We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful elegant setting with views & excellent service all-round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We had a superior room with french windows onto a first floor terrace overlooking the river Thames. Comfortably furnished and clean. The Bar terrace & the restaurant have exceptional river frontage for watching the world go by (& mooring). The staff were all helpful and knowledgeable and the Table d'hote menu delivered with a decent choice being good value as part of the db&b deal.
We didn't feel out of place making an effort to dress for dinner and were served professionally with food cooked to order and beautifully presented.
Breakfast was of a better standard than many recently encountered although the hot trays take some manouevering !

We enjoyed sitting in the garden by the moored Magdalen Barge (used as a small conference suite). The local walks along the river and over the bridge into Goring are delightful and offer alternative food & drink options.

Would not hesitate to go again and always opt for a river view to take advantage of the scenery. Take field glasses to catch sight of waterfowl, Egyptian Geese, and soaring Red Kites.

Only downside the pool is only a plunge spa and was a trek from our room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucindawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed here for te Easter weekend. The restaurant has a wonderful view over te river and te river facing rooms are gorgeous - though it might be a bit noisy in the summer if there are lots of people drinking in the bar down stairs. Nice health spa (the pool is a salt one and not for swimming) and great walks around the the area. You don't need a car if you come by train.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I stayed here with several friends and family and it was ideal as a weekend retreat. Good location for walks in the surrounding countryside and the hotel has a nice bar/lounge area (though the decor is a little dated) plus outside seating by the river. The bedrooms were of a nice standard (ours had views over the river) given the room rate and the hotel's dinner, bed and breakfast package provided exceptional value - £110 for two people per night. The food was also very nice and well presented, justifying the AA rosettes awarded to the restaurant. All in all, a nice place to escape to for a day or two in the countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatithinkofthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I booked a room with a river view and four poster bed for my boyfriend's 60th birthday. Neither of us was disappointed. The bed was gorgeous and the rest of the furnishings were lovely too. Our bathroom and shower were first rate. The view was stunning and everything that I had hoped for. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The one little criticism was the bar food we had for dinner. Not great. But overall it was a great stay and the best hotel I have stayed in in the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Overall, very good indeed.

Pluses:
Very nice and friendly service. More than enough staff to cope.
Stunning setting overlooking the most beautiful stretch of the Thames.
Pleasant gardens.
Cosy and friendly communal areas.
Food good (dinners very good, breakfasts ok).
Afternoon tea was excellent.
Room (No. 20) was spacious with the largest balcony I have ever had anywhere in the world!
Plenty of pleasant strolls from the hotel.
Old lady who does breakfasts is an absolute credit to the hotel.

Minuses:
Bathroom seriously dated and shower a joke.
TV one of those stuck in the 70s period pieces that many hotels still persist with.
No mini-bar.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I had high expectations for a lovely afternoon tea by the river. Very disappointed. Very poor service from unfriendly staff. We were put in the a room with no view of the river. Tired looking furniture and decor and a dog in the corner which barked occasionally! Sandwiches were extremely poor and he `selection of cakes' was terrible. We wrote and complained, but did not receive a reply. We will never return to this hotel again.
I am total agreement with all the poor reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preciouslovelygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed for 1 night D/B/B offer. Had a 4 poster bedroom it was lovely and the river view. This is the 6th time we have stayed at the swan, the last time was back in sept last year, and its still a lovely hotel to stay at. The staff are so plesant and helpful. The dinner we had in the evening was great, we were so surprised the waitress remembered us from last year, we had a good laugh. Cant wait to go back in the summer, im missing my river view already.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LYNBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
635 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
379 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing