We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place yummy food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wish Cat Cafe

The Wish Cat Cafe
Ranked #24 of 195 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the Wish Cat Cafe which was The Rowan Tree for many years. We specialise in gluten free freshly prepared food served on lovely pretty china in our delightfully pretty and quirky cafe with a fabulous secret garden courtyard for those lazy brunches or relaxing afternoon teas. Pets and children very welcome.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I've been several times in the last month. Lovely coffee, very nice cakes which are a little different. I love the savoury specials for lunch which are served with a variety of delicious salads. my favourite has been the vegi scotch egg which id love the recipe for if the owners are reading. My daughter had a burger which was gorgeous. The only thing I'd improve is the terrace garden. Invest in some nice table and chairs as the plastic ones detract from the ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I had read all the good reviews and thought we would give it a try, coffee fine, but the toasted teacakes were a bit dry, a bit overcooked and my pet hate... came on a plate with two wrapped butter pats. My daughter liked the rocky road and the little biscuits were a nice touch, but for three small coffees, teacakes as decribed and a piece of rocky road I dont think it was presented well enough to warrant an £11.00 price tag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne I, Owner at The Wish Cat Cafe, responded to this review, 28 August 2016
This review is not The Wish Cat Cafe but for the previous cafe in this location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great quality food - home cooked and made by the owners.
Have been eating out here since its opening and always a delight to dine here. Have you tried one of their themed nights? Lovely courtyard garden to rear.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girlonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“One of the best cafes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My daughter and I often go to the Rowan Tree. We love it.. All the food is home made, all fresh and of very good quality. My daughter can only eat gluten free and gets gluten free bread and gluten free roulade which is so big we have to share it. Wonderful herbal teas and hot chocolate. Best cafe in Bridlington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelface55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just the right sort of cafe for me.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Lovely looking homemade food, interesting events advertised, generous coffee, eclectic music, nice independent style. More Brockley than Bridlington - that's a compliment!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mindboggler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wish Cat Cafe also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wish Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing