We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was in the ideal position in Bridlington, it was strange on arriving on a Sunday afternoon and going in the bar to ask where the hotel reception was, 2 side steps and there it was! also in the bar.
The room you accessed outside and were over some shops next to the bar. The room was fine lovely black out curtain, but with a prom view, we thought net curtains should be at the windows as the bus stopped higher up and everyone starred in. The hotel is down a slope on the harbour. Other than that the room was ok
The bar was great, alot of the locals seem to eat and drink there, did not try the food but looked fantastic and I am sure it was, as the breakfast was spot on.
Went to a lovely Chinese up the road, which a local lady recommended which was fantastic, I will be going back to Bridlington for a 2 night stay, one to eat at the hotel and one to eat at the Chinese, not forgetting all the fantastic fresh fish and chip shops

Room Tip: Although nothing wrong with the rooms I can only give an average as I did feel they need some TLC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    70
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
121
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

had a 2 nights stay for my hubbys birthday ..brilliant! stopped in room 5 the best went in restaurant my husband had a free meal for his birthday scallops to start with then rib eye steak for main everything spot on . have stayed at rags for many years and in my opinion its the best! have already booked again for October ..cant wait!

Room Tip: room 5 ...view over harbour and view of prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Called on on spec for drink and ordered lunch. Partner went for crab and prawn bloomer which was crammed food. For me Great BLT, fresh tomatoes, lovely fresh ciabatta bread, and lovely piece of cooked bacon, crispy bit not dried up.. Noteworthy, hence my review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYorks_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent two very pleasant days at this location while enjoying the recent excellent weather in Bridlington.

It has to be said that this establishment is a rather plain looking building from the outside but do not be put off by it's somewhat "unexciting" exterior, since in my view, it possesses many hidden qualities.

Firstly, It is located right in the Centre of the town and is therefore close to all the amenities.

Secondly, it has reserved, off road, parking spaces for all guests (not easy to find in Bridlington).

Thirdly, The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent (medallions of pork fillet are particularly recommended!).
If you want something cheaper, try the steak and ale pie, it's delicious!

Add to that, the friendly and very helpful staff and you begin to see that there is more to this place, than meets the eye.

We stayed in room, a twin bedded room overlooking the harbour and found it very clean, comfortable and fully equipped, it also had a lovely view.

The only slight letdown was the bathroom, while clean enough, it could have done with a bit of refurbishment.
The same could perhaps be said of the stairs and entrance to the upstairs rooms, again, clean enough but could have done with freshening up a little.

Leaving these minor problems aside, we had a very pleasant stay at the Rags and would not hesitate to stay there again.

If you are looking for inexpensive accommodation in Bridlington with an excellent location, this place is well worth a try.

Room Tip: Room five is a twin bedded room overlooking the harbour and has a very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnyboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from a two night break here. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a harbour view room and found great thoughtfulness in the facilities in the room. Good selection for tea and coffee making with hot chocolate and biscuits also provided. Fridge in room which we had not expected and a very modern bathroom.

Breakfast was best we had come across really for a little hotel like this. Everything from smoked salmon, chorizo and cheese to a full English breakfast. We had the smoked kippers one day and they were really good.

Location is everything and it would be hard to beat. I am not too mobile at the moment but found I could manage the level access route round the harbour onto the seafront.

It would be a good place to stay while visiting the spa theatre as it's only a few minutes walk away.

I know we will return here as for us it has everything to make it a great stay in a nice british resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisegirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Was dubious about the harbourside location but reserved parking space and good food in the adjoining restaurant made it a good choice. Breakfast was very good with a good choice from cold meats and cheeses to fully cooked. Downside was a bit noisy early in the morning from Angling shop below and loud conversations

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebigfella52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very nice weekend stay. Good food and a very relaxed atmosphere. Would stay here again and would recommend. Excellent position, right on the harbour, with great views from the upstairs restaurant. Also a conservatory dining area for those with mobility problems, everyone is catered for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#63 of 118 in Bridlington
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#46 of 118 in Bridlington
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: South Pier, Bridlington YO15 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rags Hotel, Bar And Restaurant
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing