We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super, Smashing, Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brentwood House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super, Smashing, Great”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Originally we were booked through Mighty Deals in Ye Olde Star but Brentwood House was much better placed being close to the harbour, promenade, shops, restaurants, etc. A very clean comfortable guest house made all the better by hosts Pete & Denise. Great breakfasts (I loved the full English with the black pudding!)
Also ideally situated for visiting other towns
We can thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone who needs a "base" for viisting Easr Yorks. Our room was not overly large but sufficient enough for our needs
Thanks Pete & Denise for making our stay such a pleasant one

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank window_man1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
thank you for your review we are so happy you enjoyed your stay here and very pleased with how you have reviewed us. We are aware that our rooms are cozy, and are happy that you agreed that they are adequate for your needs. We are after all, a guesthouse, and as such do not have the luxury of purpose built hotels that can provide suites etc , but our prices also reflect this and as such if guests require a luxury suite then they should book a 5 star hotel but if you want a home from home experience then here we are ready, willing and capable of giving a good experience to everyone who cares to join us, We are aware the voucher you purchased was not for us , so it is so much more gratifying to learn you were happy with our product. take care hope to see you in the future , regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    29
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Many thanks to Pete & Denise for honouring the Mighty Deal voucher, was glad Ye Olde Star Inn was closed now! Location of B&B great for walks along the harbour and visits to Scarborough, York and many other places of interest. Hosts very knowledgeable about the area and always ready for a chat and to offer advise. Room was great and met all our needs... Lovely home cooked breakfast, shame Pete didn't join us for our jog to the harbour and back afterwards!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianyflewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
ha ha sian the shock would have been if Peter had donned his running gear and gone for a jog, he doesnt even own a pair of running shorts lol its only said for effect!!!!! thanks for taking the time to review regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across the Brentwood a few years ago. Would highly recommend.

This is a b&b, not a 5 star hotel with bellboy. Accordingly it is priced as such.

The location is excellent with parking (and a bar).

The rooms are clean and the breakfast is awesome!

The reason we enjoy coming so much is due to the extra mile that Pete and Denise always go to make us feel comfortable. A home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fair_accurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
thank you for over 7 years of regular business, at first we admit we were unsure of who had made this review, we now know, and are made up that after all the years you have returned to us you decided to share your very valued opinion with everyone else, we love having you n your family, infact you are probably very close to becoming family now. Its been marvellous watching your children grow up to be such beautiful people, in particular your daughter is very talented, your son is gonna break so many hearts, and you lol are you kindest fondest regards looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Brentwood House a few times and the proprietors are the perfect hosts. They are very friendly,welcoming and will go out of their way to meet guests needs. I am however not amused people book in on special deals, get hours of free parking and invite extra guests for a free breakfast without prior agreement, then have the cheek to slate these guys and send false accusations. If you want a 5 star hotel, book into the ritz! This is a great home from home environment where alot of time,effort and money has gone into this establishment to ensure guests are accomodated and comfortable during their stay. These guys cannot be held responsible for what happens outside their property and reviews should be solely about their stay. As my nanna would say, if you can't say anything nice, keep schtum. You might get a freebie or refund, but false accusations can ruin a persons livliehood. Denise and pete are the nicest, friendliest, passionate and genuinely honest people i know and no way deserve the negative reviews they get. Hope it was worth the freebie and shame on you. I for one would be very happy to stay again and would definately recommend Brentwood House. Reviews should be based on facts and not crap just to get a freebie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepower14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

nice friendly welcome from peter&denise.room very comfortable.food very good.very helpful and knowledgeable about area and how to get around.child friendly as well.great position for strolling around bridlington. thanks for good weekend.andy and heather from paisley

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed at Brentwood House a few times and the proprietors are very friendly, accommodating, welcoming and such great hosts. They go out of their way to accomodate customers needs and are very passionate in what they do. They also do a mean breakfast. Credit where credits due. I can honestly recommend Brentwood House to anyone wanting to visit Bridlington. Alot of time, effort and money has gone into this establishment to make it a perfect home from home experience. Thankyou guys and keep up the great work. Hope to see you very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I upgraded the room to a family room at an extra cost of £60.After checking in and returning later that evening after going to the beach, we asked if we could watch tv with our daughters (myself and a female friend) in the lounge. There was a police commotion at the end of the street at the time and the woman owner was constantly interrupting our tv watching to tell us that police rarely were in the street (albeit in the town centre). The woman owner was drinking wine at the time and was talking for over an hour. Other guests then came in (two younger men) and she served them in the bar in the adjoining room. She stayed with them for about half an hour and then came in to ask us if we would like a drink as the two men were offering us a drink and were interested in us. We politely advised her we did not want a drink. She left and then came back about ten minutes later to chat again. One of the two men came into the lounge and asked where we were from. We said our town and he left and went back to the bar. The owner once again came back about ten minutes later (drink in hand still) and said " the lads want to know if your interested"... We laughed and said "no tell them we are spoken for and we are with our children". To avoid further embarrassment we retired to our room on the top floor. We were all awake watching tv with the kids but in bed. About 50 minutes later we heard a male voice and then knocking on our door. We heard the young lads voice and then they tried the handle to get into the room. There was no phone in the room so we could not ring anyone downstairs. We waited 5 minutes to see if they came back but they did not. Our children however were worried (the bathroom was next door to our room). To settle the children we put a large chair against the door. On the morning I was awake early. I heard a lads voice outside the door at approximately 7am (breakfast was 8:30). Someone knocked again on the door then laughed and went away. I then heard the same two lads outside the front of the property getting into their van. At 9am I advised the owner of what had happened and that the children were not happy about staying another night and had felt unsafe all night. The owner said it was not on and she would ring there boss as the men were contractors. She said she would speak to him about refunding our money. I said it was not just that they had knocked but had attempted to get into the room.
We spent a few hours there and when we returned for the car to leave she then advised the boss was unhappy and was driving from Durham to Bridlington to speak to the lads. I can't say I believed this as it seemed extreme considering it was highly unlikely that these young lads would admit to it and get fired!

We heard nothing further and when I emailed were advised that there was no boss and the owner had spoken to the lads and they denied it...we were further advised that we should have confronted the lads at the time! Women with kids confronting drunken men! Thanks for that advice!! What we should have done is call the police from down the road!!

We therefore paid £129 for one night of unrest and had a very bad customer service from this couple! They put the contractors before us as they knew they were regular business!

I find it hard to understand why anyone would want a trip to Bridlington. It was covered in seagull Poo !!I've never experienced any seaside with so many ..everything ..,cars/houses / bank machines.. Covered in Poo! We were warned by alot of people it wasn't great and they were right. it was awful and dirty !

I know the owners will deny it all but the man was out and the woman was drinking wine all night with the lads!!

Full refund from KGB who always put customers first and I will be contacting the bank for a refund of the extra £60.
One plus note was a good breakfast... WELL DONE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulab0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi, we are happy you received a full refund from KGB regarding your recent stay here. We are not going to deny there was a police commotion out at the end of the street, nor are going to deny that I enjoy a glass of wine at the end of a hard day, Nor will we deny that the contractors had a drink and indeed did offer to buy you one also, What we will state is that as no one else complained of anyone trying to access their room, and no one heard anything ourselves included we can neither confirm or deny the allegation. We can however confirm the contractors did deny it. They had never stayed here before or since and did not know the layout of the guesthouse. They couldnot have possibly known which room you were in, Out of the 10 bedroom doors how lucky was it for them that they guessed correctly.We can see from Trip Adviser that you are extensively travelled using for the most part a deal voucher site.and review all the places you visit, some positive some negative but everyone is entitled to their interpretation of a situation. No guest house owner or hotelier wants guests who are disruptive in any shape or form as it certainly does business no good, however occassionally we all get them. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Bridlington, but are taking some solace in the fact that you enjoyed your breakfast .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#43 of 118 in Bridlington
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#14 of 118 in Bridlington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Promenade Guest House
The Promenade Guest House
#27 of 118 in Bridlington
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chimes Guest House
The Chimes Guest House
#24 of 118 in Bridlington
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#8 of 118 in Bridlington
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood House Hotel

Property: Brentwood House Hotel
Address: 42 Princess Street, Bridlington YO15 2RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brentwood House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing