgeous setting, the CAKES are TO DIE FOR!!! Worth going for these alone. 10 of us on a motoring trip stopped here purely by chance and we all gave it a big thumbs up. Worth a detour even....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear jw6969,

I was delighted to read that your experience at the Boathouse & Deli was such a positive one. The team and I appreciate you taking the time to post a lovely review and very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to sample yet more yummy cakes.


Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I helped organise a dinner to celebrate my parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. The planning took place over many weeks and we were greatly impressed by the levels of service throughout especially by Dana, the events manager - absolutely nothing was too much of a problem. The end result was wonderful and my parents, family and friends enjoyed a fitting celebratory dinner in the private room - extremely good all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear craig911

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your visit to the Swan at Streatley. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your lunch so much and in particular the service from the team. We really appreciate such a helpful review.
I will be pleased to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had our wedding ceremony and reception here in June 2014.
The Swan at Streatley is in a show-stopping location, adjacent to the River Thames and nestled in the hills of the Goring Gap. It's currently undergoing refurbishment, so the quality of the rooms was mixed, but when it's all finished it will be even more stunning.
We had our wedding ceremony on the Magdalen Barge, it was beautifully intimate and felt almost chapel-like without being at all religious.
For us the real difference at the Swan was the services of Jodie Young, the hotel's dedicated wedding co-ordinator. From our first viewing of the facilities to the big day, it felt as though Jodie was on our journey with us. There was no need to be stressed, we explained what we wanted, and how we wanted the day to feel, and Jodie delivered! A couple of weeks before the wedding she took a couple of hours out to talk us through every step of our day so we knew what to expect. We didn't need to do anything on the morning of the wedding except to get ourselves ready!
The food was excellent. One of the most fun aspects of the preparation was the menu tasting evening - and the service and quality of the food followed through to the actual wedding breakfast. We had loads of compliments on the food - quality and quantity - and the service was attentive yet unobtrusive.
We were hoping for a stress-free, fun and enjoyable wedding day, and the Swan made sure that we had exactly that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Sue T

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to post a review following your wedding here at The Swan. I am delighted that everything was so enjoyable and that Jodie and the team looked after you and your guests. Your kind words are much appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Most recent stay of many over a 20 year period. Stayed in re-vamped room. Totally out of character with rest of hotel. No mirrors, shower ran hot only so not usable, no bedside clocks, no fridge, balcony grubby with cigarette ends on it, no opening window in bathroom making in stifling on a really hot day. Service on terrace erratic with customers all over the place complaining and service a shambles at breakfast time. Some staff really trying to do their best but it appeared the infrastructure around them was disorganised. Only pluses - bed comfortable and food good - when it finally arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahelizabeth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear sarahelizabeth61

Thank you for posting your feedback on here. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Please be assured that we are dealing with your comments and feedback and look to improve the areas you have highlighted to us.

I do hope you will give us the benefit of the doubt and return sometime in the future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Oh dear where do i start. Having to wait and ask to be served at the bar 3 times before being served when its £5 a pint isnt the best of starts. Then being given horseradish rather than mayonnaise and ruining the salad. Then chips go cold whilst they redo it then an eyelash in your pint. To be fair they refunded my food but id rather pay for good food good service and enjoy it than get money back for poor experiences. And to cap it all whilst im waiting for my food i get told that if im not eating i should sit elsewhere as these tables are for "customers eating with us".
Overall disappointing

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Nick P

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Riverside Restaurant and Bar. I am very sorry that we got it so wrong and that we disappointed you.

Should you choose to visit again please do get in touch with me personally and I will ensure that you will have much better experience.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sorry but not as good as the first...yes the rooms were dated, but somehow they fitted the bill! Our new room, you banged your head on the beam by the bed. No grab rail on steps to balcony. The blind broke on use in the morning. Joined together twin beds. Sharp edges to bedside tables, this was close as we had to push the beds across to miss the beam. No paper and pen to jot things down. No dressing table or any mirrors in room. Bathroom mirror gets fogged up obviously. No sugar for tea and coffees. Although adequate kettle and superb coffee machine. Bath just a bit too high, again no handles. Shower difficult to control, water everywhere as screen does not fit. Cannot stand directly under shower as bath not deep enough that end. Needs a bit more thought, shame because lovely hotel, great service and very good breakfast...please take note as I want to stay again and recommend you highly as you should deserve.

Room Tip: Ask for an old one with a balcony, they are still the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryTOckwell, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear eggybreadUk ,

Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay here. Your constructive feedback on the bedroom facilities will be taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
674 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
283 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,955 reviews
7 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: £59 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing