We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HES NOT BASIL FAWLTY”
Review of The Brockton Hotel

The Brockton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Brockton Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“HES NOT BASIL FAWLTY”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed one night at the brockton hotel september 28 2013 we were welcomed by alan we had a good nights sleep and a very nice breakfast alan and his wife couldnt do enough fo us would stay here again very nice people thankyou both very much see you again soon julie n paul jones barnsley

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a one night stay bed and breakfast. The Brockton hotel is a great place, with a nice room, good food, and the proprietors Alan and Marian were the best, especially Alan with his quirky and dry sense of humour. I would surely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cosy place with a welcoming feel to it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llightak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Only if you like to be insulted by that fantastic Yorkshire wit come here. The male proprietor is as obnoxious as the TV legend but not as funny as HE thinks he is. He has no people skills. His language is foul and offensive, whist making discourteous remakes about how inept his customers are.
He wife seems nice.
Breakfast was nice.
Location is not far from sea front.
Hotel needs regrading as it is most definitely not 4 star.
Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stelly128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridlington hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were sent to the Brockton by Tourist Information when we arrived in Bridlington and found our original hotel had closed down! The Brockton is rated AA **** but it was not what we expected and I can't understand how it got this rating. There was only one other couple staying there. We paid £70 for one night's B&B. Our room was extremely small - barely enough room to walk round the bed and only one chair, so we sat on the bed to watch TV. The en suite is just about big enough to squeeze in a toilet, wash basin and shower cubicle. We asked if we could book an evening meal but were told they could not provide this as they "had nothing in". However, breakfast was good. The landlady was lovely. The landlord was very friendly too but tends to talk a lot!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 which was quiet but very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Well reading these mixed reviews it is each to his own,but our stay was a very warm welcome from the hosts,always happy to go the extra mile for you in the service.
Staying with a disabled friend the hosts were always happy to help and the service they provided was excellent.
Yes alan the host has a dry sense of humour....but dont we all have a sense of humour??.
We stayed when it was very cold outside and the rooms were warm and welcoming.
The cooked breakfast was well presented and the evening tea they provided for us at short notice was a credit to them.
overall a very pleasent and enjoyable stay,and certainly will be going back.
Very clean and tidy hotel,and a willingness to accomadate the disabled person.
Well done!!

Room Tip: Rooms here on the south side are quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We originally booked the Royal Bridlington for the weekend away but was told that due to a double booking they have moved us to the B&B across the road, The Brockton. They assured my partner that the B&B was also a 4 star B&B and of the same quality. We paid by debit card and the Roayl Bridlington did not offer us any refund as an alternative, we therefore felt that we had no option but to go to the Brockton.

I wish we read the reviews before we went, loosing the money paid would have been a better option.

When we arrived at the B&B he openly rolled his eyes upwards at the great inconvenience of having to let us into the B&B in the afternoon. He was rude, could hardly move his lips to speak and when we asked for the log on for the wi-fi (which is advertised as available free of charge) he reacted as if we asked him to hand over his most precious posession.

Throughout the weekend he was rude to everyone,not just us, responding in a rude manner to the other guests' requests and was generally being obnoxious.

The only good thing is the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Runold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for one night on the 28th July. Both host's were nice, alan was funny. The room was a double room ensuite, it was clean. we paid £70.00 for 2 of us.Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Left feeling full. Got a car parking space which is the reason we booked. Free wifi, and a small bar in. We didnt use. Its about a 10 minuite walk to the main shops. We had a bit of a sea view. Overall a nice hotel and would go back. Loverly stay.Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Burlington Quays
Burlington Quays
#28 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Bridlington
The Royal Bridlington
#61 of 118 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#8 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bretlinton House B&B
Bretlinton House B&B
#50 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brockton Hotel

Property: The Brockton Hotel
Address: 4 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brockton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brockton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing