We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resting on it's laurels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Rangmore, Burton On Trent, Staffs UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Resting on it's laurels”
Reviewed 27 July 2006

My wife and I have stopped at The Swan several times over the years, our most recent visit being in July 2006 when we had an elegant room overlooking the river Thames. The cost for this was £161 which is expensive even for this area. The hotel appears to be trading on its location overlooking the river Thames, as the service and catering have gradually deteriorated over time and is now only just adequate.

The main problem during this last visit was a wedding party whose reception seemed to be taking place just below our windows. The noise of this went on to way past midnight and thereafter we were disturbed by wedding guests making their way to their rooms.

Breakfast is Self Service and consequently the 'kept warm' bacon and scrambled egg are not always palatable. Service at breakfast can be variable, on our latest visit the delivery of the hot food was delayed by some 15 minutes.

The reception staff are pleasent and helpful but we had a problem with our bedding which we asked to be changed from a duvet to sheet and blankets. All that happened was that a sheet and a blanket were delivered to our room and placed on the bed leaving us to remove the duvet and remake with the blankets! Not good enough for a smart hotel.

Sorry to say we shall not be staying there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Richard2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    186
    109
    71
    45
See reviews for
109
272
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I booked a Saturday night 'get a way from it all' last weekend at The Swan. What could be nicer on a hot summer weekend to be messing about on the river? The weather was perfect, the surroundings beautiful and then there was the hotel..... We were so disappointed! We are busy, pale London folk who enjoy getting out of the 'smoke' when we can and are pretty easy going. I booked the Swan because it professed to be a quality hotel with a good restaurant, somewhere a little more special to spend the weekend. The place is tired and run down, the Manager's eye is definately off the ball. Despirately in need of refurbishment our doouble room (2 beds pushed together so the head board was in the wrong place and the bedside table miles away. Went to move it closer and the leg fell off!!!) Nice big room, shabby furniture, dated decor all of which I could live with but on the bathroom was awful. Not only was there no cold water pressure in the taps but no hot water either! Very hot weather so cold shower welcome! (Joke). Drinks on the terrace outside .. never seen so may dead fag ends down the edge of the path at the river side!!! The restaurant was nicely decorated (in a style so divorced from the rest of the hotel!) Looking forward to a good dinner we were again sadly disappointed. The menu was pretentious and not very tasty and not very hot! Breakfast was another thrilling moment - the elderly (very elderly - honestly) waitess seemed swapped by the demand for more than one couple to be seated and their requests for tea / coffee to be noted - felt quiet sorry for her! Fruit and yogurt was wonderful, even if the raspberrys were still frozen when you bit into them! But, they still tasted nice which is more than could be said for the hot food - which was actually far from hot and when it came to the sauages far from cooked!! They were pink! When we pointed all this out we were told - I can re heat it for you.... sad, very sad...Dear owners of the Swan, get your act together you are ripping people off!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank gillwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

cambridge, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2006

I can only agree with many of the other reviews - the hotel really needs an overhall. The shower in my room was very poor, and the bathroom had a musty damp smell. What I was most shocked by was the fact that tinned fruit (strawberries) were served at breakfast, and this was the height of the English Strawberry season. Not impressed. I statyed the night before at the Weir View in Pangbourne, a much better bet

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domestic_goddess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2005

My husband, baby and I visited in early Ocotber for just a one night stay for our anniversary. We booked via laterooms and got a very cheap B&B deal. The room we were given obviously reflected this, as it was very shabby and in dire need of an overhaul. We were given a travelcot for our daughter which was very uncomfortable and old.
We had arranged for a babysitter and booked a meal at the restaurant. This was the saving of the weekend. The food was lovely, not cheap, but very nice. The restaurant and the public areas seemed to be looked after better. We had no problems with the service, although we did have to explain what a shandy was at lunchtime.
The spa was being refurbished at the time, I assume this is how the hotel gets its 4* rating when it's available.
Be warned, there is nothing around, just tiny villages and lovely walks on the river. Go to Henley for a nice day out.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hgbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

Two of our dearest friends were getting married at this location so we came onto this website to check out the location and after having read these reviews we were somewhat dreading what we would find on arrival and hoping against hope that our friends day would go without a hitch.
We really couldnt of asked for more the rooms were fine, the food was hot for all courses served, the service was friendly and efficient the only downside was they could of had some more staff on the bar at the evening reception. The rooms were comfortable and during the reception I lost my bracelet, I left my details with reception and on returning home found they had found it and posted it on. It was a perfect setting and really does not deserve the previous reviews.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2005

Visited the hotel in June for a Sunday lunch (excellent) in the two rosette ?? restaurant. The setting is fantastic with lovely riverside seating and views..so much so that we (two couples) decided to have a birthday celebration weekend on the 1st August and booked two best rooms with river views for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast and arranged to have the hotels cruise boat for a few hours on the Sunday.
Upon arrival we were given our room key and once in our room found that there was an empty champagne glass on the bed side table, the floor was covered with crumbs and dirt and there were used tissues in the bathroom and the toilet had been used !!!
We called reception and the house keeping staff soon rectified matters and a complimentary bottle of wine was sent to our room by way of apology.
How the "2 rosette" restaurant ever got this accolade is beyond belief as the food was pretty but not exceptional and we assumed it was an off night.
How wrong we were... breakfast the next morning was the worst experience we have ever had in any hotel...Fawlty Towers had nothing on this. One untrained and inefficient waiter was trying to deal with the whole breakfast experience. The cooked food was buffet style in large pans with heaters under (only 4 of the 6 were working so cold or warm was the option). We had to ask for everything as there was no service whatsoever.
We complained to the duty manager who said "sorry, off day" we will not charge you for the breakfast.
Saturday evening dinner !!. (in a "2 Rosette restaurant" ) The Asparagus starter was raw and could not be cut with a knife, the tuna was also so uncooked it was red inside and the rest of the meal was served luke warm.
After the dinner experience we enquired about our packed lunch for the boat trip on the next day "sorry you need to give us 24 hours notice" when we pointed out we had booked this 6 weeks ago we were advised that they would see what they could do.
Sunday morning breakfast was a disaster but with more staff on hand to at least try and keep us happy. The final straw was the toast that arrived at the table was still white but warm !!!!
We arranged to see the duty manager to discuss the situation and he agreed that things were not going well but offered no reasons. we decided to leave the hotel rather than endure another 24 hours of the awful food. The manager agreed to "sort out the bill" and did refund approx £250.00 off the combined bills but this still left over £900 to pay for this ruined weekend.
This is not a hotel with a "2 rosette "restaurant. The only thing it has going for it is the location and view but that does not make it good value at the prices they charge. Does anyone know how to complain about the 2 rosette status that this hotel can advertise.
Never again will I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank robNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 August 2005

Booked 2 nights in one of the top rooms. 4 poster fantastic views...however room was ok bed very comfortable...but no mini bar as described no ashtrays as we had requested smoking and the bathroom shower had been held together with duct tape.
This was all bearable.........but when we went to dinner we were the only guests and consequently expected no problems no rushing for the chef.....what a disappointment the food was the worst we have ever encountered in any calibre of hotel. after talking to the manager who did not charge for the meal we ordered coffee in the longe....furniture somewhat threadbare. but the coffee must have been on the boiler from the day before. ugghhhhhhhhh. to cap it all we were charged £3.50 for water.
To Sum up the location was divine the room ok. bearing in mind we had one of the most expensive at £189 per night.......but the food.........! and the charging.....
only one way to describe at £3.50 for 75cl of water as DAYLIGHT ROBBERY

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
The Swan At Streatley Streatley-On-Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing