We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely salads” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wish Cat Cafe

The Wish Cat Cafe
Ranked #26 of 195 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the Wish Cat Cafe which was The Rowan Tree for many years. We specialise in gluten free freshly prepared food served on lovely pretty china in our delightfully pretty and quirky cafe with a fabulous secret garden courtyard for those lazy brunches or relaxing afternoon teas. Pets and children very welcome.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

lovely atmosphere, we visited late summer and had the most fabulous salads with hommus and olives, just the sort of food I want to eat but it is so difficult to find in the UK. I would come back to Brid. specially to go to the Rowan Tree, and the shop that was next door

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Cafe in Bridlington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a fantastic little cafe! Myself and my family chanced upon it whilst we were on a day out in Bridlington and we loved it! The atmosphere was really relaxed, the waitress was very friendly and chatted to us about the food, explaining it was all locally sourced and how nice it was, and she wasn't Wrong! The burgers were excellent, my little boy said it was the best he'd ever had! The cakes we had afterwards were easily some of the tastiest we'd ever eaten! We were made to feel really welcome, the other tables were full of all sorts of different people laughing and chatting, the whole experience was wonderful! The prices were very reasonable and their was a baby changing table in the toilets for our littlest, something we don't always find in Cafe's and restaurants, so a big thumbs up! We are from York and go to Betty's quite a lot but I and the rest of my family can honestly say that The Rowan Tree in Bridlington beats Betty's hands down and we'll be making plenty of return visits soon! Heartedly recommended to everyone!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go check The Rowan tree out as it has great freshly prepared homemade food, highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This a little lovely cafe tucked away not far from the sea front, the food is a must as it is all freshly prepared and homemade, I am not a dessert fan but here the cakes are so delicious in looks and taste I cannot say no. I highly recommend The Rowan tree if you fancy a pot of tea, and a light meal for brunch or lunch and the staff are great too. Its a place to check out if in the town area of Bridlington

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A_google_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Tasteful charm. Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This cafe has real atmosphere and the food is simple and delicious. The home made soups are to die for and I strongly recommend them. The cafe serves a wide range of snacks and has specialist evenings with themed menus. Staff so friendly. Just loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iansheffield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Relaxed and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Well done to this little place for producing tasty locally sourced exciting food in a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. The owners have done a tremendous job in creating a laid back atmosphere with the outside space like a little oasis in the noise and bustle of the seaside area. Will definitely be back and will highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wish Cat Cafe also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wish Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing