We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brockton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brockton Hotel
Ranked #59 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Well reading these mixed reviews it is each to his own,but our stay was a very warm welcome from the hosts,always happy to go the extra mile for you in the service.
Staying with a disabled friend the hosts were always happy to help and the service they provided was excellent.
Yes alan the host has a dry sense of humour....but dont we all have a sense of humour??.
We stayed when it was very cold outside and the rooms were warm and welcoming.
The cooked breakfast was well presented and the evening tea they provided for us at short notice was a credit to them.
overall a very pleasent and enjoyable stay,and certainly will be going back.
Very clean and tidy hotel,and a willingness to accomadate the disabled person.
Well done!!

Room Tip: Rooms here on the south side are quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We originally booked the Royal Bridlington for the weekend away but was told that due to a double booking they have moved us to the B&B across the road, The Brockton. They assured my partner that the B&B was also a 4 star B&B and of the same quality. We paid by debit card and the Roayl Bridlington did not offer us any refund as an alternative, we therefore felt that we had no option but to go to the Brockton.

I wish we read the reviews before we went, loosing the money paid would have been a better option.

When we arrived at the B&B he openly rolled his eyes upwards at the great inconvenience of having to let us into the B&B in the afternoon. He was rude, could hardly move his lips to speak and when we asked for the log on for the wi-fi (which is advertised as available free of charge) he reacted as if we asked him to hand over his most precious posession.

Throughout the weekend he was rude to everyone,not just us, responding in a rude manner to the other guests' requests and was generally being obnoxious.

The only good thing is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Runold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for one night on the 28th July. Both host's were nice, alan was funny. The room was a double room ensuite, it was clean. we paid £70.00 for 2 of us.Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Left feeling full. Got a car parking space which is the reason we booked. Free wifi, and a small bar in. We didnt use. Its about a 10 minuite walk to the main shops. We had a bit of a sea view. Overall a nice hotel and would go back. Loverly stay.Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have just returned from our lads weekend golf trip, had a great laugh with Alan the owner I must say the reviews above don't do it justice they must be lacking in the humour department will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We have stayed at the Brockton twice because we were visiting a relative nearby. The first time we ignored the overbearing, rude landlord's sarcastic remarks because the place was clean and had 2 ground floor rooms to accommodate elderly relatives travelling with us. We booked 3 rooms for 17th Dec and had to pay £50 deposit which I thought excessive, We'd been there before and thought the landlord would try to be pleasant on a return visit, I asked him to ensure the rooms for the elderly ladies were warm - all 3 rooms were very cold and our room never did get warm. The landlord is odd; and muttered under his breath behind our backs, my husband challenged about this - he then said he was 'singing' - he was NOT. Throughout our visit we felt we imposing on him and were an inconvenience. His overall demeanour and attitude made out stay the most uncomfortable and unpleasant we have ever encountered. We are well travelled and have stayed at hotels and B&Bs in the UK and abroad and the Brockton is the worst ever. Each time we have stayed we have been the only guests. We could not get WiFi. The only good thing was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

If a good Yorkshire welcome is something that is important to you, then I suggest that you may want to choose another hotel.
From the initial telephone booking to the actual check in and stay, the male proprietor was abrupt, grumpy, miserable, curt and disagreeable. He has no customer care skills whatsoever and can be quite unpleasant.
This is a real shame because overall this was a reasonable hotel, a little old fashioned with lots of china dolls and knickknacks, but very clean. Food was also to a very good standard with a good choice of menu, and certainly no quibbles about portion size. It may be a better arrangement for all concerned if “mien host” let his wife deal with front of house, and he remained out of sight and earshot in the kitchen. If your not bothered about Mr Grumpy and can ignore him, then it may be worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jetset6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

the place is very clean food very good i found alan and his wife very helpful you have to have a sence of humour to get on with alan once you get to know him quite funny guy and a good paint of beer yes we would stay her again no problem russ&marie from stockport

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 clean and comftable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddienorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#73 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#36 of 117 in Bridlington
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brockton Hotel

Address: 4 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brockton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Brockton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing