We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple with a great b & b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakwell Guest House
Ranked #16 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely couple with a great b & b”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay with my wife and daughter
We were made very welcome by great friendly hosts who served a super breakfast
Rooms are spotlessly clean but a little basic but bed was very comfortable
Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all the reviews we get, we are pleased that all was ok for you, I believe you were in small family room, it is a bit tight sorry but we have to do what we can with the space we have. Pleased the breakfast went down well. Hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
52
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Can't knock this hotel especially for the price! I had a lovely double room and the un suite was really modern and clean, maybe a little on the small side. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. It was always ready within 5-10 minutes and everything was cooked when ordered and very fresh. Only thing I can knock is a heard a baby crying every morning around 7, I think it was a neighbour but nothing that could be done about that. All in all it was a lovely hotel and the owners couldn't do enough for you and the permits are a life saver. I was able to park right outside the hotel. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Nicola for your review, we both appreciate all our reviews, sorry for the baby crying, makes a change from the gulls. We hope to see you again next year, we will try to keep the place up to scratch.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

had a two night stay with the family using two rooms, family room and twin room, both rooms exceptionally clean,spacuious and comfertable. had breakfast both days served fresh and very tastey. served with a smile, thanks carole and alec for making us feel welcome.. will defenitly be back when we are in brid again couldnt ask for more..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahswaine81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your 2 day break, always glad to make it enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Every one say's how good the breakfast is ( tought him well ).
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I took my 2 nieces here and stayed the night of the 26th July. We stayed in a family room, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was spot on with lots of choice, hot and extremely tasty - really set us up for the day. I can honestly say, a one night stay was not enough!

The guest house was in a great location, a few minutes walk from the beach and the town centre. Parking was not a problem, a permit was sorted on check in.

We were very well looked after and nothing was too much bother. Everyone arrived for breakfast at the same time, but Carole kept us all entertained! Would we stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, glad that all was ok for you, yes it gets a bit heck tick when all come at the same time, but we manage, it would be quicker if the food was already for you, but we will not do that, as you know all is cooked fresh. We hope to see you in the future.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this fantastic guest house in Bridlington, Thursday 24th July upto Saturday 26th July. Alec and Carole are very friendly,warm and welcoming. Made us feel at home straight away. Excellent family room (More than enough room for me, my wife and two children (11 and 8). Very clean, and the breakfasts were out of this world. Would very much recommend this guest house to anyone. The hotel is situated on a street that is central and is a 2 minutes walk from the Harbour. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Wifi is available upon request. The family room in which we stayed was excellent. Can't commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamp276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us, pleased that all was to your satisfaction, we try our best to make things as comfortable as possible for our guests. We both hope to see you in the future, just give us a call & we will see what we can do.
Thank you for your review we appreciate them all it makes us feel as though we are doing a decent job.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having booked online we wouldn't arrive until 8pm by train. Rang to confirm this with a week to go and they were nothing short off brilliant. Our stay for the 3 off us was nothing short off fantastic. Good local information from Carole and Alec if your a first time stayer to help you make the most off your stay, with lots off helpful tips. Breakfast as said already does set you up for the day and this was excellent (must off been as we all finish what was on the plates), nice to see black pudding as not everywhere does it and we all like it but don't tell the lad what's in it.
To Be Honest it feels like you've known them for years and nothing seems to much trouble.

To Sum Up.
Great location near Shops / Train station / Beach / amusements / excellent takeaway at the bottom off the road / and what you want most superb hosts.

Thanks Mr Kerry / Becky / Thomas. 12/07

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR_K1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, both Alec & myself are happy with the reviews that we get from our guests, all we ask is they say as it is. We try to do our best & hope it is good enough, glad you enjoyed your short stay,we hope to see you in the future.
regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Our 3rd visit to the Oakwell Guest House. Carole and Alec are very welcoming and friendly. My little boy (5) loves coming here, and girl (2) enjoyed it too. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast definitely sets you up for the day! I would recommend this guest house.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sallyf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we always welcome them, it shows others that we do look after our guests, both Alec & myself do our best to make it enjoyable to all. Thank you for keep coming back to us.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#12 of 118 in Bridlington
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#53 of 118 in Bridlington
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#8 of 118 in Bridlington
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Guest House

Property: Oakwell Guest House
Address: 84 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole & Alec welcome you to the Oakwell Guest House, a 6 bedroom all en-suite establishment, only 5 mins walk from the harbour and railway station. Spa Theatre only a few mins walk away. We try to cater for all needs. We are family orientated and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing