We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
402
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
402
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billy jan guest house nothing is too much trouble dressing gowns biscuits home from home on arrival great couple great hosts cup of tea steak pie excellent reviews extra mile place to stay cooked breakfast first class second to none
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue, however it is testimony to the quality of the Kilburn that we are still raving about it 3 months after our stay.
We were a group of eight on a golfing trip, we organised the whole trip through the Kilburn. We stayed on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis for three nights. The plan was that if the food was not up to scratch on Friday night we would eat out for the last two nights. That was never going to happen after Friday night; the food was outstanding. Eating at the Kilburn is like going to your Mum's for tea, home cooked, quality food and plenty of it. Our hosts Billy and Jan could not do enough for us, breakfast was freshly prepared to order with lots of choice.
Rooms were clean and spacious, I got the newly refurbished annexe with flat screen TV and luxury shower room (could be a bit of competition for that next time, but who is writing the review Billy?)
That takes us to the legend that is Billy. On Sunday night at the Harbinger Arms (just down the road) it's karaoke night. This is an upmarket karaoke night, a bit more "stars in their eyes" than karaoke. Our reserved party of eight golfing gentlemen decided to attend. What a night out, Billy and friends can sing, great entertainment. We introduced a new concept to the Harbinger- dancing!!! We are coming back next September so get a seat early that Sunday night. Chants of Billy, Billy, Billy could ring around the Harbinger once again. Thanks Billy and Jan for a great stay, hope to see you soon.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boro2525, Owner at Kilburn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi well what can i say , first of all thank you for your review and i take it you all enjoyed your food.
You were all a good laugh and what a good bunch of lads. we will look forward to seeing you again in september Hopefully for a sunday night out as well cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we came to Bridlington for new years eve and booked this guest house through booking.com, I'm so glad we did, we were welcomed by billy who after making us a welcome cuppa showed us to our rooms. the rooms were lovely and very comfortable, dressing gowns and toiletries were added extras at no extra cost! we had booked to go to the spa theatre and when we tried to book a taxi and couldn't, billy offered to take us! what a guy, thank you. breakfast the next morning was cooked beautiful, served to us by Jan who was very welcoming,we would defiantly recommend this guest house and will most certainly return!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermanBridlington, Owner at Kilburn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you very much for putting your review forward . It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay.
And we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards. Billy and jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

As serious walkers, we've stayed in many Hotels and Guest Houses, all over the UK and can rank "The Kilburn" as one of the all time best! Our weekend was our second stay and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first. We both have "tricky" diets at the moment and Proprietors Jan & Billy did everything to ensure that we ate exactly what we needed and to an extremely high standard - a far cry from many we've experienced!
We will continue to book in at The Kilburn on our trips up t'north since Jan and Billy are so welcoming and their Guesthouse represents the very best in value and quality
Our grateful thanks
Susan & David (Baggaley) Hampshire

Room tip: All rooms are of a high standard
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boro2525, Owner at Kilburn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review . Both me and jan are glad you both enjoyed your stay.
Your diet requirements went very well and we don't mind helping any guests in any way
Regards Billy and jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

To anyone wanting to stay in Bridlington Yorkshire England. Me and my partner have been away this Christmas and stayed at the Kilburn Guest house this is our second stay over Christmas there and I would recommend anyone who wants a very clean and well respected place to stay this is the place to be.
Billy and Jan are the owners and they make you feel very much at home from when you first arrive and the food is excellent all home cooked and served to perfection.
We have enjoyed our two Christmas visits so much we will be going back in the summer time for a short break as we will not be able to next Christmas because of my partners work commitments.
In all honesty one word describes the KILBURN (FANTASTIC)
If anyone reading this would like more info please get in contact.
MAURICE & SHARON MABLETHORPE LINCOLNSHIRE

Room tip: all rooms are the same quality
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boro2525, Owner at Kilburn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review for your christmas stay with us . It is good to see guests book again
For the next year. We will miss you fun next year but work comes first.
We look forward to seeing you both again .
All the very best for 2014

Jan and Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived on the 13th Dec for 2 nights and the room was lovely. It was a good location only a 10 minute walk into the town. It had parking or they issued you with parking permits to park outside. The room was spotless and Bill & Jan were the nicest couple and very helpful. The breakfast was extremely good and freshly cooked. The rooms all had tea making facilities and I would definitely go back when next in Bridlington.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boro2525, Owner at Kilburn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We would both like to say how nice was for you to take the time to post a review on tripadvisor
This does mean a lot to running the kilburn guest house. And for other people to read.
It does show we must be doing something right.
Once again thank you very much.
Regards Billy and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews