We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marton Grange Country House
Ranked #3 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly, family run hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Took a two day winter break, near the cliffs and coves of Flamborough Head - some beautiful and quiet walks in the wind and salty air. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and a very well appointed room, inc tea and coffee facilities; fresh milk just along the corridor was a thoughtful touch. Very good breakfast with cereal, fruit and yoghurt on the table followed by cooked if preferred. Very good value, charming and engaged hosts. Would like to come in summer although it will be much busier. Only small moan was a very soft mattress - a week on it would be tough but two nights was fine

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blackwatchtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
306
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Marton Grange Country House. The house had been recommended by family. We were warmly welcomed by Paul with a lovely pot of tea and fresh scones in the comfortable residents' lounge. The house is a beautifully kept Georgian home, with masses of period features. It has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished. Our room, number 9, was on the ground floor and was furnished with twin beds, a pair of comfortable easy chairs and a fitted desk. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of lovely home-made shortcake biscuits! The ensuite bathroom was spacious, with an electric power shower and had been converted to support disabled access.

We stayed on a Saturday night; breakfast was served between 08:00 and 09:00 on the Sunday morning. Breakfast was lovely, with a choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts to start. The was the usual full English, which was delicious and many more hot dishes on offer; more than I had ever seen to be honest. I doubt you would exhaust the menu if you stayed here a week!

We have stayed in many guest houses and hotels over the years and I can truly say that our experience of this beautiful house and the owners was second to none. I cannot recommend staying here highly enough. If you like walking, staying here is a perfect location for accessing coastal walks and is only a few minutes away from Bridlington should you want to experience an authentic English seaside holiday town. We will return when we have more time to explore the area.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the expansive gardens. Although we stayed in the autumn, when they weren't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Another year at Marton Grange. Never disappoints. As ever the welcome from Janice and Paul is second to none. Rooms have been refurbished and has added to the comfort. We have booked to go back again next year. Try it you will love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewetgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have visited Marton Grange several time a year for the last few years, and the friendly relaxed greeting from Janice and Paul with fresh cuppa and cake or scone on arrival is everything you would expect from them nothing is too much trouble always very helpful,just a great place to stay would definately recommend to anyone. Will see you again next year.

Room Tip: If you want very quiet at night as for room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Huntress2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just stayed at Marton Grange for our 6th time to visit family in the area, and Paul & Janice make it a truly "home from home" experience. From the moment you arrive at Marton Grange you feel totally relaxed, the rooms are so peaceful and comfortable, and each room is individually decorated with excellent taste. Tea & Coffee and homemade shortbread in the rooms is another plus!! You can enjoy drinks in the lovely lounges in the evenings, and the breakfast is excellent. Our only problem is, each time we visit, we wish we could stay longer!!
The surrounding countryside is beautiful, it is very close to Bempton Cliffs, and other areas of scenic interest, aswell as being so close to Bridlington centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JUDITH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Marton Grange is a beautiful country house set in a lovely rural location with the coast just a short distance away. We have just returned from our third visit there since Paul and Janice took over. They are very friendly and hospitable hosts - on our arrival they provided a pot of tea and delicious home made cake in the Garden Room. The public rooms are very tastefully decorated and furnished, as are the very comfortable en-suite bedrooms. The tea and coffee tray is very well equipped and if you prefer fresh milk in your tea or coffee, there is a fridge on the corridor where you can help yourself. The breakfasts are delicious and every taste is catered for. The car park is spacious and the lift to the upper floor is very useful. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen2Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fabulous Hotel, the attention to detail is second to none, Paul & Janice are great hosts, Breakfast Amazing, Rooms Fab. The Tea & Scones on arrival after we had done a 10k coastal walk was very welcoming. Will be Back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aljen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
582 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
229 reviews
4.5 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#22 of 117 in Bridlington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 117 in Bridlington
358 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#18 of 117 in Bridlington
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Grange Country House

Property: Marton Grange Country House
Address: Flamborough Road | Sewerby, Bridlington YO15 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marton Grange Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marton Grange has a 5 star Silver AA Guest House listing. This Grade 2 listed Georgian farmhouse has been tastefully refurbished to provide a comfortable home from home. Guests enjoy relaxing in the lounges and conservatory whilst watching the birds and wildlife in our extensive gardens. We are well known for our top-quality Full-English breakfast, cooked using local produce wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marton Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing