We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in England!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bluebell Guest House
Ranked #13 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We Canadians are very spoiled, especially when it comes to accommodations in Canada. So it's always with some fear and trepidation we book "digs" in England (Red Car in Bath a perfect example of a disaster!) We were most pleasantly surprised here. Maureen and John were wonderful. They even came to the train station to pick us up and dropped us back there when we left. A lovely room, superbly clean and with a nice shower that worked properly. Breakfast was fantastic - each one cooked according to a selection sheet handed in the night before. She even did me some toast, "buttered at source" (I hate solid rock toast with most English places serve!)
Just a wonderful experience in Bridlington thanks to Maureen and John's hospitality, their attention to detail and spotless accommodations. I would highly recommend it to anyone - especially those of us from North America! Other than a small but very nice ensuite, you couldn't do better than this "home away from home." Thanks Maureen and John...you restored my faith in UK accommodations!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here for one night to go to a concert in the spa and Maureen and Sean could not have more welcoming ad helpful!!
The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable!
Breakfast was very tasty too!
If I ever visit Bridlington again I will be staying here!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrynlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very clean B&B. The owners make a special effort to make you feel welcome. They kindly stored my bike around the back safely. Good location and excellent value. I couldn't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountainracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Bluebell whilst working in the area. This is one of the best guest houses I have ever stayed in. The service and attention from Maureen and John was first class and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are superbly equipped and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection. I would definitely recommend this to any body and it would be my first choice if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I can only add my agreement to the other reviewers here. This is a superb guest house that excels in every area. Maureen is so friendly and helpful, offering advice and even a lift to the station, never had such considerate service before. A big thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The entire experience was excellent. We arrived late afternoon, and we're immediately offered a pot of tea, which was a lovely gesture. The owners were very friendly, and made us feel very welcome right from the start.
We were taken to our room, which was the superior option, as it was only £10 extra. The room was amazing!
It was beautifully decorated, and we were welcomed with a tray consisting of Yorkshire tea, biscuits and even hot chocolate.
The room was spotless, even somebody with ocd wouldn't be able to find a fault or a speck of dirt anywhere. The en suite was very modern, and contained toiletries such as shampoo, soap and body lotion.
Later, we left the hotel and ventured into the town, and we were even offered a lift by Maureen, which was a lovely gesture.
When we returned, we immediately tested out the bed, which is the comfiest bed either of us have ever slept in! After a brilliant nights sleep, we had breakfast, which was absolutely delicious. There wasn't a trace of grease anywhere, and there was more than enough for the both of us. We both agreed that the eggs were some of the best we had eaten (I had fried and my partner had poached).

We only stayed for one night, but we didn't want to leave! The overall experience was amazing and we would definitely return, although after staying in the superior room, we probably couldn't settle for a smaller one!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a fantastic weekend with Maureen and John at Bluebell Guest house. Brilliant welcome with pots of tea and coffee and hints about taxi, attractions and area.
Room spotless, modern, toiletries included as well as bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities hot chocolate and nice touch with boxes of mints. Shower bijou but only three for 3 days.
Breakfast choice to meet all needs recommend the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, wonderful bowl of fresh fruits and berries full English cooked to individual needs and taste.
Maureen was the most accommodating and lovely landlady and a real pleasure to stay with.
Recommend the front bedrooms as they have a bay window and had a peep at the superior room and would recommend that if you can pay the few quid more.

All in all a great birthday celebration weekend and to watch the mighty Nailers Belper Town draw 3 -3 with Scarborough Athletic.

Would recommend a visit to Brid walk along the cliff tops exhilarating!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with the bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikster_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
606 reviews
1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#10 of 117 in Bridlington
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunflower Lodge
Sunflower Lodge
#6 of 117 in Bridlington
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#65 of 117 in Bridlington
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bluebell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluebell Guest House

Address: 3 St. Annes Road, Bridlington YO15 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £62 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bluebell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bluebell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing