We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't say VIP at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridlington Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my partner are just home from staying in the VIP lodge for a week. First of all we were unable to travel down on the day we had booked for personal reasons. I called Jane and she was happy to help even though she did not work Sundays she was happy to go down in the morning and leave the keys in the lodge for us and make sure everything was ready for us arriving the Sunday afternoon. Jane seemed really lovely on the phone however we did not see anyone the rest of our stay. This was good as it was a peaceful holiday and we were left to relax however if anything had went wrong or we had any questions then there was no one available to ask. Also it stated we were to get our pool tested every couple days which we never seen anyone at all come to test our pool.
It was a lovely quiet area not much to do if you don't have a car but luckily we had a car and even though there still wasn't much to do we were able to try keep ourself busy for the week. There was a tesco near by which says 24 hour which was good for our shopping. The lodge itself was cosy how ever the peacocks ruined our hotub experience. We had 6 peacocks surrounding our hot tub during the day they would sleep and poo all over it which stopped us from being able to enjoy it during the day. The peacocks used to sleep outside our patio doors for hours at a time and poo everywhere which meant we were only able to enjoy the hot tub at night. I'm not normally a fussy person but the price we paid was not worth it. The biggest complaint I have is the bed is awful you can feel the springs poping up when you lie on it. The bed is so low and uncomfortable and the mattress is really thin. The pillows are really thin also and you were lucky if I was able to get 4 hour sleep a night. The tv has satellite but the signal and volume are rubbish so we bought a DVD to use while we were there. As other reviews state it is not VIP whatsoever. I didn't even feel the hotub was that great cause we were unable to take full advantage because of the birds. The last complaint I have is when we went to hand our keys in the morning there was no one there so I had to post them through the reception door at quarter to 10 and check out was at 10. I'm sure the staff are lovely here but we were there for a week and never met any. In total I had a really nice relaxed week and enjoyed the break away. It was a lovely place and lovely lodge apart from the couple complaints. I probably wouldn't go again though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

As you can gather from all reviews it's certainly not VIP, but its not bad.

If your after a base for exploring the east coast you can't go wrong here as everything is on your doorstep, the added bonus of the VIP is a hot tub to relax in at night. Your paying the extra for a tub, if this isn't what your after go elsewhere.

On arrival I was paranoid everything would be dirty - but it was fine. The only bad things were some splash staines on the patio blinds and as mentioned elsewhere the leather settles were worn on the arms. The bedrooms and floors were clean and there was enough crockery etc.

Yes everything screamed out for a lick of paint and a few more modern fittings but I was only sleeping their and not buying it.

The site itself is a strange mix of residential flats surrounded by holiday bungalows. The real negative is nothing to do on site not even a swing for the kids. It is extremely quiet though, probably because everyone is off site entertaining themselves!?

The privacy is pot luck as the backs of the bungalows are open for people to walk down if they see the need too. I can't see why anyone would want to as its not a short cut and I would feel like I was intruding but certain people did just wonder past on occasion?



All in all would I stop their again - at the price paid NO but it's certainly not a place to avoid.


Family of 4 visiting 19/8/13 to 23/8/13. Bungalow 6.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from four nights at the above (bungalow number 3) 19th/23rd August.

Let me start by getting the negative points out of the way. The bungalow we stayed in looked very tired and was well in need of decorating. As mentioned in other reviews the sofas are terriblely warn and uncomfortable. The TV had awful signal so watching anything was difficult not that we used it often. The kitchen items were of poor quality our knife block had three of the five knives for example. The view from the front of our bungalow was flats not what you would expect.

The positive points are as follows. Great location with Fraisthorpe beach being only two miles away. The beach is much quieter than others with parking from £2.50 all day. Bridlington and Filey are only a short car trip away. The hot tub was lovely we couldn't keep our nine year old boy out of it. The price was reasonable £500 for four nights which works out at £31 per person.

Room Tip: I would avoid the bungalows opposite the council flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at the Heritage Park last week Saturday 13th July, at Bungalow No 14. I have to say this is a very comfortable park, although quiet there's plenty places to visit, i.e. York, Scarborough, and many more attraction's within driving distance.

Bridlington is only a 10 min drive with plenty parking available for visitors and plenty to do in the town.

We were made very welcome by the hosts and they were very informative and helped us a great deal to settle in. If you are looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday with attractions this is the place.

Only one point you need to how and we also struggled without a clothes horse to dry washing. perhaps Hoeseasons could look into this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for 7 days Saturday to Saturday in VIP bungalow number 6. The park is very quiet and rural with a short drive to Bridlington. The only thing that the bungalow has different from the non VIPs is the hot tub. Although this is a bonus feature it doesn't live up to a VIP standard. The weather was cold during our stay so we used the hot tub only a few times it was very warm and our little boy loved it. The bungalow was very warm and enabled you to dry washing overnight as there is not tumble dryer. The fridge is small and the freezer compartment is very small. The leather sofas had scuff marks and patches where the leather had worn away on the arms and were slightly uncomfortable and springy. The bedrooms were ok. The smaller bedroom had bunk beds and ample storage and the double bedroom was spacious. The wardrobe was a little flimsy and felt like it wobbled when you opened the doors. The wooden floors hadn't been cleaned properly as I found hairs and a contact lens when cleaning on the second day of our trip. The bathroom flooded every time you had a bath and I spent the week washing and drying towels to mop up the water. I wouldn't personally stay here again as it was in the middle of nowhere and we spent our week driving the east coast finding places to occupy our son

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed Monday to Friday,1st to 5th April.
The bungalow was cosy and warm,even though the weather outside was cold.
The hot tub was fantastic and we were in it several times thru the day,and the kids were still in at 9:30 at night.
Hot tub was clean and warm and are emptied,pressure washed and refilled before new guests arrive.
Jane was on hand and very helpful with any questions we asked.The bungalow was clean,modern and was the perfect location for a short family break on the east coast.
We are already thinking of returning in the summer.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 333RobI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a 4 day break Easter Holidays, with recent cold weather we were worried the accommodation would be cold, but arrived to toasty hot bungalow. The hot tub was amazing and we used it at least twice a day. Walking distance to bird of prey/ animal centre which the children enjoyed. Short car journey into Bridlington. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, great value for money. Great for a relaxing family break

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
8.8 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
3.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
593 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
#10 of 30 in Bridlington
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
#7 of 30 in Bridlington
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridlington Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridlington Holiday Cottages

Address: Bridlington YO15 3QB, England (Formerly Carnaby Heritage Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Bridlington
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bridlington Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnaby Heritage Park Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing